18.9 C
Paris
Friday August 19th, 2022
- publicity -

DuPont Surlyn, inspiration for the Geneva High School of Art and Design

Publicity

With the recent launch of two new grades, the Surlyn palette has taken a new step in the breadth of possibilities available to designers. It is therefore logical that DuPont is teaming up this year with the Haute École d'Art et de Design de Genève (HEAD) to organize the first edition of the “Be Surlyn® and Design” competition and offer designer students the famous resin as a source of inspiration.

Innovation and creativity, these will be the key words of this first edition of the competition, organized in partnership with the trendy agency Beautystreams. About ten students in the second year of the 'Bachelor of Arts in Product, Jewel and Accessory Design' at HEAD will take up the challenge of creating a brand new perfume cover design made in Surlyn. The jury, made up of representatives of the major brands in perfumery and cosmetics, will be chaired by Thierry de Baschmakoff. According to the designer, “the bottle is the binder, the object that links the visual identity of the brand with the essence of the perfume. The perfume is ephemeral but the container remains. This is why the bottle and the cap are the subject of special care on the part of the brands. “Aware of the issue of packaging, DuPont's technical and marketing team supports brands upstream of their projects, and well beyond the launch of the product. The innovation in materials, the diversity of decoration techniques and the efficiency of the developments ensure agility to brands that choose to compose with the Surlyn palette.

It is in this spirit of creative freedom that the students will work during November and December to take up the “Be Surlyn®” challenge and present their creations at the beginning of next year. To help them in their thinking, the Beautystreams agency unveiled three major beauty trends for the fall-winter 2018 season, which students can draw inspiration from for their designs. “Behind the design of each packaging, hides a story. Get inspired by trend projections to create your own universe and tell your story ”encouraged Michele M. Superchi, Marketing & Sales Manager for Beautystreams. The DuPont team, for its part, will provide personalized technical support throughout the project, as Guillaume Beyrath, technical manager in the cosmetics team underlines: “Just as we do with brands, we want to support student designers in their approach, to ensure the feasibility of their projects. Surlyn is a learned subject. Any new creation assumes a good knowledge of the technical, sensory and aesthetic specifications of the material. It is up to us to guide the students as well as possible for the optimal realization of their projects. "

The kickoff was given by Thierry de Baschmakoff on November 6, 2017 at the DuPont European Technical Center in Meyrin in the presence of all the partners. “Working directly with a company such as DuPont is a great opportunity for students to discover the industrial world, what happens after their designs” underlined François Dumas, designer and associate professor at HEAD. “We were delighted with this adventure with the students of HEAD. The winner will see his project come to fruition and we will invest in the production of the winning design. We are convinced that with its unique properties, Surlyn® will allow students to think through matter, and surprise us through their creations. »Says Maria Carcolé, EMEA Marketing Leader Perfumes & Cosmetics at DuPont.

Publicity
External resources

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

We offer you our summer number! Freely access the digital version of Industries CosmétiquesI read !
+
X

Avec le lancement récent de deux nouveaux grades, la palette Surlyn a franchi un nouveau cap dans l’étendue des possibilités offertes aux créateurs. C’est donc en toute logique que DuPont s’associe cette année avec la Haute École d’Art et de Design de Genève (HEAD) pour organiser la première édition du concours « Be Surlyn® and Design » et proposer aux étudiants designers la fameuse résine comme source d’inspiration.

Innovation et créativité, tels seront les maitres mots de cette première édition du concours, organisée en partenariat avec l’agence de tendance Beautystreams. Une dizaine d’étudiants en deuxième année de ‘Bachelor of Arts en Design produit, bijou et accessoire’ de la HEAD relèveront le défi de la création d’un tout nouveau design de capot de parfum réalisé en Surlyn. Le jury, composé de représentants des grandes marques de la parfumerie-cosmétique, sera présidé par Thierry de Baschmakoff. Selon le designer, « le flacon est le liant, l’objet qui lie l’identité visuelle de la marque avec l’essence du parfum. Le parfum est éphémère mais le contenant reste. C’est pourquoi le flacon et le capot font l’objet d’un soin tout particulier de la part des marques. » Consciente de l’enjeu du packaging, l’équipe technique et marketing de DuPont accompagne les marques en amont de leurs projets, et bien au-delà du lancement du produit. L’innovation sur les matériaux, la diversité des techniques de décoration et l’efficience des développements assurent une agilité aux marques qui choisissent de composer avec la palette Surlyn.

C’est dans cet esprit de liberté créative que les étudiants travailleront courant novembre et décembre pour relever le défi « Be Surlyn® » et présenter leurs créations en début d’année prochaine. Pour les aider dans leur réflexion, l’agence Beautystreams a dévoilé trois grandes tendances beauté pour la saison automne-hiver 2018, dont les étudiants pourront s’inspirer pour leurs designs. « Derrière le design de chaque packaging, se cache une histoire. Inspirez-vous des projections de tendances pour créer votre univers propre et raconter votre histoire » a encouragé Michele M. Superchi, Marketing & Sales Manager pour Beautystreams. L’équipe de DuPont, quant à elle, apportera un support technique personnalisé tout au long du projet, comme le souligne Guillaume Beyrath, responsable technique au sein de l’équipe cosmétique : « Tout comme nous le faisons auprès des marques, nous souhaitons accompagner les étudiants designers dans leur démarche, pour assurer la faisabilité de leurs projets. Le Surlyn est une matière savante. Toute nouvelle création suppose une bonne connaissance des spécifications techniques, sensorielles et esthétiques du matériau. A nous de guider au mieux les étudiants pour la réalisation optimale de leurs projets. »

Le coup d’envoi a été donné par Thierry de Baschmakoff le 6 Novembre 2017 au Centre Technique Européen de DuPont à Meyrin en présence de tous les partenaires. « Travailler en direct avec une entreprise telle que DuPont est une belle opportunité pour les étudiants de découvrir le monde industriel, ce qu’il se passe après leur designs » a souligné François Dumas, designer et professeur associé à la HEAD. « Nous nous réjouissions de cette aventure avec les étudiants de la HEAD. Le lauréat verra son projet se concrétiser et nous investirons dans la fabrication du design gagnant. Nous sommes persuadés qu’avec ses propriétés uniques, le Surlyn® permettra aux étudiants de réfléchir par la matière, et de nous surprendre à travers leurs créations. » nous confie Maria Carcolé, EMEA Marketing Leader Perfumes & Cosmetics chez DuPont.