8.6 C
Paris
Saturday, November 26, 2022
- publicity -

Firmenich announces agreement with Ardian to acquire DRT

Firmenich announced that it has entered into exclusive negotiations with Ardian, Tikehau Capital and the family shareholders, with a view to acquiring Les Dérivé Résiniques et Terpéniques (DRT).

DRT is one of the world leaders in the production of renewable ingredients with high added value derived from plant chemistry, mainly from pine derivatives.

“I am delighted at the prospect of seeing DRT bring to Firmenich its skills in the development of sustainable ingredients. This planned merger is the culmination of a business partnership and many joint developments over the past 30 years, says Patrick Firmenich, Chairman of the Board of Firmenich. We would like to thank Ardian and Tikehau Capital for their support and we are delighted to welcome DRT employees within Firmenich. We share the same passion for our customers and for sustainable development, as well as strong family values. "

“Firmenich would be the ideal home for DRT,” says Thibault Basquin, Managing Director at Ardian Buyout. I warmly thank Laurent Labatut and his team for our partnership over the past few years. Ardian is proud to have enabled DRT to accelerate its growth and invest in new projects, as well as to strengthen its strategy around sustainable development. A strategic partner of DRT for many years, Firmenich would be in a perfect position to enable the company to take a step forward in the development of its products. As a family business committed to innovation, Firmenich would also offer a privileged environment for DRT employees. "

Emmanuel Laillier, Director of Private Equity at Tikehau Capital added: “Tikehau Capital has supported DRT's growth strategy and global development for six years. Today, we are very happy to support the merger of DRT and Firmenich, constituting a key step in the pursuit of its development. "

"DRT's know-how strengthens our position as a major player in our perfumery and ingredients businesses, thus offering our customers the most complete range of sustainable and renewable ingredients," declares Gilbert Ghostine, CEO of Firmenich. DRT will also bring us new skills in health and nutrition, cosmetics, as well as an opening to new markets, including adhesives, coatings and agriculture. This acquisition strengthens our presence in France which is our second largest market where we have been established for more than 120 years. I am delighted with this association with DRT which will allow us to support all our customers in their transformation towards a sustainable future. "

“We have a long-standing relationship with Firmenich since it is one of our main partners,” explains Laurent Labatut, CEO of DRT. Firmenich is known for its cutting edge research, which has resulted in a very wide range of ingredients of the highest quality. By combining our innovation skills, we would open up new opportunities to support our customers across their entire product portfolio. Together, we would be delighted to open this new chapter with the common ambition to create the best renewable ingredients for our customers. "

Recognized for its expertise in the development of sustainable, renewable ingredients and natural products derived from terpenes and rosin derivatives, DRT offers green alternatives to many applications in different markets. Founded in 1932 and based in Dax, the company has developed an upstream integrated business model, including access to renewable raw materials, extraction and distillation skills, as well as advanced innovation processes. A family business for most of its history, its growth is, according to its management, the fruit of its long-term commitment to its suppliers and customers.

DRT generates sales of over 550 million euros, employs over 1,500 people worldwide and operates from four production sites in France, two in the United States, two in India and one in China .

Financial terms of the deal were not made public. The proposed transaction remains subject to several conditions, including consultation of the competent personnel representative bodies, the signing of a final agreement and the validation of the competition authorities. Firmenich has been advised by Goldman Sachs International, Raphaël Financial Advisory and Bredin Prat. Ardian has been advised by Citigroup, Rothschild & Co, Latham Watkins and White & Case.

Publicity
External resources

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

Firmenich annonce un accord avec Ardian en vue d’acquérir DRT

Firmenich a annoncé être entré en négociations exclusives avec Ardian, Tikehau Capital et les actionnaires familiaux, en vue d’acquérir Les Dérivés Résiniques et Terpéniques (DRT).

DRT est l’un des leaders mondiaux de la production d’ingrédients renouvelables à forte valeur ajoutée issus de la chimie du végétal, principalement à partir de dérivés des pins.

« Je suis ravi de la perspective de voir DRT apporter à Firmenich ses compétences dans le développement d’ingrédients durables. Ce rapprochement envisagé est l’aboutissement d’un partenariat commercial et de nombreux développements conjoints au cours des 30 dernières années, déclare Patrick Firmenich, président du conseil d’administration de Firmenich. Nous remercions Ardian et Tikehau Capital pour leur accompagnement et nous nous réjouissons d’accueillir les collaborateurs de DRT au sein de Firmenich. Nous partageons la même passion pour nos clients et pour le développement durable, ainsi que des valeurs familiales fortes. »

« Firmenich serait la maison idéale pour DRT, déclare Thibault Basquin, Managing Director chez Ardian Buyout. Je remercie chaleureusement Laurent Labatut et son équipe pour notre partenariat au cours des dernières années. Ardian est fier d’avoir permis à DRT d’accélérer sa croissance et d’investir dans de nouveaux projets, ainsi que de renforcer sa stratégie autour du développement durable. Partenaire stratégique de DRT depuis de nombreuses années, Firmenich serait en parfaite position pour permettre à la société de franchir un cap dans le développement de ses produits. En tant qu’entreprise familiale engagée dans l’innovation, Firmenich offrirait également un environnement privilégié aux collaborateurs de DRT. »

Emmanuel Laillier, directeur du Private Equity de Tikehau Capital a ajouté : « Tikehau Capital a soutenu pendant six années la stratégie de croissance et le développement mondial de DRT. Nous sommes aujourd’hui très heureux d’accompagner le rapprochement de DRT et de Firmenich, constituant une étape clé pour la poursuite de son développement. »

« Le savoir-faire de DRT permet de renforcer notre position d’acteur majeur dans nos métiers de la parfumerie et des ingrédients, pour ainsi offrir à nos clients la palette la plus complète d’ingrédients durables et renouvelables, déclare Gilbert Ghostine, CEO de Firmenich. DRT nous apportera également de nouvelles compétences en santé et nutrition, en cosmétique, ainsi qu’une ouverture à de nouveaux marchés, dont les adhésifs, les revêtements et l’agriculture. Cette acquisition renforce notre présence en France qui est notre deuxième plus grand marché où nous sommes établis depuis plus de 120 ans. Je me réjouis de cette association avec DRT qui va nous permettre d’accompagner tous nos clients dans leur transformation vers un futur durable. »

« Nous entretenons une relation de longue date avec Firmenich puisque c’est l’un de nos principaux partenaires, explique Laurent Labatut, CEO de DRT. Firmenich est connue pour sa recherche de pointe, qui a engendré une très large palette d’ingrédients de la plus haute qualité. En associant nos compétences en matière d’innovation, nous nous ouvririons à de nouvelles opportunités afin de soutenir nos clients sur l’ensemble de leur portefeuille de produits. Ensemble, nous serions ravis d’ouvrir ce nouveau chapitre avec l’ambition commune de créer les meilleurs ingrédients renouvelables pour nos clients. »

Reconnue pour son expertise dans le développement d’ingrédients durables, renouvelables et de produits naturels issus des terpènes et dérivés de colophane, DRT offre des alternatives vertes à de nombreuses applications sur différents marchés. Fondée en 1932 et installée à Dax, la société a développé un modèle d’entreprise intégré en amont, incluant l’accès aux matières premières renouvelables, des compétences en extraction et distillation, ainsi que des processus d’innovation avancés. Entreprise familiale durant la plus grande partie de son histoire, sa croissance est, selon sa direction, le fruit de son engagement de long terme avec ses fournisseurs et ses clients.

DRT réalise un chiffre d’affaires de plus de 550 millions d’euros, emploie plus de 1 500 personnes dans le monde et opère à partir de quatre sites de production en France, deux aux États-Unis, deux en Inde et un en Chine.

Les conditions financières de l’accord n’ont pas été rendues publiques. La transaction proposée reste sujette à plusieurs conditions, dont la consultation des instances représentatives du personnel compétente, la signature d’un accord définitif et la validation des autorités de la concurrence. Firmenich a été conseillé par Goldman Sachs International, Raphaël Financial Advisory et Bredin Prat. Ardian a été conseillé par Citigroup, Rothschild & Co, Latham Watkins et White & Case.

Share
En ces temps de confinement, nous mettons gratuitement le dernier numéro de la revue en accès libre intégralJ'y vais
+
X