3.2 C
Paris
Saturday December 3rd, 2022
- publicity -

Firmenich: new natural ingredients thanks to patented extraction technology

Firmenich, a specialist in perfumes and aromas, has launched a new range of pure and 100% natural extracts obtained by a new extraction technology: its Firgood collection. Thanks to a patented process, Firmenich can process a biomass never before used in the natural ingredients industry. Within the Naturals Together platform, Firgood extracts complete its palette of natural ingredients for perfumery and aromas.

"This cutting-edge technology, which is extremely respectful of the environment, is a revolution for natural ingredients in our industry. It opens up new creative territories that have not yet been explored,"said Gilbert Ghostine, CEO of Firmenich. The development of our new industrial site in our centre of excellence for natural ingredients in Grasse strengthens our leadership in natural products. »

Firgood technology uses only the water that is contained in the biomass cells. Once heated by electromagnetic vibration, the water carries the odorous components, to deliver the final pure extract.

As a result of the advances made in sustainable extraction, this method is, according to Firmenich, more environmentally friendly than any other method. Solvent-free, dry biomass requires only humidification, and the process's low energy consumption is an additional advantage. In addition, the waste produced is clean and can easily be recycled, which reinforces the sustainability of this extraction method.

"We have successfully moved from the lab and pilot plant to two industrial lines, delivering a production capacity that ranges from hundreds of kilograms to several tons of primary extracts," added Boet Brinkgreve, President of the Ingredients Division. Today, a Firgood pear, Firgood ginger and Firgood green pepper are integrated into the Firmenich palette of ingredients. In the coming months, we will introduce 10 additional ingredients, followed by a series of developments for perfumery and aromas. »

These three ingredients enrich the Firmenich palette and contribute to the creation of new natural signatures, meeting the expectations of its customers.

Firmenich builds its leadership in natural ingredients on three pillars: sustainable sourcing standards, certified ingredient collections with strong source involvement, and innovation. Firgood technology supports the group's ambitions and accelerates the transition to ever more renewable carbon.

Firmenich has been a founding member of Grasse Expertise since 2017, the brand of excellence that aims to preserve the unique know-how of the Grasse region in France at every stage of the production of perfumes and aromas; from flower cultivation to ingredient extraction, scientific research and supply.

Publicity
External resources
www.firmenich.com

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

Charles River offers new articles and a webinar on his dedicated page!I am looking that up !

Firmenich : de nouveaux ingrédients naturels grâce à une technologie d’extraction brevetée

Firmenich-Firgood-S-Pic-Copyright-Odds

Firmenich, spécialiste des parfums et des arômes, a lancé une nouvelle gamme d’extraits purs et 100 % naturels obtenus par une nouvelle technologie d’extraction : sa collection Firgood. Grâce à un procédé breveté, Firmenich peut traiter une biomasse jamais utilisée auparavant dans l’industrie des ingrédients naturels. Au sein de la plateforme Naturals Together, les extraits Firgood viennent compléter sa palette d’ingrédients naturels à destination de la parfumerie et des arômes.

« Cette technologie de pointe, extrêmement respectueuse de l’environnement, est une révolution pour les ingrédients naturels dans notre industrie. Elle ouvre de nouveaux territoires de création encore inexplorés jusqu’à présent, a déclaré Gilbert Ghostine, PDG de Firmenich. Le développement de notre nouveau site industriel dans notre centre d’excellence pour les ingrédients naturels de Grasse renforce notre leadership dans les produits naturels. »

La technologie Firgood met en œuvre uniquement l’eau qui est contenue dans les cellules de la biomasse. Une fois réchauffée par vibration électromagnétique, l’eau transporte les composants odorants, pour délivrer l’extrait pur final.

Aboutissement des avancées réalisées en matière d’extraction durable, cette méthode est, selon Firmenich, plus respectueuse de l’environnement que toute autre méthode. Sans solvant, les biomasses sèches ne nécessitent qu’une humidification, et la faible consommation d’énergie du procédé représente un avantage supplémentaire. De plus, les déchets produits sont propres et peuvent facilement être recyclés, ce qui renforce le caractère durable de cette méthode d’extraction.

« Nous avons réussi à passer du laboratoire et de l’usine pilote à deux lignes industrielles, délivrant une capacité de production qui va de centaines de kilogrammes à plusieurs tonnes d’extraits primaires, a ajouté Boet Brinkgreve, président de la division Ingrédients. Aujourd’hui, une poire Firgood, un gingembre Firgood et un poivron vert Firgood sont intégrés à la palette d’ingrédients Firmenich. Dans les mois à venir, nous introduirons 10 ingrédients supplémentaires, suivi d’une série de développements pour la parfumerie et les arômes. »

Ces trois ingrédients viennent enrichir la palette Firmenich et participent à la création de nouvelles signatures naturelles, répondant aux attentes de ses clients.

Firmenich construit son leadership dans les ingrédients naturels sur trois piliers : des normes d’approvisionnement durable, des collections d’ingrédients certifiés avec une forte implication à la source, ainsi que l’innovation. La technologie Firgood soutient les ambitions du groupe et permet d’accélérer la transition vers toujours plus de carbone renouvelable.

Firmenich est membre fondateur de Grasse Expertise depuis 2017, la marque d’excellence qui vise à préserver le savoir-faire unique de la région de Grasse en France à chaque étape de la production de parfums et d’arômes ; de la culture des fleurs à l’extraction des ingrédients en passant par la recherche scientifique et l’approvisionnement.