15.3 C
Paris
Sunday, September 25, 2022
- publicity -

The cosmetics industry against Covid-19

Publicity

In order to better understand how this flagship sector of the French economy, dominant in Europe, which employs 164,000 people for a turnover of 24 billion euros, was impacted by the Covid-19 crisis, a major national survey has was carried out by Cosmed, a professional association representing the cosmetics industry in France.

This survey shows a negative impact of the health crisis on the turnover of nearly 80% of companies, only a minority of them (7%) having seen growth opportunities.

In post containment, the recovery manifested itself fairly quickly with 49% total or partial recovery. For 41% of the companies questioned, the crisis had no impact on industrial activity, in particular thanks to their involvement in the production of hydroalcoholic products (PHA). A situation made possible thanks to the authorities' decision to authorize several formulas, in two decrees published on March 20 and 27, 2020 to which Cosmed made a significant contribution: 34% of the companies in the panel manufactured PHAs.

Overall, the negative impacts, beyond the drop in sales (50%), highlighted product launches postponed (38%), cash flow problems (37%), a drop in production (34% ), workforce reductions (29%) and postponement of investments (26%). Despite the situation, and in particular the closure of points of sale during the lockdown, only 28% of companies were actively seeking new distribution channels out of the crisis.

In terms of support, companies have made extensive use of State aid: partial unemployment (47%), postponement of social deadlines (37%), loans guaranteed by the State (28%), solidarity fund (10%) or postponement of tax deadlines (10%).

In order to prepare for the future, 62% of the companies in the panel wish to be better informed about consumer expectations in order to be able to adapt their marketing.

Some 59% of the companies in the panel would like the aid mechanisms to be extended, particularly with regard to exports. Environmental aspects are at the heart of the concerns of 80% of them.

Once again, despite the importance of the shock and in comparison with other sectors, the cosmetics industry shows its resilience in the face of crises with a rapid recovery. However, some segments, such as makeup and perfumes, are still suffering.

 

Publicity
External resources

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

X

La filière cosmétique face au Covid-19

Cosmed - Etude Covid

Afin de mieux comprendre comment ce secteur phare de l’économie française, dominant en Europe, qui emploie 164 000 personnes pour 24 milliards d’euros de chiffres d’affaires a été impacté par la crise du Covid-19, une grande enquête nationale a été menée par Cosmed, association professionnelle représentative de la filière cosmétique en France.

Cette enquête montre un impact négatif de la crise sanitaire sur le chiffre d’affaires de près de 80% des entreprises, seule une minorité d’entres elles (7%) ayant vu des opportunités de croissance.

En post confinement la reprise s’est manifestée assez rapidement avec 49 % de reprise totale ou partielle. Pour 41 % des entreprises interrogées, la crise n’a pas impacté l’activité industrielle, notamment grâce à leur implication dans la production de produits hydroalcooliques (PHA). Une situation rendue possible grâce à la décision des autorités d’autoriser plusieurs formules, dans deux arrêtés publiés les 20 et 27 mars 2020 auxquels Cosmed a largement contribué : 34 % des entreprises du panel ont fabriqué des PHA.

Globalement, les impacts négatifs, au-delà de la baisse des ventes (50 %), ont mis en évidence des reports de lancement de produits (38 %), des problèmes de trésorerie (37 %), une baisse de production (34 %), des réductions d’effectifs (29 %) et un report des investissements (26 %). Malgré la situation, et notamment la fermeture des points de vente durant le confinement, seules 28 % des entreprises étaient en recherche active de nouveaux canaux de distribution en sortie de crise.

En matière d’accompagnement, les entreprises ont largement eu recours aux aides de l’État : le chômage partiel (47 %), le report des échéances sociales (37 %), le prêt garanti par l’État (28 %), les fonds de solidarité (10 %) ou le report des échéances fiscales (10 %).

Afin de préparer l’avenir, 62 % des entreprises du panel souhaitent être mieux informées des attentes de consommation afin de pouvoir adapter leur marketing.

Quelque 59 % des entreprises du panel des souhaitent que les dispositifs d’aides soient prorogés notamment concernant l’export. Les aspects environnementaux sont au cœur des préoccupations de 80 % d’entre elles.

Une nouvelle fois, malgré l’importance du choc et en comparaison avec d’autres secteurs, l’industrie cosmétique montre sa résilience face aux crises avec une reprise rapide. Néanmoins, certains segments, comme le maquillage ou les parfums, souffrent encore.

 

Industries Cosmétiques soutient la liberté d'expression, tout le temps, pour tous, inconditionnellement.
X