-0.5 C
Paris
Thursday February 9th, 2023
- publicity -

The winners of The Cosmetic Victories 2019 competition are known

Launched four years ago by the competitiveness cluster Cosmetic Valley, the international innovation competition The Cosmetic Victories aims to detect innovative young shoots, and to promote research in the field of perfumes and cosmetics. Supported by an endowment fund set up in partnership with ESSEC, it rewards the bearers of an innovative project in connection with the perfume-cosmetics sector. Two prizes are awarded for each edition: the Academic Prize (projects from young graduates, doctoral students, post-docs, researchers, scientists) and the Industrial Prize (projects from industrialists, entrepreneurs, start-ups and innovative SMEs).

The award ceremony for the 4th edition of Cosmetic Victories was placed this year under the patronage of Bruno Le Maire, Minister of the Economy and Finance. More than a hundred guests were present on Thursday, June 6, 2019 in the prestigious Michel Debré lounge of the Hôtel des Ministers within the Ministry of the Economy and Finance, in the presence of Mrs. Agnès Pannier-Runacher, secretary of State to the Minister of the Economy and Finance, who announced the names of the winners.

The 2019 Academic Prize (fundamental research) was awarded to Ms. Kie Nakashima, from Osaka University in Japan, for the new generation anti-perspirant project (by hypnosis of the sweat glands). « Classic plug-type antiperspirants lose their effect by easily clearing the sweat pores through the sweat itself. Therefore, antiperspirants which act directly on the sweat transfer mechanism are desirable. Here, we present an innovative live imaging system for sweat glands to visualize the dynamic sweating mechanism. We believe our system is a promising approach to developing a sweat regulation strategy. Indeed, we will present pharmacological candidates for functional antiperspirants. », she explained.

The Industrial Prize (applied research) was awarded to the Brussels-based company ChemCom for its project of an artificial mechanism (through olfactory sensors distributed over the whole body) allowing tanning or skin depigmentation. « Thanks to the olfactory receptors, our nose can smell the volatile compounds present in the air. These sensory receptors are also expressed in other tissues such as the skin where they contribute to physiological processes. ChemCom has identified an olfactory receptor expressed in melanocytes, the modulation of which triggers a new mechanism leading to tanning or depigmentation of the skin. », said Jean-François Pollet, CEO of the company.

The two winning projects will benefit from a financial endowment of 10,000 euros each and support from the cluster Cosmetic Valley which will be materialized, in particular, by the support of the Cosmet'up platform, dedicated to the acceleration of innovative projects in the perfume-cosmetics sector, as well as a visibility pack including national and international media coverage. Marc-Antoine Jamet, president of Cosmetic Valley, recalled the performance of a sector which with 3,200 companies mobilizes 240,000 employees and 8,000 researchers, achieves a turnover of 45 billion euros, exports of 14 billion euros, a positive balance of 112 Bn euros, the second in our trade balance, devotes 650 million euros to research each year and pays 11 billion euros in taxes in France.

Some 90 projects from 14 countries (Germany, Belgium, Canada, Spain, United States, France, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Morocco, New Zealand, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand) were in the running.

 

Photo credit: Cécile Muzard

Publicity
External resources

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

Les lauréats du concours The Cosmetic Victories 2019 sont connus

Lancé il y a quatre ans par le pôle de compétitivité Cosmetic Valley, le concours international des innovations The Cosmetic Victories a pour objectif de détecter les jeunes pousses innovantes, et de favoriser la recherche dans le domaine des parfums et des cosmétiques. Soutenu par un fonds de dotation mis en place en partenariat avec l’ESSEC, il récompense les porteurs d’un projet innovant en lien avec la filière parfumerie-cosmétique. Deux prix sont attribués pour chaque édition : le Prix académique (projets émanant de jeunes diplômés, doctorants, post-doctorants, chercheurs, scientifiques) et le Prix industriel (projets émanant d’industriels, entrepreneurs, start-ups et PME innovantes).

La cérémonie de remise des prix de la 4e édition des Cosmetic Victories était placée, cette année, sous le haut patronage de Bruno Le Maire, ministre de l’Économie et des Finances. Plus d’une centaine d’invités étaient présents le jeudi 6 juin 2019 dans le prestigieux salon Michel Debré de l’Hôtel des Ministres au sein du Ministère de l’économie et des finances, en présence de Madame Agnès Pannier-Runacher, secrétaire d’Etat auprès du ministre de l’Économie et des Finances, qui a annoncé les noms des lauréats.

Le Prix Académique 2019 (recherche fondamentale) a été décerné à madame Kie Nakashima, de l’Université d’Osaka au Japon, pour le projet de nouvelle génération d’anti-transpirant (par hypnose des glandes de sudation). « Les antisudorifiques classiques du type plug perdent leurs effets en éliminant facilement les pores de la sueur par la sueur elle-même. Par conséquent, les anti-transpirants qui agissent directement sur le mécanisme de transfert de la sueur sont souhaitables. Ici, nous présentons un système innovant d’imagerie en direct pour les glandes sudoripares permettant de visualiser le mécanisme de transpiration dynamique. Nous pensons que notre système est une approche prometteuse pour développer une stratégie de régulation de la sueur. En effet, nous présenterons des candidats pharmacologiques pour des anti-transpirants fonctionnels », a-t-elle expliqué.

Le Prix Industriel (recherche appliquée) a été décerné à la société bruxelloise ChemCom pour son projet de mécanisme artificiel (à travers les capteurs olfactifs répartis sur tout le corps) permettant bronzage ou dépigmentation cutanée. « Grâce aux récepteurs olfactifs, notre nez peut sentir les composés volatiles présents dans l’air. Ces récepteurs sensoriels sont également exprimés dans d’autres tissus comme la peau où ils contribuent à des processus physiologiques. ChemCom a identifié un récepteur olfactif exprimé dans les mélanocytes et dont la modulation déclenche un nouveau mécanisme conduisant au bronzage ou à la dépigmentation de la peau », a précisé Jean-François Pollet, le CEO de la société.

Les deux projets primés bénéficieront d’une dotation financière de 10 000 euros chacun et d’un accompagnement du pôle Cosmetic Valley qui se concrétisera, notamment, par l’appui de la plateforme Cosmet’up, dédiée à l’accélération des projets innovants de la filière parfumerie-cosmétique, ainsi que d’un pack visibilité comprenant une couverture médiatique nationale et internationale. Marc-Antoine Jamet, président de Cosmetic Valley, a rappelé les performances d’un secteur qui avec 3200 entreprises mobilise 240 000 salariés et 8 000 chercheurs, réalise un chiffre d’affaires de 45 Mds d’€, des exportations de 14 Mds d’euros, un solde positif de 112 Mds d’euros, le second de notre balance commerciale, consacre 650 million d’euros à la recherche chaque année et paye 11 Mds d’euros d’impôts en France.

Quelque 90 projets en provenance de 14 pays (Allemagne, Belgique, Canada, Espagne, Etats-Unis, France, Italie, Japon, Malaisie, Maroc, Nouvelle-Zélande, Suisse, Taiwan, Thaïlande) étaient en lice.

 

Crédit photo : Cécile Muzard

X