11.3 C
Paris
Monday, November 28, 2022
- publicity -

Inpi certifies geographical indication "absolute Grasse Country"

A new geographical indication is approved by the National Institute of Industrial Property this Friday, November 6, date of publication of the notice in the Official Journal: the "absolute Pays de Grasse". This is the tenth approved geographical indication by Inpi since the entry into force of the device, after the siege of Liffol (December 2016), granite from Brittany (January 2017), porcelain from Limoges (December 2017), stone from Burgundy (June 2018), Garnet from Perpignan (November 2018), Aubusson carpet (December 2018), Aubusson tapestry (December 2018), Charente-Périgord (March 2019) and marble stones from Rhône-Alpes (November 2019) ).

The “Grasse Absolute” label recognizes the quality of Grasse absolutes, resulting from two emblematic skills of the territory since the 18th century, that of farmers producing perfume plants and that of industrial processors.

An approach initiated by the association Les Fleurs d'Exception du Pays de Grasse

The operators of the geographical indication (GI) are manufacturers. However, it is an association of farmers who initiated the process, Les Fleurs d'Exception du Pays de Grasse, which brings together producers of perfume plants certified in organic farming. The latter has been working since 2006 for the preservation and enhancement of local scent plants. To carry out this mission successfully, it was necessary to acquire a quality label. The extension of GIs to industrial and artisanal products in 2015 was timely. Since then, it has never ceased to unite the actors of the sector around the interest of this approach with the help and support of the Community of Agglomeration of the Pays de Grasse and its president Jérôme Viaud, to succeed in 2018 at the first working meeting devoted to the development of the IG specifications, bringing together the Fleurs d'Exception association, the seven industrial operators, the Pays de Grasse Agglomeration Community and Prodarom.

Firmenich, Jean Gazignaire SAS, LMR Naturals by IFF, Mane, Payan Bertrand SA, Robertet and Sotraflor, the seven companies concerned by this certification represent 90% of the processors of perfume plants in the geographical area concerned.

Absolute or absolute essences, an olfactory concentrate obtained after extracting plants, are one of the raw materials in the perfumer's palette. The absolutes, subject of the GI, must meet two criteria: have been produced in the area identified as a historic area of cultivation of perfume plants straddling the Alpes Maritimes, Var and Alpes de Haute Provence, and be from plants picked or grown in the same area. Jasmine, Centifolia rose, tuberose, iris, bay leaf, Madonna lily, lavender, mimosa, thyme, mint, hay, sage, sour orange blossom, violet leaves, geranium ..., a total of 28 plants are affected by the label, 28 plants which have made the success and renown of the perfume capital.

The described absolute manufacturing process can be broken down into two stages. The first: the extraction of the vegetable raw material or biomass with a volatile solvent, by supercritical fluid or enfleurage, in order to obtain a floral ointment called "concrete". The second step consists of the transformation of the primary extract into absolute (alcoholic washing, glazing, filtration, preconcentration and final concentration under vacuum).

Satisfied manufacturers

Industrialists and farmers rely on this label to give the absolute essences produced in Grasse the place of excellence they deserve on the international market.

“As one of the leading perfume houses in natural products and sustainable development, we are very proud to participate in this initiative aimed at recognizing the know-how of the Grasse region. This certification will provide a clear benefit to our customers and their consumers, a guarantee that their products are of the highest quality, locally made, according to the famous traditions of Grasse, a Unesco World Heritage site ”, says Julien Firmenich, vice-president of sales, ingredients, perfumery at Firmenich.

"This GI will make it possible to highlight the products of the Pays de Grasse which have a quality and a specificity recognized by perfumers around the world, thanks to the work of farmers, the microclimate and the century-old know-how of manufacturers", adds Marc Philippe, LMR Naturals by IFF company.

“The cultivation and processing of aromatic and medicinal scent plants (PPAM) are the tradition and heritage of the Pays de Grasse. This certification is invaluable, it will indeed make it possible to promote our expertise in the extraction and distillation of natural raw materials but also to secure the production of PPAM in the territory. In our family, we have been working on developing the flower industry for five generations, it is at the heart of our history; today we are delighted that this certification recognizes, protects and promotes know-how and a tradition ”, concludes Cécile Mul, director of the companies Sotraflor and Jean Gazignaire.

Publicity
External resources

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

L’Inpi homologue l’indication géographique “absolue Pays de Grasse”

Une nouvelle indication géographique est homologuée par l’Institut national de la propriété industrielle ce vendredi 6 novembre, date de publication de l’avis au Journal officiel : l’« absolue Pays de Grasse », Il s’agit de la dixième indication géographique homologuée par l’Inpi depuis l’entrée en vigueur du dispositif, après le siège de Liffol (décembre 2016), le granit de Bretagne (janvier 2017), la porcelaine de Limoges (décembre 2017), la pierre de Bourgogne (juin 2018), le grenat de Perpignan (novembre 2018), le tapis d’Aubusson (décembre 2018), la tapisserie d’Aubusson (décembre 2018), la charentaise de Charente-Périgord (mars 2019) et les pierres marbrières de Rhône-Alpes (novembre 2019). 

Le label “absolue de Grasse” vient reconnaître la qualité des absolues grassoises, issues de deux savoir-faire emblématiques du territoire depuis le XVIIIe siècle, celui des agriculteurs producteurs de plantes à parfum et celui des industriels transformateurs. 

Une démarche engagée par l’association Les Fleurs d’Exception du Pays de Grasse

Les opérateurs de l’indication géographique (IG) sont des industriels. Pour autant c’est une association d’agriculteurs qui a initié la démarche, Les Fleurs d’Exception du Pays de Grasse qui réunit des producteurs de plantes à parfum certifiés en agriculture biologique. Cette dernière, œuvre depuis 2006 pour la préservation et la valorisation des plantes à parfum locales. Pour mener à bien cette mission, se doter d’un label de qualité était une nécessité. L’extension des IG aux produits industriels et artisanaux en 2015 arrivait à point nommé. Elle n’a eu de cesse dès lors de fédérer les acteurs de la filière autour de l’intérêt de cette démarche avec l’aide et le soutien de la Communauté d’Agglomération du Pays de Grasse et de son président Jérôme Viaud, pour aboutir en 2018 à la première réunion de travail consacrée à l’élaboration du cahier des charges de l’IG réunissant l’association Fleurs d’Exception, les sept industriels opérateurs, la Communauté d’Agglomération du Pays de Grasse et Prodarom.

Firmenich, Jean Gazignaire SAS, LMR Naturals by IFF, Mane, Payan Bertrand SA, Robertet et Sotraflor, les sept entreprises concernées par cette homologation représentent 90 % des transformateurs de plantes à parfum de la zone géographique concernée. 

Les essences absolues ou absolues, concentré olfactif obtenu après extraction des plantes, sont une des matières premières de la palette du parfumeur. Les absolues, objet de l’IG, devront répondre à deux critères : avoir été produites sur la zone identifiée comme zone historique de culture des plantes à parfum à cheval sur les Alpes Maritimes, le Var et les Alpes de Haute Provence, et être issues des plantes cueillies ou cultivées sur cette même zone. Jasmin, rose Centifolia, tubéreuse, iris, laurier, lys de la Madone, lavande, mimosa, thym, menthe, foin, sauge, fleurs de bigaradier, feuilles de violette, géranium…, ce sont 28 plantes au total qui sont concernées par le label, 28 plantes qui ont fait le succès et la renommée de la capitale du parfum.

Le procédé de fabrication de l’absolue décrit se décompose en deux étapes. La première : l’extraction de la matière première végétale ou biomasse au solvant volatil, par fluide supercritique ou enfleurage, afin d’obtenir une pommade florale appelée « concrète ». Le seconde étape consiste en la transformation de l’extrait primaire en absolue (lavage alcoolique, glaçage, filtration, préconcentration et concentration finale sous vide).

Des industriels satisfaits

Les industriels et les agriculteurs comptent sur ce label pour donner aux essences absolues produites sur le territoire grassois la place d’excellence qui leur revient sur le marché international.

« En tant que l’une des maisons de parfumerie leader en matière de produits naturels et de développement durable, nous sommes très fiers de participer à cette initiative visant à reconnaître le savoir-faire de la région de Grasse. Cette certification fournira un avantage clair à nos clients et à leurs consommateurs, une garantie que leurs produits sont de la plus haute qualité, fabriqués localement, selon les traditions célèbres de Grasse, site du patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco », indique Julien Firmenich, vice-Président ventes, ingrédients, parfumerie au sein de la société Firmenich.

« Cette IG permettra de mettre en valeur les produits du Pays de Grasse qui ont une qualité et une spécificité reconnues par les parfumeurs du monde entier, grâce au travail des agriculteurs, au microclimat et au savoir-faire centenaire des industriels », ajoute Marc Philippe, société LMR Naturals by IFF.

« La culture et la transformation des plantes à parfums aromatiques et médicinales (PPAM) sont la tradition et le patrimoine du Pays de Grasse. Cette homologation est précieuse, elle permettra en effet de valoriser notre expertise dans l’extraction et la distillation de matières premières naturelles mais également de sécuriser la production des PPAM sur le territoire. Dans notre famille, cela fait cinq générations que nous travaillons à développer la filière de la fleur à l’absolue, elle est au cœur de notre histoire ; nous nous réjouissons aujourd’hui que cette certification reconnaisse, protège et fasse rayonner des savoir-faire et une tradition », conclut Cécile Mul, dirigeante des sociétés Sotraflor et Jean Gazignaire.

X