-0.5 C
Paris
Thursday February 9th, 2023
- publicity -

L'Oréal invests in biotechnology with a minority stake in Carbios

L'Oréal took part in the capital increase carried out by Carbios, a pioneer company in the development of enzymatic processes for the biodegradation and biorecycling of plastics.

This participation was made through BOLD Business Opportunities for L'Oréal Development , a private equity fund launched in December 2018. The fundraising carried out by Carbios is intended in particular to finance the industrial demonstrator of biorecycling of plastics and polyester fibers in PET plastic, the first step towards the industrialization of the technology designed by Carbios on PET.

This technology uses highly specific enzymes intended for the recycling of materials such as PET, a plastic used among others for packaging, or certain polyesters. This innovative process makes it possible to produce a recycled PET equivalent to virgin PET, paving the way for the replacement of a material derived from fossil fuels.

This equity investment demonstrates our desire to support new sustainable development technologies, in line with our commitment that, by 2025, 100% of our packaging will be recycled, recyclable or compostable. More specifically, 50% of the plastic used in our packaging will be of recycled or bio-sourced origin. Carbios is developing pioneering plastic recycling technology, based both on the principles of the circular economy and on biotechnologies. We are proud to support them in their development, ” underlines Barbara Lavernos , General Manager of Technologies and Operations at L'Oréal.

In 2017, Carbios and L'Oréal founded a consortium to industrialize this innovative recycling technology. Nestlé Waters, PepsiCo and Suntory Beverage & Food Europe recently joined the consortium to promote the circular economy of plastics using this technology.

The BOLD Business Opportunities for L'Oréal Development fund is intended to acquire minority stakes in innovative companies and brands with high growth potential. Aiming to invest in new marketing, R&I, digital, distribution, communication, supply and packaging models, BOLD supports start-ups by providing them with its expertise, its network and a mentoring system.

Publicity
External resources

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

L’Oréal investit dans la biotechnologie avec une prise de participation minoritaire dans Carbios

L’Oréal a participé à l’augmentation de capital réalisée par Carbios, société pionnière dans le développement de procédés enzymatiques pour la biodégradation et le biorecyclage de plastiques.

Cette participation s’est faite au travers de BOLD Business Opportunities for L’Oréal Development, fonds de capital-investissement lancé en décembre 2018. La levée de fonds réalisée par Carbios est notamment destinée à financer le démonstrateur industriel de biorecyclage des plastiques et fibres polyesters en plastique PET, première étape vers l’industrialisation de la technologie conçue par Carbios sur le PET.

Cette technologie utilise des enzymes hautement spécifiques à destination du recyclage de matériaux tels que le PET, un plastique utilisé entre autres pour les emballages, ou certains polyesters. Ce procédé innovant permet de produire un PET recyclé équivalent au PET vierge, ouvrant la voie au remplacement d’un matériau issu des énergies fossiles.

« Cette prise de participation témoigne de notre volonté de soutenir les nouvelles technologies de développement durable, en lien avec notre engagement que, d’ici à 2025, 100 % de nos emballages seront recyclés, recyclables ou compostables. Plus spécifiquement, 50 % du plastique utilisé dans nos emballages sera d’origine recyclée ou bio-sourcée. Carbios développe une technologie pionnière de recyclage du plastique, fondée à la fois sur les principes de l’économie circulaire et sur les biotechnologies. Nous sommes fiers de les accompagner dans leur développement », souligne Barbara Lavernos, directrice générale Technologies et Opérations de L’Oréal. 

En 2017, Carbios et L’Oréal ont fondé un consortium pour industrialiser cette technologie de recyclage innovante. Nestlé Waters, PepsiCo et Suntory Beverage & Food Europe ont récemment rejoint le consortium pour favoriser l’économie circulaire des plastiques grâce à cette technologie.

Le fonds BOLD Business Opportunities for L’Oréal Development est destiné à prendre des participations minoritaires dans des sociétés innovantes et marques à fort potentiel de croissance. Visant à investir dans des nouveaux modèles marketing, R&I, digital, distribution, communication, supply et packaging, BOLD soutient les start-ups en mettant à leur disposition son expertise, son réseau et un dispositif de mentoring.

X