University of San Diego and Silab unveil their discoveries on the microbiota of fragile skins

University of California at San Diego - University of San Diego

In 2019, Silab established a research partnership with Dr. Richard Gallo, a specialist in cutaneous microbiota in San Diego (UCSD, University of California San Diego), to further scientific knowledge on the role of the cutaneous microbiota in the inflammation processes characteristic of fragile skin. This work is currently the subject of two publications in the prestigious journals Cell Reports and The Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology.

The involvement of the cutaneous microbiota, in particular that of pathogenic opportunistic bacteria such as Staphylococcus aureus (S. aureus), in skin pathologies is no longer to be demonstrated. More recently, studies have reported an over-representation of Staphylococcus epidermidis (S. epidermidis) in lesional areas of weakened skin. This common commensal bacterium of the host beneficial and healthy microbiota may be involved in the compromised skin phenotype.

The objective of the work carried out by Dr. Gallo's team was to identify the role and mechanism of action of the two species S. aureus and S. epidermidis in the pathogenesis of two inflammatory skin diseases: Netherton syndrome and atopic dermatitis.

The results obtained confirm the existence of the pathogenic role of S. epidermidis in weakened skin, similar to S. aureus. The deleterious effects of these two species result from interspecies communication via the intelligent quorum sensing system. This system allows the synchronization of the secretion of proteases specific to each of the two bacterial populations. These virulence factors exacerbate the disruption of the barrier function and the inflammatory phenomenon characteristic of Netherton syndrome and atopic dermatitis.

Laura Cau, who participated in the UCSD project as part of a VIS (Volontariat international scientifique) funded by Silab, says: "These findings highlight the major influence on skin health of interspecies communication within the epidermal ecosystem. They reinforce the understanding of the role of the commensal microbiota in the development of inflammatory skin pathologies. »

 

X

L’université de San Diego et Silab dévoilent leurs découvertes sur le microbiote des peaux fragilisées

Université de Californie à San Diego - Université de San Diego

En 2019, Silab a établi un partenariat de recherche avec le Dr Richard Gallo, spécialiste du microbiote cutané à San Diego (UCSD, University of California San Diego), afin d’approfondir les connaissances scientifiques sur le rôle du microbiote cutané dans les processus d’inflammation caractéristiques des peaux fragilisées. Ces travaux font aujourd’hui l’objet de deux publications dans les prestigieuses revues Cell Reports et The Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology.

L’implication du microbiote cutané, notamment celle de bactéries opportunistes pathogènes telles que Staphylococcus aureus (S. aureus), dans des pathologies cutanées n’est plus à démontrer. Plus récemment, des études ont rapporté une surreprésentation de l’espèce Staphylococcus epidermidis (S. epidermidis) dans des zones lésionnelles de peaux fragilisées. Cette bactérie commensale commune du microbiote sain et bénéfique pour l’hôte pourrait participer au phénotype cutané compromis.

L’objectif des travaux menés par l’équipe du Dr Gallo était d’identifier le rôle et le mécanisme d’action des deux espèces S. aureus et S. epidermidis dans la pathogenèse de deux maladies inflammatoires cutanées : le syndrome de Netherton et la dermatite atopique.

Les résultats obtenus confirment l’existence du rôle pathogène de S. epidermidis dans des peaux fragilisées, de manière similaire à S. aureus. Les effets délétères de ces deux espèces sont issus d’une communication inter-espèces via le système intelligent de quorum sensing. Ce système permet la synchronisation de la sécrétion de protéases spécifiques de chacune des deux populations bactériennes. Ces facteurs de virulence exacerbent la rupture de la fonction barrière et le phénomène inflammatoire caractéristiques du syndrome de Netherton et de la dermatite atopique.

Laura Cau, qui a participé au projet à l’UCSD dans le cadre d’un VIS (Volontariat international scientifique) financé par Silab, précise : « Ces découvertes mettent en lumière l’influence majeure sur la santé cutanée de la communication inter-espèces au sein de l’écosystème épidermique. Elles renforcent la compréhension du rôle du microbiote commensal dans le développement de pathologies inflammatoires cutanées. »

 

Industries Cosmétiques soutient la liberté d'expression, tout le temps, pour tous, inconditionnellement.
X