Sulapac, a specialist in eco-designed packaging, raises 15 million euros

Packaging and labeling - Cosmetics industry

The Finnish startup Sulapac has raised the exceptional amount of 15 million euros to accelerate its development and internationalization. This financing allows the brand to continue expanding its revenue portfolio. Among the investors are Chanel as well as international press organizations. Their invaluable expertise will help accelerate Sulapac's expansion.

With this funding, Sulapac can increase the production of its microplastic-free material that will replace plastic. The startup may also continue to develop new and improved formulas, including a flexible version of its universal injection molding material. Sulapac has several innovations to its credit, including the world's most sustainable mass-produced straw, now available to brands and consumers.

The financing is carried by Chanel, Mousse Partners, Sky Ocean Ventures, Bonnier Ventures and Lifeline Ventures, accompanied by a group of private investors. Partners have been carefully selected with an emphasis on long-term support, commitment to sustainability and expertise relevant to Sulapac's growth.

“It is with joy that we see that these international players recognize the potential of our innovation and support our mission to save the planet from plastic waste. The renewed support from the prestigious house of Chanel also indicates that sustainable development is a priority in the luxury market. As a truly sustainable alternative celebrating premium quality and design, Sulapac is the ideal solution for this segment, ” says Suvi Haimi, President of Sulapac.

Suvi Haimi, co-founder, welcomes the contribution of investors: “we want to make Sulapac the number one sustainable material that will be used as a replacement for plastic. Lifeline Ventures, who was also one of our early investors, has a solid track record of international growth. Chanel brings exceptional customer knowledge, while Sky Ocean Ventures and Bonnier Ventures, with their deep understanding of the international media landscape, can help us strengthen our brand recognition and grow our presence in international markets. "

Jamie Rowles, Head of Investments at Sky Ocean Ventures, adds: “As part of Sky's commitment to tackle plastic waste in our oceans, we are investing in Sulapac to support its plan to increase the potential of its material sustainable innovative without microplastics. "

In addition to new investors, Sulapac's growth will be supported by its new advisers, including Sophia Bendz, previously in charge of global marketing for Spotify and now a partner of venture capital firm Atomico, and Charli Kumar, who launched and runs Sky's TV start-up in Spain. Jukka Moisio, former CEO of global food packaging specialist Huhtamäki, recently took over the chairmanship of Sulapac's board.

“It is time for Sulapac to take a dominant position in the global market, and I am happy to contribute my experience. I am also delighted that the Sulapac team is supported by a group of advisers with exceptional expertise who will accelerate its development, ” says Moisio.

Spécialiste des packaging éco-conçus, Sulapac lève 15 millions d’euros

La startup finlandaise Sulapac a amassé le montant exceptionnel de 15 millions d’euros pour accélérer son développement et son internationalisation. Ce financement permet à la marque de poursuivre l’extension de son portefeuille de recettes. Parmi les investisseurs, figurent Chanel ainsi que des organismes de presse internationaux. Leur précieuse expertise permettra d’accélérer l’expansion de Sulapac.

Grâce à cet apport de fonds, Sulapac peut accroître la production de son matériau sans microplastique appelé à remplacer le plastique. La startup peut également poursuivre le développement de formules nouvelles et améliorées, y compris une version flexible de son matériau universel pour moulage par injection. Sulapac compte plusieurs innovations à son actif, notamment la paille produite en masse la plus durable au monde, désormais accessible aux marques et aux consommateurs.

Le financement est porté par Chanel, Mousse Partners, Sky Ocean Ventures, Bonnier Ventures et Lifeline Ventures, accompagnés d’un groupe d’investisseurs privés. Les partenaires ont été soigneusement sélectionnés en mettant l’accent sur le soutien à long terme, l’engagement envers la durabilité et l’expertise pertinente au regard de la croissance de Sulapac.

« C’est avec joie que nous constatons que ces acteurs internationaux reconnaissent le potentiel de notre innovation et soutiennent notre mission de sauver la planète des déchets plastiques. Le soutien renouvelé de la prestigieuse maison Chanel indique également que le développement durable est une priorité sur le marché du luxe. En tant qu’alternative réellement durable célébrant la qualité et le design haut de gamme, Sulapac est la solution idéale pour ce segment », déclare Suvi Haimi, la présidente de Sulapac.

 Suvi Haimi, cofondateur, se réjouit de l’apport des investisseurs : « nous voulons faire de Sulapac le matériau durable numéro un qui sera utilisé en remplacement du plastique. Lifeline Ventures, qui a également été l’un de nos premiers investisseurs, possède une solide expérience dans la croissance internationale. Chanel apporte une connaissance du client exceptionnelle, tandis que Sky Ocean Ventures et Bonnier Ventures, grâce à leur compréhension approfondie du paysage médiatique international, peuvent nous aider à renforcer la reconnaissance de notre marque et à développer notre présence au sein des marchés internationaux. »

Jamie Rowles, responsable des investissements chez Sky Ocean Ventures, ajoute : « dans le cadre de l’engagement de Sky à lutter contre les déchets plastiques dans nos océans, nous investissons dans Sulapac afin de soutenir son plan visant à accroître le potentiel de son matériau durable innovant sans microplastique. »

En plus de nouveaux investisseurs, la croissance de Sulapac sera soutenue par ses nouveaux conseillers, notamment Sophia Bendz, auparavant en charge du marketing mondial de Spotify et aujourd’hui partenaire de la société de capital-risque Atomico, et Charli Kumar, qui a lancé et dirige la start-up TV de Sky en Espagne. Jukka Moisio, ancien PDG du spécialiste mondial de l’emballage alimentaire Huhtamäki, a récemment pris la présidence du conseil d’administration de Sulapac.

« Il est temps pour Sulapac de prendre une place dominante sur le marché mondial, et je suis heureux d’apporter mon expérience. Je suis également ravi que l’équipe Sulapac soit soutenue par un groupe de conseillers à l’expertise exceptionnelle qui permettront d’accélérer son développement », affirme Moisio.

 

X