18.1 C
Paris
Friday, July 1, 2022
- publicity -

Fair trade and environmental issues: L'Occitane is committed

Publicity

As part of the Fair Trade fortnight, L'Occitane en Provence confirms its position in favour of an ethical economic model and is committed to supporting all its producers of iconic ingredients in their fair trade certification process. Sustainable and structuring, this certification is an essential prerequisite to meet the ambitious objective that L'Occitane sets itself: that of increasing the resilience of all in the face of future climate and social impacts.

Occitane and shea butter, a model for the success of a fair trade sector

Since its beginnings, L'Occitane has chosen an ethical and sustainable approach: that of protecting nature and supporting the people who take care of it. A pioneering approach that began in 1980, when the founder of the brand met the women producers of Shea Butter in Burkina Faso. The foundations of a fair and sustainable partnership are immediately established: the brand sources directly from women's cooperatives from which it buys a processed product with high added value.

In 2009, obtaining the Ecocert Fair Trade certification, according to the international Fair for Life standard, will recognize the value of this partnership established on multi-year contracts, the implementation of pre-financing and the guarantee of a fair purchase price. For L'Occitane, it is the recognition of an exceptional collaboration participating in the preservation of traditional know-how and the improvement of living conditions for these communities of women.

On the solid foundation of this fair trade certification, L'Occitane launched in 2018 the Resist program (resilience, ecology, strengthening, independence, structuring and training). "We have supported more than 10,000 women to preserve the shea trees of which they are the guardians, to modernize and limit the environmental impacts of their butter production processes and especially to become less dependent on the orders of L'Occitane by developing their portfolio of activities and customers," says Justine Humbert, head of sustainable sectors. Symbol of a policy of continuous development, the Resist program consolidates the foundations of a sustainable future for the Shea industry. The "exemplarity" of this supply chain was praised by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) in 2013 and 2019.

Fair trade and agroecology, a sustainable goal

With its experience in shea, the L'Occitane brand is now committed to supporting all its producers of iconic ingredients in Provence and Corsica, so that they obtain their fair trade certification, by 2025. Among the sectors concerned, almond, cade wood, immortelle, lavender, rose or verbena. "This is an extremely structuring approach for securing our supplies. The recent crises we have gone through, health and political, have proven the need for multi-year contracts and the capital value of sustainable partnerships," explains Justine Humbert. And this is proving and will prove to be even more the case in the face of the environmental challenges of our time. For producers, fair trade ensures the sustainability of their farm and allows them to invest in the future. "Fair trade is one of the solutions, it offers everyone a much better resistance in an unstable context."

For L'Occitane, there is no agroecological transition without economic equity: fair trade establishes the prerequisites for the ecological transition. L'Occitane then made the choice, to support this certification process while accompanying its producers in their necessary agroecological transition, to participate in 2021 in the creation of the Agroecology and Fair Trade association, bringing together about fifteen partner farms.

Its objectives are multiple: to allow the fair certification of its members by giving them the necessary associative framework, to access the fair development fund once the certification has been obtained, but also to pool learning and share knowledge in agroecology. The association benefits in particular from the support of agricultural engineers from the Biodiversity and Sustainable Ingredients department and external experts to deploy experiments in agroforestry or land cover. " If producers are on the front lines of climate change, they are also part of the solution. It is our responsibility to implement commercial partnerships but also technical, financial and human support that allows them to initiate this ecological transition. We must share the risks inherent in these changes in practices," according to Justine Humbert. She concludes: "Promoting equity, inclusion and regenerative agriculture is not philanthropy, it is the only possible response of our companies to today's challenges. It is also the only possible way as a citizen, as parents, to offer a bright future to our children. »

External resources
fr.loccitane.com

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

We offer you our summer number! Freely access the digital version of Industries CosmétiquesI read !
+
X

4.2 C
Paris
mardi 6 décembre 2022
- publicité -

Commerce équitable et enjeux environnementaux : L’Occitane s’engage

Dans le cadre de la quinzaine du Commerce équitable L’Occitane en Provence confirme sa position en faveur d’un modèle économique éthique et s’engage à accompagner l’ensemble de ses producteurs d’ingrédients iconiques dans leur démarche de certification équitable. Durable et structurante, cette certification s’impose comme un prérequis indispensable pour répondre à l’objectif ambitieux que L’Occitane se fixe : celui d’accroître la résilience de tous face aux impacts climatiques et sociaux à venir.

L’Occitane et le beurre de karité, modèle de réussite d’une filière équitable

Depuis ses débuts, L’Occitane a fait le choix d’une démarche éthique et durable : celui de protéger la nature et de soutenir les hommes qui en prennent soin. Une démarche pionnière qui a débuté en 1980, lorsque le fondateur de la marque rencontre les femmes productrices de Beurre de Karité au Burkina Faso. Les bases d’un partenariat juste et durable sont d’emblée établies : la marque se fournit directement auprès de coopératives de femmes auxquelles elle achète un produit transformé, à forte valeur ajoutée.

En 2009, l’obtention de la certification Commerce équitable Ecocert, selon le référentiel international Fair for Life, viendra reconnaître la valeur de ce partenariat établi sur des contrats pluriannuels, la mise en place de préfinancements et la garantie d’un prix d’achat juste. Pour L’Occitane, c’est la reconnaissance d’une collaboration exceptionnelle participant à la préservation de savoir-faire traditionnels et à l’amélioration des conditions de vie pour ces communautés de femmes.

Sur le socle solide de cette certification équitable, L’Occitane lance en 2018 le programme Resist (résilience, écologie, renforcement, indépendance, structuration et formation). « Nous avons accompagné plus de 10 000 femmes à préserver les arbres à Karité dont elles sont les gardiennes, à moderniser et limiter les impacts environnementaux de leurs procédés de production du beurre et surtout à devenir moins dépendantes aux commandes de L’Occitane en développant leur portefeuille d’activités et de clients », indique Justine Humbert, responsable filières durables. Symbole d’une politique de développement continu, le programme Resist consolide les bases d’un avenir durable pour l’industrie Karité. “L’exemplarité” de cette chaîne d’approvisionnement a été saluée par le Programme des Nations unies pour le développement (Pnud) en 2013 et 2019.

Commerce équitable et agroécologie, un objectif durable

Forte de son expérience sur le karité, la marque L’Occitane s’engage aujourd’hui à accompagner l’ensemble de ses producteurs d’ingrédients iconiques de Provence et de Corse, afin qu’ils obtiennent leur certification équitable, d’ici à 2025. Parmi les filières concernées, l’amande, le bois de cade, l’immortelle, la lavande, la rose ou encore la verveine. « C’est une démarche extrêmement structurante pour la sécurisation de nos approvisionnements. Les crises récentes que nous avons traversées, sanitaires et politiques, ont prouvé la nécessité de contrats pluriannuels et la valeur capitale de partenariats durables », explique Justine Humbert. Et cela s’avère et s’avèrera encore plus le cas face aux défis environnementaux de notre temps. Pour les producteurs, le commerce équitable assure la pérennité de leur exploitation et leur permet d’investir sur l’avenir. « Le commerce équitable fait partie des solutions, il offre à tous une bien meilleure résistance dans un contexte instable. »

Pour L’Occitane, il n’est pas de transition agroécologique sans équité économique : le commerce équitable instaure les prérequis à la transition écologique. L’Occitane a alors fait le choix, pour soutenir cette démarche de certification tout en accompagnant ses producteurs dans leur nécessaire transition agroécologique, de participer en 2021 à la création de l’association Agroécologie et Commerce équitable, rassemblant une quinzaine d’exploitations partenaires. 

Ses objectifs sont multiples : permettre la certification en équitable de ses membres en leur donnant le cadre associatif nécessaire, accéder au fond de développement équitable une fois la certification obtenue, mais aussi mutualiser les apprentissages et partager les connaissances en agroécologie. L’association bénéficie notamment de l’appui des ingénieurs agronomes du service Biodiversité et Ingrédients durables et d’experts externes pour déployer des expérimentations en agroforesterie ou couverture des sols. « Si les producteurs sont en première ligne face au changement climatique, ils sont aussi une partie de la solution. Il est de notre responsabilité de mettre en œuvre des partenariats commerciaux mais aussi des soutiens techniques, financiers et humains qui leur permettent d’amorcer cette transition écologique. Nous devons partager les risques inhérents à ces changements de pratiques », selon Justine Humbert. Elle conclut : « Promouvoir l’équité, l’inclusion et une agriculture régénératrice, ce n’est pas de la philanthropie, c’est l’unique réponse possible de nos entreprises aux enjeux d’aujourd’hui. C’est aussi la seule voie possible en tant que citoyen, parents, pour offrir un futur radieux à nos enfants. »

Publicité
Ressources externes
fr.loccitane.com

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

Charles River propose de nouveaux articles et un webinar sur sa page dédiée !Je me renseigne !