11.4 C
Paris
Thursday, September 29, 2022
- publicity -

Febea publishes a guide to good practices to preserve biodiversity

Publicity

For several years, the cosmetics sector has undertaken a profound transformation: setting up sustainable supply chains, measuring their footprint on biodiversity, reducing their environmental impact, etc. to help the entire sector move faster and further, Febea publishes a guide to good practices in the sector. It will allow all cosmetics companies, regardless of their size, to draw inspiration from these experiences and deploy them at their scale.

Last June, Febea adopted a new raison d'être: "To take care of yourself, to respect the beauty of the world". Since its adoption, this raison d'être has been designed to be translated into a series of concrete actions, particularly in terms of ecological transition.
Many companies in the sector have already embarked on this path, promoting biodiversity. Listing and publishing their good practices allows everyone to have concrete examples, transposable, capable of inspiring new actions and thus accelerating the ecological transition of the entire sector.

The "Biodiversity" guide offered online by the Febea is above all practical and concrete. Divided into 7 chapters, it addresses all aspects to help preserve biodiversity. From the creation of sustainable supply chains to the eco-design of raw materials and formulas, through logistical choices or the reuse of unsold products, each step is the subject of a precise analysis, and above all gives pride of place to the concrete initiatives taken by companies.

Inspiring examples to drive action

Thus, Pierre Fabre has embarked on a process of valorization of co-products: to manufacture the active ingredient of Klorane, he uses the margine of organic olive, an effluent from the manufacture of olive oil. To do this, he turns to a Greek farmer, for whom the replanting of 10,000 olive trees after the 2007 fires in the Peloponnese was financed. Another example is milk thistle oil, used for the Avène range. It is a co-product of the extraction of sylimarin, used in the pharmaceutical industry. The residual oil is now being evaluated to become a new cosmetic active ingredient.

Another example of strong commitment is that of the Yves Rocher Foundation, with the Plant For Life program. It mobilizes thousands of volunteer tree planters to revive the soils and retreat the deserts. Thanks to them and the expertise of 48 NGOs, the program is present in 35 countries, and the goal of 100 million trees planted was reached by the end of 2020. In France, the Foundation has planted more than 4 million country trees, and will reach 5 million in 2021.

A comprehensive and practical guide for businesses of all sizes

In total, this guide brings together 176 best practices from companies of all sizes and in all fields.
It also offers a series of focuses on environmental regulations and their evolution, and takes stock of existing certifications and standards. It also presents many examples of existing initiatives in which each company can choose to participate, not to mention a "toolbox", and agenda gathering major upcoming events around the theme of biodiversity.

"With this guide, we want to show how, concretely, each actor in our sector can, at its own level, better contribute to "respecting the beauty of the world,"says Emmanuel Guichard, General Delegate of Febea. We now want to go further, faster, by relying on the strength of the collective. Together, we intend to play a major role in building a sustainable future that takes care of biodiversity. This initiative represents a first step in this direction, it is up to us to continue to amplify the movement. »

Publicity
External resources
febea.fr

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

X

La Febea publie un guide des bonnes pratiques pour préserver la biodiversité

Le secteur de la cosmétique a, depuis plusieurs années, entrepris une profonde transformation : mise en place de filières d’approvisionnement durables, mesure de leur empreinte sur la biodiversité, réduction de leur impact environnemental… pour aider l’ensemble du secteur à aller plus vite et plus loin, la Febea publie un guide des bonnes pratiques du secteur. Il permettra à toutes les entreprises cosmétiques, quelle que soit leur taille, de s’inspirer ces expériences et de les déployer à leur échelle.

La Febea s’est dotée, en juin dernier, d’une nouvelle raison d’être : « Prendre soin de vous, respecter la beauté du monde ». Dès son adoption, cette raison d’être a été conçue pour se traduire en une série d’actions concrètes, notamment en matière de transition écologique.
De nombreuses entreprises du secteur se sont déjà engagées dans cette voie, en favorisant la biodiversité. Répertorier et publier leurs bonnes pratiques permet à tous de disposer d’exemples concrets, transposables, capables d’inspirer de nouvelles actions et ainsi d’accélérer la transition écologique de tout le secteur.

Le guide « Biodiversité » proposé en ligne par la Febea se veut avant tout pratique et concret. Divisé en 7 chapitres, il aborde tous les aspects pour contribuer à préserver la biodiversité. De la création de filières d’approvisionnement durables à l’éco-conception des matières premières et des formules, en passant par les choix logistiques ou encore le réemploi des produits invendus, chaque étape fait l’objet d’une analyse précise, et donne surtout la part belle aux initiatives concrètes prises par les entreprises.

Des exemples inspirants pour favoriser le passage à l’action

Ainsi, Pierre Fabre s’est lancé dans une démarche de valorisation des co-produits : pour fabriquer l’actif de Klorane, il utilise la margine d’olive biologique, un effluent issu de la fabrication d’huile d’olive. Pour ce faire, il s’adresse à un agriculteur grec, pour lequel a été financée la replantation de 10.000 oliviers après les incendies de 2007 dans le Péloponnèse. Autre exemple avec l’huile de chardon-marie, utilisée pour la gamme Avène. Il s’agit d’un co-produit de l’extraction de la sylimarine, utilisée dans l’industrie pharmaceutique. L’huile résiduelle est aujourd’hui en cours d’évaluation pour devenir un nouvel actif cosmétique.

Autre exemple d’engagement fort, celui de la Fondation Yves Rocher, avec le programme Plant For Life. Il mobilise des milliers de planteuses et planteurs d’arbres volontaires pour faire revivre les sols et reculer les déserts. Grâce à eux et à l’expertise de 48 ONG, le programme est présent dans 35 pays, et l’objectif des 100 millions d’arbres plantés a été atteint fin 2020. En France, la Fondation a planté plus de 4 millions d’arbres champêtres, et atteindra les 5 millions en 2021.

Un guide complet et pratique pour les entreprises de toutes tailles

Au total, ce guide rassemble 176 bonnes pratiques d’entreprises de toutes tailles et dans tous les domaines.
Il propose aussi une série de focus sur les réglementations environnementales et leur évolution, et fait le point sur les certifications et standards existants. Il présente également de nombreux exemples d’initiatives existantes auxquelles chaque entreprise peut choisir de participer, sans oublier une « boîte à outils », et agenda rassemblant les grands événements à venir autour du thème de la biodiversité.

« Avec ce guide, nous souhaitons montrer comment, concrètement, chaque acteur de notre filière peut, à son échelle, mieux contribuer à « respecter la beauté du monde, affirme Emmanuel Guichard, délégué général de la Febea. Nous voulons désormais aller plus loin, plus vite, en nous appuyant sur la force du collectif. Ensemble, nous comptons jouer un rôle majeur dans la construction d’un futur durable, qui prend soin de la biodiversité. Cette initiative représente un premier pas dans cette direction, à nous de continuer à amplifier le mouvement. »