3.8 C
Paris
Wednesday 14 April 2021
- advertising -

France becomes the first European Union country to be able to export its cosmetics to China without animal testing

The Chinese authorities have agreed that "ordinary*" cosmetic products can be exported to China without being tested on animals by the Chinese authorities before being placed on the market. This is on condition that manufacturers present a certificate of compliance with Good Manufacturing Practices, issued by the competent authorities of their country of origin, as well as a product safety assessment.

Thanks to the mobilization of French cosmetic companies and health authorities, France is the first country among the European Union States to be able to issue this certificate. This decisive step is the reward for many years of efforts by the sector to encourage the Chinese authorities to abandon tests, which have been banned in France, as in the rest of the European Union, since 2009.
The testing of cosmetic products on animals had already been banned throughout the European Union since 2009. But some countries, including China, were still conducting tests on imported finished products before authorising their marketing on their territory. These tests were carried out by local health control authorities and not by brands.
The cosmetics industry has therefore committed itself to these countries to have alternative methods to animal testing recognised and to move towards a total and definitive elimination of these tests.
These efforts had already started to bear fruit. Thus, since June 2014, certain products manufactured and marketed in China (shampoos, shower gels, make-up) were no longer tested on animals. Only cosmetics for "special" use, such as hair dyes and sunscreens, and all imported products remained concerned.

Today, a new step has been taken, since "ordinary" cosmetic products exported to China will now also be exempted from animal testing, provided that they present a certificate of compliance with Good Manufacturing Practices and a safety assessment. In France, the ANSM (Agence Nationale de Sécurité du Médicament) will issue this certificate to manufacturers. Since January 12, 2021, the ANSM has put online, on a dedicated platform, the documents required to obtain this certificate, thus allowing all French cosmetics manufacturers to export more easily to China.

 

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Our expert opinions

Newsletter

X

site-industries-cosmetiques Une couverture du magazine Industries Cosmétiques
Discover all the innovations in perfumery and cosmetics.
Discover our special report: Save the People. Enjoy your direct access!
If you prefer the paper edition, please subscribe to our magazine
- publicité -

La France devient le premier pays de l’Union Européenne à pouvoir exporter ses cosmétiques en Chine sans test sur les animaux

Les autorités chinoises ont accepté que les produits cosmétiques « ordinaires * » soient exportés en Chine sans être testés sur les animaux par les autorités chinoises avant leur mise sur le marché. Ceci à condition que les fabricants présentent un certificat de conformité aux Bonnes Pratiques de Fabrication, délivré par les autorités compétentes de leur pays d’origine, ainsi qu’une évaluation de la sécurité du produit.

Grâce à la mobilisation des entreprises cosmétiques et des autorités sanitaires françaises, la France est le premier pays parmi les États de l’Union Européenne à être en mesure de délivrer ce certificat. Cette avancée décisive vient récompenser de nombreuses années d’efforts du secteur auprès des autorités chinoises pour les inciter à abandonner les tests, interdits en France, comme dans le reste de l’Union Européenne, depuis 2009.
Les tests de produits cosmétiques sur les animaux étaient déjà interdits dans toute l’Union Européenne depuis 2009. Mais certains pays, dont la Chine, menaient encore des tests sur les produits finis importés avant d’autoriser leur commercialisation sur leur territoire. Ces tests étaient conduits par les autorités de contrôle sanitaire locales et non par les marques.
Le secteur cosmétique s’est donc engagé auprès de ces pays afin de faire reconnaître les méthodes alternatives aux tests sur les animaux, et de faire évoluer les réglementations vers une élimination totale et définitive de ces tests.
Ces efforts avaient déjà commencé à porter leurs fruits. Ainsi, depuis juin 2014, certains produits fabriqués et commercialisés en Chine (shampooings, gels douche, maquillage) n’étaient plus testés sur les animaux. Seuls les cosmétiques à usage «spécial», comme les colorants capillaires et les protections solaires, et la totalité des produits importés restaient concernés.

Aujourd’hui, une nouvelle étape est franchie, puisque les produits cosmétiques « ordinaires » exportés en Chine seront désormais, eux aussi, exemptés de tests sur les animaux, à condition de présenter un certificat de conformité aux Bonnes Pratiques de Fabrication et une évaluation de la sécurité. En France, c’est l’ANSM (Agence Nationale de Sécurité du Médicament) qui va délivrer ce certificat aux fabricants. Depuis le 12 janvier 2021, l’ANSM a mis en ligne, sur une plateforme dédiée, les documents nécessaires pour l’obtention de ce certificat, permettant ainsi à l’ensemble des fabricants français de cosmétiques d’exporter plus facilement vers la Chine.

Ressources externes

Contenu sponsorisé

site-industries-cosmetiques Une publicité vibrante pour Croda Beauty avec un gros plan de fleurs orange avec un effet de flou en arrière-plan et le texte « Croda Beauty, une science intelligente pour améliorer la vie » inclut désormais Phytess

Phytessence™ Osmanthus, the first geo-skincare botanical extract by Croda Beauty

Discover how this innovative natural ingredient helps the skin to better face climate change, particularly the harmful effects of sun rays and heat.
site-industries-cosmetiques Un individu concentré en blouse de laboratoire examinant un petit pot contenant une substance rose, innovation cosmétique pionnière avec des ingrédients naturels en Bretagne.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline – the longest in the country.

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

fr_FRFrançais