4.3 C
Paris
Tuesday December 6th, 2022
- publicity -

A Sulapac bio-based material for the new caps of Chanel's Les eaux bottles

It all started with a desire. In 2018, Les eaux de Chanel introduced a new olfactory universe into the perfumes of the house: a singular collection, inspired by Mademoiselle Coco Chanel's favorite places, nourished by the imagination and composed around freshness.

Consistently, chanel's Les eaux perfume bottles have been designed with sustainability in mind. Its glass vials are thinner and lighter1, which means a smaller volume of raw materials and optimized transport, and the usually hidden corrugated cardboard has been transformed into a clean and simple outer packaging whose absence of lamination or glossy coating makes it easier to recycle.

Since 2021, all 125 ml bottles in the Les eaux de Chanel collection are topped with a bio-based cap2,which Chanel has developed in partnership with Sulapac. For two years, Chanel's teams worked hand in hand with the Finnish startup to create a new cap composed of three layers, made from 91% bio-based materials obtained from renewable resources and3 FSC certified wood chips (by-products of industrial secondary flows).

In accordance with Chanel's rigorous standards, every detail has been carefully studied, including the sensory nature of the material, its resistance to temperature fluctuations, the unique sound the bottle emits when the cap is put in place, the grip and depth of the satin matte finish of the iconic engraving of the double C. No less than 48 tests were necessary to arrive at the final product. This project is part of a long-term collaborative approach that places sustainability at the centre of Chanel's research and development.

Luxury standards show the way

Sulapac was pleased to welcome Chanel, a leading brand representing the most demanding luxury segment, among its first investors in 2018.

"Chanel is one of the forerunners of the luxury industry, as its teams want to invest in the latest sustainable innovations in materials and technologies. We have set a very high quality standard for our sustainable material, with the ambition to replace conventional plastics,"said Suvi Haimi, CEO and co-founder of Sulapac, at the announcement in 2018.

Today, Suvi Haimi said: "This first product launch of our collaboration with Chanel, Chanel's Les eaux bio-based cap made with Sulapac material, is an important milestone for us. It proves that Sulapac meets the highest quality standards. »

1 Compared to other Chanel Eaux de Toilette of the same size.
2 Made from materials of plant origin.
3 Wood from responsibly managed FSC certified forests and other cont
controlled sources.

Publicity
External resources
sulapac.com

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

Charles River offers new articles and a webinar on his dedicated page!I am looking that up !

site-industries-cosmetiques Une couverture du magazine Industries Cosmétiques
Discover all the innovations in perfumery and cosmetics.
Discover our special report: Save the People. Enjoy your direct access!
If you prefer the paper edition, please subscribe to our magazine
- publicité -

Un matériau biosourcé Sulapac pour les nouveaux bouchons des flacons Les eaux de Chanel

Tout a commencé par une envie. En 2018, Les eaux de Chanel a introduit un nouvel univers olfactif dans les parfums de la maison : une collection singulière, inspirée des lieux préférés de Mademoiselle Coco Chanel, nourrie par l’imaginaire et composée autour de la fraîcheur.

De manière cohérente, les flacons des parfums Les eaux de Chanel ont été conçus dans un souci de durabilité. Ses flacons en verre sont plus fins et plus légers1, ce qui signifie un plus petit volume de matières premières et un transport optimisé, et le carton ondulé habituellement caché a été transformé en un emballage extérieur propre et simple dont l’absence de pelliculage ou de revêtement brillant facilite le recyclage.

Depuis 2021, tous les flacons de 125 ml de la collection Les eaux de Chanel sont coiffés d’un bouchon biosourcé2, que Chanel a développé en partenariat avec Sulapac. Pendant deux ans, les équipes de Chanel ont travaillé main dans la main avec la startup finlandaise pour créer un bouchon inédit composé de trois couches, réalisé à partir de 91 % de matériaux biosourcés obtenus à partir de ressources renouvelables et de copeaux de bois certifiés3 FSC (sous-produits des flux secondaires industriels).

Conformément aux normes rigoureuses de la maison Chanel, chaque détail a été soigneusement étudié, notamment la nature sensorielle du matériau, sa résistance aux fluctuations de température, le son unique que le flacon émet lorsque le bouchon est mis en place, la prise en main et la profondeur de la finition mate satinée de la gravure iconique du double C. Pas moins de 48 essais ont été nécessaires pour parvenir au produit final. Ce projet s’inscrit dans une approche collaborative à long terme qui place la durabilité au centre de la recherche et du développement de Chanel.

Les normes de luxe montrent la voie

Sulapac a eu le plaisir d’accueillir Chanel, une marque leader représentant le segment du luxe le plus exigeant, parmi ses premiers investisseurs en 2018.

« Chanel est l’un des précurseurs de l’industrie du luxe, car ses équipents veulent investir dans les dernières innovations durables en matière de matériaux et de technologies. Nous avons établi une norme de très haute qualité pour notre matériau durable, avec l’ambition de remplacer les plastiques conventionnels », a déclaré Suvi Haimi, PDG et cofondateur de Sulapac, lors de l’annonce en 2018.

Aujourd’hui, Suvi Haimi déclare : « Ce premier lancement de produit de notre collaboration avec Chanel, le bouchon biosourcé Les eaux de Chanel fabriqué avec le matériau Sulapac, est une étape importante pour nous. Il prouve que Sulapac répond aux normes de qualité les plus élevées. »

1 Comparé aux autres Eaux de Toilette Chanel de même taille. 
2 Fabriqué à partir de matériaux d’origine végétale. 
3 Bois provenant de forêts gérées de manière responsable certifiées FSC et d’autres sources co
ntrôlées. 

Ressources externes
sulapac.com

Contenu sponsorisé

site-industries-cosmetiques Une publicité vibrante pour Croda Beauty avec un gros plan de fleurs orange avec un effet de flou en arrière-plan et le texte « Croda Beauty, une science intelligente pour améliorer la vie » inclut désormais Phytess

Phytessence™ Osmanthus, the first geo-skincare botanical extract by Croda Beauty

Discover how this innovative natural ingredient helps the skin to better face climate change, particularly the harmful effects of sun rays and heat.
site-industries-cosmetiques Un individu concentré en blouse de laboratoire examinant un petit pot contenant une substance rose, innovation cosmétique pionnière avec des ingrédients naturels en Bretagne.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline – the longest in the country.

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

fr_FRFrançais