8.6 C
Paris
Saturday, November 26, 2022
- publicity -

My Blue CosmET'IC Congress: Microalgae and the Sea for Beauty

Banyuls will host my Blue Blue CosmET'IC, an international meeting of "beauty and the sea" in the Arago Laboratory, a historic site for marine research, from March 10 to 12, 2021.

These are three days of congresses for the cosmetics sector organized with the support of the Tara Ocean Foundation, CNRS and Sorbonne University. A half-day exchange with startups from research laboratories is also planned.

The aim is to take stock of the latest research and initiatives on the aquatic environment dedicated to the entire cosmetics sector, from the ingredient to the packaging, through the formulation.

Microalgae will be at the centre of the debate. Used in chemical formulas in soluble or dispersible form (in the form of microparticles that remain suspended), they also produce chemically fractional substances (hydrolyzed into sugars) so as to have raw materials useful for the manufacture of bio-based polymers.

Bio-based or eco-responsible packaging will be discussed several times, including a presentation of the Spice initiative (for Sustainable packaging initiative for cosmetics)launched by L'Oréal and environmental consultant Quantis to build the future of sustainable packaging and reduce the environmental footprint of cosmetic products.

On the scientific committee: academics and industrialists. "My Blue CosmET'IC is a unique conference in terms of its scientific value and the breadth of the areas covered. International experts will share their work on biodiversity, biomimicry and biodegradability. Ingredients and packaging will be in the spotlight. Our intention is to give a clear vision and an objective reading of the data published in the literature. For example, Febea will demonstrate that cosmetics account for a tiny fraction of water pollution. The environmental impact of solar filters will also be discussed in the presentation of dedicated tools, says Claudie Willemin, former president of theInternational Federation of Societies of Cosmetic Chemists(IFSCC), who initiated the event with Oceanics.

Stéphane Bruzaud, a professor-researcher at the Dupuy Research Institute in Lôme (University of South Brittany), designs bio-sourced and biodegradable polymers for packaging and cosmetics in particular (production from plant biomass mainly by fermentation). He is also working to adapt the properties of these bacterial and bio-based polymers by playing on the structure of PHA (polyhydroxyalcanoates) as well as on the monitoring of biodegradability in different environments, especially marine ones. It also works, in partnership with the Tara Ocean association, to characterize environmental pollution by plastics and microplastics with the design of extraction devices to quantify and qualify them.

Greensea, a subsidiary of Greentech, which specializes in growing microalgae and transforming algae into innovative ingredients, is the premium sponsor of the event. "My Blue CosmET'IC is an important event. Sponsoring the event allows us to support the sector and aims, as an industrialist, to initiate new collaborations. We are convinced of the interest of the congress, it seemed natural to support the approach initiated by Claudie Willemin,"said Jean-Yves Berthon, Ceo of the Greentech Group.

Other sponsors include L'Oréal, Pierre Fabre and Codif (a specialist in biotechnology and skin biology developing new assets and unique study models), Basf, DSM, Grosset-Fournier - Demachy (industrial property consultancy), and Seppic, Mibelle Group, which sponsors My Blue CosmET'IC Innov'AwaRD, a competition for startups.

The My Blue CosmET'IC conference will be accessible in distance, live, with a format that is both interactive and immersive.


Greensea, sponsor premium

Greensea (formerly Aquamer), a subsidiary of the Greentech Group, has been supplying the global market for 35 years with algae, microalgae and active ingredients from aquatic plants for various markets, including cosmetics.

The company has some 10,000 litres of production capacity in tubular and annular reactors, and collaborates with the Portuguese company Allmicroalgae, a 50% subsidiary of Greentech, which produces more than 100 tonnes of microalgae each year.

Greensea participates in the Future Oceanomics investment program in connection with Tara expeditions.


A European consortium around PHA

The Dupuy Research Institute in Lôme is part of the European NENU2PHAR project, which aims to develop a bioplastic, PHA-based, European and sustainable sector.

Selected as part of the H2020 call for projects, the project brings together some 17 partners. The consortium held its launch meeting in September 2020. Initiated for a period of 4.5 years and coordinated by the ECA, it is supported to the tune of almost 5 million euros by the European Commission. From the selection of bacterial strains or microalgae for the production of PHA to the formulation and treatment of biopolymers and the production of eight different PHA-based products for a variety of application markets, including cosmetics: this project covers the entire value chain of production and the use of PHA-based bioplastics.

Publicity
External resources

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

9.9 C
Paris
mercredi 14 avril 2021
- publicité -

Congrès My Blue CosmET’IC : les microalgues et la mer au service de la beauté

Banyuls accueillera du 10 au 12 mars 2021, au sein du laboratoire Arago, lieu historique de la recherche sur le milieu marin, les rencontres internationales de « la beauté et la mer » My Blue CosmET’IC.

Il s’agit de trois jours de congrès destinés à la filière cosmétique organisés avec le soutien de la Fondation Tara Ocean, du CNRS et de Sorbonne Université. Une demi-journée d’échange avec des startups issues de laboratoires de recherche est également planifiée.

L’objectif : faire un état des lieux des dernières recherches et initiatives sur le milieu aquatique dédiées à l’ensemble de la filière cosmétique, depuis l’ingrédient au packaging, en passant par la formulation.

Les microalgues seront au centre des débats. Utilisées dans des formules chimiques sous forme soluble ou dispersible (sous la forme de microparticules qui restent en suspension), elles produisent également des substances fractionnées chimiquement (hydrolysées en sucres) de façon à disposer de matières premières utiles à la fabrication de polymères biosourcés. 

Les emballages biosourcés ou écoresponsables seront évoqués à plusieurs reprises, notamment à l’occasion d’une présentation de l’initiative Spice (pour Sustainable packaging initiative for cosmetics) lancée par L’Oréal et le spécialiste du conseil environnemental Quantis pour construire l’avenir de l’emballage durable et réduire l’empreinte environnementale des produits cosmétiques.

Au sein du comité scientifique : des académiques et des industriels. « My Blue CosmET’IC est un congrès unique par sa valeur scientifique ainsi que par l’étendue des domaines abordés. Des experts internationaux partageront leurs travaux sur la biodiversité, le biomimétisme, la biodégradabilité. Ingrédients et emballages seront à l’honneur. Notre volonté est de donner une vision claire et une lecture objective des données publiées dans la littérature. Par exemple, la Febea démontrera que la cosmétique représente une infime partie de la pollution aquatique. L’impact sur l’environnement des filtres solaires sera par ailleurs abordé dans le cadre de la présentation d’outils dédiés », indique Claudie Willemin, ancienne présidente de l’IFSCC (International Federation of Societies of Cosmetic Chemists), à l’initiative de l’événement avec Oceanics.

Membre du comité scientifique et intervenant, Stéphane Bruzaud, enseignant-chercheur au sein de l’Institut de recherche Dupuy de Lôme (Université de Bretagne-Sud) conçoit par exemple des polymères biosourcés et biodégradables pour les domaines de l’emballage et la cosmétique en particulier (production à partir de biomasse végétale essentiellement par fermentation). Il travaille également à l’adaptation les propriétés de ces polymères d’origine bactérienne et biosourcée en jouant sur la structure des PHA (polyhydroxyalcanoates) ainsi que sur le suivi de la biodégradabilité dans différents milieux, notamment marins. Il œuvre par ailleurs, en partenariat avec l’association Tara Océan, à la caractérisation des pollutions environnementales par les plastiques et microplastiques avec la conception de dispositif d’extraction pour les quantifier et les qualifier.

Greensea, filiale de Greentech, spécialiste de la culture des microalgues et la transformation des algues en ingrédients innovants, est le sponsor premium de l’événement. « My Blue CosmET’IC  est une manifestation importante. Sponsoriser l’événement nous permet de soutenir la filière et a pour objectif, à titre industriel, d’initier de nouvelles collaborations. Nous sommes convaincus de l’intérêt du congrès, il nous a semblé naturel d’appuyer la démarche initiée par Claudie Willemin », précise Jean-Yves Berthon, président directeur général du groupe Greentech.

Autres sponsors : L’Oréal, Pierre Fabre ainsi que Codif (spécialiste des biotechnologies et de la biologie cutanée développant de nouveaux actifs et des modèles d’études uniques), Basf, DSM, Grosset-Fournier & Demachy (cabinet de conseils en propriété industrielle), et Seppic,  Mibelle Group sponsorise pour sa part My Blue CosmET’IC Innov’AwaRD, compétition de startups.

Le congrès My Blue CosmET’IC sera accessible en distanciel, en direct, avec un format à la fois interactif et immersif.


Greensea, sponsor premium

Filiale du groupe Greentech, Greensea (ex-Aquamer) fournit depuis 35 ans le marché mondial en algues, microalgues et ingrédients actifs issus de plantes aquatiques et destinés à différents marchés, dont la cosmétique.

L’entreprise affiche quelque 10 000 litres de capacité de production en réacteurs tubulaires et annulaires, et collabore avec la société portugaise Allmicroalgae, filiale à 50 % de Greentech, qui produit plus de 100 tonnes de microalgues chaque année.

Greensea participe au programme d’investissement d’avenir Oceanomics en lien avec les expéditions Tara.


Un consortium européen autour des PHA

L’Institut de Recherche Dupuy de Lôme est partie prenante du projet européen NENU2PHAR dont l’objectif est de développer une filière bioplastique, à base de PHA, européenne et durable.

Sélectionné dans le cadre de l’appel à projets H2020, le projet rassemble quelque 17 partenaires. Le consortium a tenu sa réunion de lancement en septembre 2020. Initié pour une durée de 4,5 ans et coordonné par le CEA, il est soutenu à hauteur de près de 5 millions d’euros par la Commission européenne. De la sélection de souches bactériennes ou de microalgues pour la production de PHA à la formulation et le traitement de biopolymères et la production de huit produits différents à base de PHA pour des marchés applicatifs variés, dont la cosmétique : ce projet couvre l’ensemble de la chaîne de valeur de la production et l’utilisation de bioplastiques à base de PHA.

En savoir plus : https://mybluecosmet-ic.eu

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Nos avis d'expert

Newsletter

X