32 C
Paris
Friday August 12th, 2022
- publicity -

DSM and Albéa join forces to offer sun care

Publicity

Dutch society Royal DSM, a global scientific company, has announced its partnership with Albéa to offer sustainable packaging for its solar formula prototypes and realize its vision of a responsible product offering.

The shift towards more sustainable beauty and skincare products is not new. But increasingly, consumers looking for planet-friendly options are expanding this scope to also include packaging, looking at the packaging itself to make responsible choices. According to a recent study by Mintel, 83% of Malaysian adults would like to see more innovative sustainability ideas from major beauty brands, while more than half of German adults believe that eco-friendly packaging for skincare products does not contain plastic. In addition, growing consumer concerns about the safety and ease of use of packaging are fuelling the demand for safe packaging. With the cosmetics industry producing more than 120 billion packaging units per year, the opportunity for a positive impact on the planet through more sustainable packaging is enormous.

Two companies, a commitment to a sustainable value chain

The partnership between DSM and Albéa is a key milestone and underlines both companies' commitment to sustainability. Through this partnership, DSM can provide its customers with a complete sustainable sun care solution. As a first step, DSM plans to transfer most of its solar formula prototypes into tubes, known to be the packaging format with the most impact on sustainability as well as safety and hygiene benefits. In addition to protection against microbial contamination, the tubes also offer minimal product loss (compared to spray formulations, for example).

The Albéa tube used in DSM's formulation prototypes combines the 3Rs: recycled content, ready to be recycled and reduced weight. Albéa's tube is composed of a Slim cap with a light and eco-designed look, combined with a lightweight structure from Thin-Wall technology for a reduced weight solution. This ready-to-recycle tube in current recycling streams also incorporates a maximum level of post-consumer recycled content (PCR), with the tube reaching 38% PCR (62% excluding cap) for a D35 tube, 50ml thus contributing to the evolution towards a circular economy.

Every step counts

"Customers and consumers are looking for a commitment to sustainability throughout the value chain. To make our offering more sustainable, we need to work together and strive to introduce sustainable practices at every stage and in every area of our business," says Gaelle Bathany, Global Director Sustainability DSM Personal Care and Aroma Ingredients. This requires thinking differently and taking many small but thoughtful steps in the right direction, such as formalizing our partnership with Albéa. Albéa shares our broader commitment to encouraging sustainable practices in this sector by developing solutions and services that help customers minimize their environmental footprint. »

Caroline Hughes, Marketing Manager at Albéa Tubes, adds: "We are rethinking packaging to make it circular, with a low environmental impact and safety. This radical change requires collaboration along the entire value chain, as illustrated by this partnership between DSM and Albéa. We combine our expertise, our capacity for innovation as well as our social and environmental responsibility so that beauty and skincare brands can meet their own commitments to their stakeholders. »

Publicity
External resources
albea-group.com

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

We offer you our summer number! Freely access the digital version of Industries CosmétiquesI read !
+
X

12.7 C
Paris
mardi 5 juillet 2022
- publicité -

DSM et Albéa s’associent pour proposer des soins solaires

Publicité

La société néerlandaise Royal DSM, une entreprise scientifique mondiale, a annoncé son partenariat avec Albéa afin de proposer des emballages durables pour ses prototypes de formules solaires et concrétiser sa vision d’une offre de produits responsables.

L’évolution vers des produits de beauté et de soins plus durables n’est pas nouvelle. Mais de plus en plus, les consommateurs à la recherche d’options respectueuses de la planète étendent ce champ d’action pour inclure également l’emballage, en regardant l’emballage lui-même pour faire des choix responsables. Selon une étude récente de Mintel, 83 % des adultes malaisiens souhaiteraient voir davantage d’idées innovantes en matière de durabilité de la part des grandes marques de produits de beauté, tandis que plus de la moitié des adultes allemands pensent que les emballages écologiques des produits de soin et de beauté ne contiennent pas de plastique. En outre, les préoccupations croissantes des consommateurs en matière de sécurité et de facilité d’utilisation des emballages alimentent la demande d’emballages sûrs. L’industrie cosmétique produisant plus de 120 milliards d’unités d’emballage par an, l’opportunité d’un impact positif sur la planète grâce à des emballages plus durables est énorme.

Deux entreprises, un engagement pour une chaîne de valeur durable

Le partenariat entre DSM et Albéa est une étape clé et souligne l’engagement des deux entreprises en faveur de la durabilité. Grâce à ce partenariat, DSM peut fournir à ses clients une solution durable complète en matière de soins solaires. Dans un premier temps, DSM prévoit de transférer la plupart de ses prototypes de formules solaires dans des tubes, connus pour être le format d’emballage ayant le plus d’impact sur le développement durable ainsi que des avantages en termes de sécurité et d’hygiène. Outre la protection contre la contamination microbienne, les tubes offrent également une perte minimale de produit (par rapport aux formulations en spray, par exemple).

Le tube d’Albéa utilisé dans les prototypes de formulation de DSM combine les 3R : contenu recyclé, prêt à être recyclé et poids réduit. Le tube d’Albéa est composé d’un capuchon Slim au look léger et éco-conçu, combiné à une structure allégée issue de la technologie Thin-Wall pour une solution de poids réduit. Ce tube prêt à être recyclé dans les flux de recyclage actuels intègre également un niveau de contenu recyclé post-consommation (PCR) maximum, le tube atteignant 38 % de PCR (62 % hors bouchon) pour un tube D35, 50ml participant ainsi à l’évolution vers une économie circulaire.

Chaque pas compte

« Les clients et les consommateurs sont à la recherche d’un engagement en faveur de la durabilité tout au long de la chaîne de valeur. Pour rendre notre offre plus durable, nous devons travailler ensemble et nous efforcer d’introduire des pratiques durables à chaque étape et dans chaque domaine de nos activités, explique Gaelle Bathany, Global Director Sustainability DSM Personal Care and Aroma Ingredients. Cela nécessite de penser différemment et de prendre de nombreuses mesures, petites mais réfléchies, dans la bonne direction, comme l’officialisation de notre partenariat avec Albéa. Albéa partage notre engagement plus large à encourager les pratiques durables dans ce secteur en développant des solutions et des services qui aident les clients à minimiser leur empreinte environnementale. »

Caroline Hughes, responsable marketing chez Albéa Tubes, ajoute : « Nous repensons l’emballage pour le rendre circulaire, à faible impact environnemental et sûr. Ce changement radical nécessite une collaboration tout au long de la chaîne de valeur, comme l’illustre ce partenariat entre DSM et Albéa. Nous combinons nos expertises, nos capacités d’innovation ainsi que notre responsabilité sociale et environnementale afin que les marques de beauté et de soins puissent respecter leurs propres engagements envers leurs parties prenantes. »

Ressources externes
albea-group.com

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

Nous vous offrons notre numéro d'été ! Accédez librement à la version numérique d'Industries CosmétiquesJe lis !
+
X