18.9 C
Paris
Friday August 19th, 2022
- publicity -

Gattefossé launches Definicire, its first ingredient for hair application

Publicity

Gattefossé will launch its very first ingredient for hair applications at the in-cosmetics Latin America trade fair. Gattefossé researchers drew on their expertise in lipid chemistry to reproduce the styling benefits and natural protective properties of sebum without providing a greasy effect.

Perfectly disciplined hair

This innovative new ingredient is based on high molecular weight esters obtained from the hulls of sunflower seeds and jojoba seeds. These esters react with polyglycerol to improve the application of the treatment to the hair and leave a homogeneous protective film.
Tests have shown that the hair regains its hydrophobicity which protects it from humidity and frizz. They are therefore soft to the touch and easier to comb with a longer lasting hold.
“We have worked for several years to find a lipid composition that can replace silicones in conventional hair care products. We have found that the naturally occurring sebum is the best protection for the hair. Because of repeated shampoos, thermal attacks and the surrounding pollution, the sebum can no longer fulfill its initial function and the hair, then exposed, is damaged ”.
“We therefore designed Definicire, very close to sebum in terms of chemical composition, but with slightly longer carbon chains to optimize its performance without reproducing the greasy appearance of sebum. During the development, we focused on the sensory properties of the hair after treatment and therefore we refined the composition of our ingredient to eliminate any greasy effect both in appearance and to the touch. Our teams in Singapore and Brazil tested the ingredient in formulation to assess the effectiveness of its anti-humidity barrier and we are very satisfied with the result ”Vincent Hubiche, head of the applications laboratory for the Gattefossé group.

Publicity
External resources

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

We offer you our summer number! Freely access the digital version of Industries CosmétiquesI read !
+
X

Gattefossé lance Definicire, son premier ingrédient à application capillaire

Gattefossé lancera à l’occasion du salon in-cosmetics Amérique Latine, son tout premier ingrédient pour les applications capillaires. Les chercheurs de Gattefossé se sont appuyés sur leur expertise en chimie des lipides afin de reproduire les bienfaits coiffant et les propriétés protectrices naturelles du sébum sans apporter d’effet gras.

Des cheveux parfaitement disciplinés

Ce nouvel ingrédient innovant s’articule autour d’esters à haut poids moléculaire issus des coques de graines de tournesol et de graines de jojoba. Ces esters réagissent avec du polyglycérol pour améliorer l’application du soin sur les cheveux et laissent un film protecteur homogène.
Les tests ont démontré que les cheveux regagnent en hydrophobicité ce qui les protège de l’humidité et des frisottis. Ils sont alors doux au toucher et plus faciles à coiffer avec une tenue de plus longue durée.
« Nous avons travaillé durant plusieurs années afin de trouver une composition lipidique pouvant remplacer les silicones dans les produits de soins capillaires classiques. Nous avons découvert que le sébum naturellement présent constituait la meilleure protection pour les cheveux. A cause des shampoings à répétition, des agressions thermales et de la pollution environnante, le sébum ne peut plus remplir sa fonction initiale et les cheveux, alors exposés, s’abîment ».
« Nous avons donc conçu Definicire, très proche du sébum au niveau de la composition chimique, mais avec des chaînes de carbone légèrement plus longues pour optimiser ses performances sans reproduire l’aspect gras du sébum. Lors du développement, nous nous sommes concentrés sur les propriétés sensorielles du cheveu après traitement et nous avons donc affiné la composition de notre ingrédient pour éliminer tout effet gras en apparence comme au toucher. Nos équipes de Singapour et du Brésil ont testé l’ingrédient en formulation pour évaluer l’efficacité de sa barrière anti-humidité et nous sommes très satisfaits du résultat » Vincent Hubiche, responsable du laboratoire d’applications pour le groupe Gattefossé.

X