- advertising -
Generic selectors
Exact match only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Filter by category
News
Experts' opinions
Sponsored content
Formulation
Ingredients
Media kit
The magazine
Software
Management
Make-up
We tested for you
Packaging
Fragrances
Industrial processes
Regulations
CSR

Tunisia publishes a technical standard specific to the oil of prickly pear

Today, organic prickly pear seed oil has become the spearhead of the new Tunisian cosmetics industry. In order to position Tunisia as a leader in this field, Tunisian institutions, with the support of the United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO), have published a technical standard for prickly pear seed oil. Tunisia has thus become the first and only country in the world to standardize the characteristics of this oil. This new standard will further encourage Tunisian exports in the cactus sector, which continue to show a clear upward trend despite the global economic crisis. 

Organic prickly pear seed oil has become the undisputed spearhead of the new Tunisian cosmetics industry. This precious anti-aging product is exported from Tunisia to all five continents, and sells for hundreds of dinars a liter. In order to position Tunisia as a leading country in the production of prickly pear seed oil, and to guarantee optimum standardized quality for this highly prized cosmetic product, the National Institute for Standardization and Industrial Property (Innorpi Tunisie) has published the Tunisian standard for prickly pear seed oil under code NT:118.152 (2021). Tunisia has thus become the first and only country in the world to standardize the characteristics of this precious oil, reflecting the importance the country attaches to this strategic sector. 

Work on preparing the standard began 2.5 years ago, thanks to a public-private collaboration that saw the participation of several stakeholders such as the Ministry of Agriculture and the Association nationale du développement du cactus (Anadec Tunisie), which since 2018 has brought together companies in the sector and was behind the request to prepare the standard. The process of developing the standard was supported by the United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) as part of the Pampat project funded by the Swiss State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (Seco).

The standard sets out the technical specifications as well as the quality and composition criteria for Tunisian prickly pear seed oil. This official reference determines the limit values for each physico-chemical parameter, enabling Tunisian operators to ensure the required quality and guarantee product conformity. 

This new standard will certainly contribute to the development of the sector's exports. According to a survey carried out by UNIDO, international sales account for around half the turnover of Tunisian cactus processing companies, and have shown a clear upward trend even during the year 2020, which was marked by the global economic crisis. 

Indeed, the sector continues to be on a roll. The number of cactus processing companies has risen from five in 2014 to 42 in 2020 across the country. 

The great success of the industry's flagship product, prickly pear seed oil, is due to its many dermatological benefits. This beauty elixir is rich in Omega 6 and vitamin E. In fact, clinical studies carried out in 2020 by Onudi have confirmed that certified organic Tunisian prickly pear seed oil is a genuine beauty elixir, with anti-spot, anti-dark circle, anti-wrinkle and firming effects.

The clinical studies took place over a 28-day period in a renowned international laboratory and involved a population of women aged between 45 and 65, who applied the protocol to determine the efficacy of Tunisian oil. A total of 97 % of the volunteers who followed the protocol for applying the oil during the clinical study confirmed their satisfaction with the product's characteristics and efficacy, and expressed their intention to continue using it.

Clinical studies and the Tunisian standard for prickly pear seed oil will enable Tunisian operators to better seize opportunities in foreign countries. According to Onudi, all these signals point to a bright future for the product spearheading the new Tunisian cosmetics industry, and confirm that the potential of this nascent sector is far from yet being tapped. 

YouTube video
External resources
pampat.tn

Sponsored content

Modernizing your lab can improve employee retention

Modernizing your lab could be the answer to improve training, improve retention, and relieve the supply chain bottleneck.

Technature's new machine: hydrogel in a jar

Technature, Europe's leading manufacturer of natural hydrogels, expands its range with the introduction of a new specialized machine for potted hydrogels.

Related articles

Our last issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

en_USEnglish

14.8 C
Paris
dimanche 25 septembre 2022
- publicité -

La Tunisie publie une norme technique spécifique à l’huile de pépins de figue de Barbarie

Publicité

Aujourd’hui, l’huile de pépins de figue de Barbarie bio est devenue le fer de lance de la nouvelle cosmétique tunisienne. En vue de positionner la Tunisie comme pays leader dans ce domaine, les institutions tunisiennes avec l’appui de l’Organisation des nations unies pour le développement industriel (Onudi) ont publié la norme technique relative à l’huile de pépins de figue de barbarie. La Tunisie est devenue ainsi le premier et seul pays au monde à standardiser les caractéristiques de cette huile. Cette nouvelle norme encouragera davantage les exportations tunisiennes de la filière cactus, qui continuent à enregistrer une nette tendance à la hausse malgré la crise économique mondiale. 

L’huile de pépins de figue de Barbarie bio est devenue le fer de lance indiscutable de la nouvelle cosmétique tunisienne. Ce produit anti-âge précieux est exporté par la Tunisie sur les cinq continents et se commercialise à des centaines de dinars le litre. En vue de positionner la Tunisie comme pays leader de la production de l’huile de pépins de figue de barbarie et afin de garantir une qualité standardisée optimale de ce produit cosmétique très prisé, l’Institut national de la normalisation et de la propriété industrielle (Innorpi Tunisie) a publié la norme tunisienne relative à l’huile de pépins de figue de barbarie sous le code NT :118.152 (2021). La Tunisie est devenue ainsi le premier et seul pays au monde à standardiser les caractéristiques de cette huile précieuse, ce qui traduit toute l’importance accordée à ce secteur stratégique par le pays. 

Les travaux pour la préparation de la norme ont démarré il y a 2,5 années grâce à une collaboration publique-privée qui a vu la participation de plusieurs intervenants tels que le Ministère de l’agriculture et l’Association nationale du développement du cactus (Anadec Tunisie) qui regroupe depuis 2018 les entreprises de la filière et qui était derrière la requête de préparation de la norme. La démarche de l’élaboration de la norme a été appuyée par l’Organisation des nations unies pour le développement industriel (Onudi) dans le cadre du projet Pampat financé par le Secrétariat d’état à l’économie suisse (Seco).

La norme fixe les spécifications techniques ainsi que les critères de qualité et de composition de  l’huile de pépins de figue de barbarie tunisienne. Cette référence officielle détermine les valeurs limites pour chaque paramètre physico-chimique et permet ainsi aux opérateurs tunisiens d’assurer la  qualité requise et de garantir ainsi  la conformité du produit. 

Cette nouvelle norme contribuera certainement au développement des exportations du secteur. Selon une enquête menée par l’Onudi, les ventes internationales représentent environ la moitié du chiffre d’affaires des entreprises tunisiennes de transformation du cactus et celles-ci ont enregistré  une nette tendance à l’hausse même pendant l’année 2020 marquée par la crise économique mondiale. 

En effet, le secteur continue à avoir le vent en poupe. Le nombre d’entreprises de transformation de cactus est passé de cinq en 2014 à 42 en 2020 dans tout le pays. 

Le grand succès du produit phare de la filière, l’huile de pépins de figue de barbarie, est dû à ses nombreux bienfaits dermatologiques. Cet élixir de beauté est riche en Oméga 6 et en vitamine E. D’ailleurs, des études cliniques réalisées en 2020 par l’Onudi ont confirmé que l’huile de pépins de figue de barbarie tunisienne certifiée biologique est un véritable élixir de beauté et a des effets anti-tâches, anti-cernes, anti-rides et raffermissants.

Les études cliniques se sont déroulées sur une période de 28 jours dans un laboratoire international renommé et ont concerné une population de femmes âgées entre 45 et 65 ans, qui ont appliqué le protocole d’utilisation pour déterminer l’efficacité de l’huile tunisienne. Au total, 97 % des volontaires ayant suivi le protocole d’application de l’huile lors de l’étude clinique ont confirmé  leur satisfaction par rapport aux caractéristiques et à l’efficacité du produit et ont exprimé leur intention de poursuivre son utilisation.

Les études cliniques ainsi que la norme tunisienne relative à l’huile de pépins de figue de barbarie permettront aux opérateurs tunisiens de mieux saisir les opportunités qui se présentent dans les pays étrangers. Autant de signaux qui laissent présager, selon l’Onudi, un futur radieux au produit fer de lance de la nouvelle cosmétique tunisienne et qui confirment que le potentiel de ce secteur naissant est loin d’être encore exploité. 

Publicité
Ressources externes
pampat.tn

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

X