3.6 C
Paris
Monday February 6th, 2023
- publicity -

Digital twins for the supply chain of the future

Maryna Grytsenko Nénon Market Development Beauty and Personal Care at Avery Dennison France- Sponsored Content - Product Info

By Maryna Grytsenko, Market Development Manager Beauty & Personal Care, Avery Dennison Smartrac

Transparency, seamless purchasing and supply chain visibility: these are the key challenges facing the beauty and personal care segment today. Present before the pandemic, they have since expanded and accelerated.

The desire to increase transparency is driven by a commitment to ethical working methods and by the fact that consumers are more concerned about safety and sustainability issues. According to Avery Dennison's "The New Transparency" report, 70% of people believe trust in a brand is more important today than in the past. In the film " A Portrait of a Supply Chain ," Avery Dennison captures what transparency means to the people working at the heart of supply chains. The film highlights the importance of creating digital supply chains, enabling greater transparency for raw materials, products and consumers throughout a product's journey.

Cacaste is one of the organizations featured in the film.

This Mexican cocoa butter producer is at the first stage of the supply chain: sourcing and processing raw materials. Over the years, Cacaste has developed a close working relationship with a network of producers in Tabasco, which has strengthened the trust and traceability of the supply chain. The connection between man and land is closely linked to how supply chains have developed over centuries. More distant than ever, the end consumer and the farmer can once again be connected, thanks to the use of digital identities, as shown by this growing company that supplies cocoa to beauty companies from the United States to New Zealand.

Finally, the pandemic has also highlighted supply chain vulnerabilities. Product demand has evolved significantly over the years and has highlighted the lack of agility within brands' supply chains. IHL Group estimates that excess inventory and stock-outs cost the retail sector $1.8 trillion annually due to "global inventory distortion": in other words, poor inventory management that exceeded Canada's GDP in 2020.  By creating a transparent dialogue between what's in store, what's in stock, and what's sold online, brands can accurately match supply and demand. The right assortment of products can be delivered at the right time and to the right place, minimizing overproduction and waste and keeping pace with changing consumer demand.

The need for a supply chain overhaul

The beauty and personal care segment demands integrity in the supply chain as well as agility and visibility. Even before COVID-19, Avery Dennison data revealed that inventory accuracy was a major challenge for the beauty industry, with nearly 50% of retailers exhibiting inventory distortions.

Omnichannel beauty retailers have struggled to swap physical inventory for digital and keep up with the higher digital demand that has occurred over the past couple of years. The same trend is observed in a post-pandemic scenario when inventories are not accurate. They continue to struggle to satisfy shoppers' increased appetite for omnichannel, seamless and instant product availability.

AD Beauty Day 2 Shot 4 RT CMYK - Sponsored Content - Product Info

The lack of end-to-end material-level visibility and supply chain transparency has put pressure on agility, safety, and sustainability. The pandemic and the ensuing e-commerce boom have also caused a bigger shift in consumer behavior, especially in the beauty industry. In 2020, data from McKinsey & Co. had shown a 55% and 75% drop in cosmetics and fragrance purchases compared to the previous year. However, the post-Covid period and the signs of a new recession bring new changes and a need to adapt more and more quickly to new trends at both brand and consumer level.

It's no secret that sustainability has also become paramount for beauty and personal care brands, as well as retailers and especially their customers. The clean beauty movement has emphasized ingredient integrity and environmental footprints. It is common for beauty brands to overproduce products to ensure a wide selection at all times. This often leads to unwanted excesses – as trends change quickly and not all inventory is sold on time or before the expiration date. The expenditure on energy and raw materials to manufacture, distribute and often dispose of this surplus can be very high and also has a cost to the planet and brand value.

Connecting the physical world to the digital world

Brands will have to be increasingly flexible and face an increased need to maximize their processes. Technology will play an important role.

Digital identification technologies, such as RFID or NFC, give non-digital objects a unique digital identity, opening up vast possibilities for supply chain management, commerce and communication. This digital identity is created when a lipstick, a palette, or whatever item is manufactured. Identity travels with the product from the point of manufacture to the factory, through the supply chain to the retailer and beyond. It communicates information about the presence, authenticity, location of the individual product, or even just to connect with consumers.

How does it work concretely? Let's take RFID technology, for example.

Avery Dennison's Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) technology enables wireless or contactless transfer of digital identification and additional data between an RFID tag via electromagnetic waves. It can identify, authenticate, track, detect, and interact with each object seamlessly. RFID makes it possible to read tags without a line of sight at a distance of a few centimeters to more than 20 meters, depending on the type of RFID system. Typical examples would be reading hundreds of labeled products inside boxes on a pallet with a fixed reader door mounted behind a shipping dock door. Or drag a portable reader onto store shelves and shelves to count inventory in seconds. Or tapping a smartphone on a luxury handbag to verify authenticity and sign up for a loyalty program.

Increase sales while reducing inventory

Following a successful pilot project, Brazilian cosmetics company, Grupo Boticàrio, was the first to adopt RFID in the beauty industry in Brazil. Supply chain management is a challenge for any beauty company, a challenge that has proven increasingly daunting for Grupo Boticàrio as the company experienced double-digit growth in Latin America and the United States. Common issues included poor inventory visibility, stock-outs, high product loss, slow product flow, and inaccurate data for demand planners.

It chose this technology to ensure end-to-end traceability across its increasingly complex supply chain. The RFID system was applied to improve five processes: receiving shipments, replenishing shelves, counting inventory, payment and demand planning.

Store employees immediately noticed improvements. Shipments received are recorded faster and more accurately. Inventory is categorized in the store's database as "back of store" or "front of store," making it easy to see when shelves need to be replenished and track merchandise as it is moved. Alerts about products with an impending expiry date allow store staff to discount these items and sell them before they expire, increasing revenue and reducing waste. At checkouts, multiple revenues are accounted for together, rather than item by item. Inventories are counted much faster and with greater accuracy than with the old barcode system. As a result, demand planners receive better information that allows them to order the right products for replenishment and better forecast sales.

By adding a digital identity to its products, Grupo Boticario has reduced stock-outs by up to 97%, increased its identification of hidden stock-outs by more than half, and seen an increase in revenue.

These are impressive results. Isn't it time to see how a digital identity overhaul could transform how your supply chain operates?

AD Beauty Shot 8 RT CMYK small 1- Sponsored Content - Product Info

For more information, please visit the website or contact Maryna Grytsenko-Nénon, Market Development Manager Europe, RFID Beauty & Personal Care at Avery Dennison by email at [email protected].

External resources
Site internet

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

8.6 C
Paris
samedi 26 novembre 2022
- publicité -

Les jumeaux numériques au service de la chaîne d’approvisionnement du futur

Maryna Grytsenko Nénon Market Development Beauty and Personal Care at Avery Dennison France- Contenu sponsorisé - Info produits

Par Maryna Grytsenko, Market Development Manager Beauty & Personal Care, Avery Dennison Smartrac

Transparence, achats fluides et visibilité de la chaîne d’approvisionnement : tels sont les principaux enjeux auxquels le segment de la beauté et des soins personnels est actuellement confronté. Présents avant la pandémie, ils se sont depuis amplifiés et accélérés.

La volonté d’accroître la transparence est motivée par un engagement en faveur de méthodes de travail éthiques et par le fait que les consommateurs sont davantage préoccupés par les questions de sécurité et de durabilité. Selon le rapport d’Avery Dennison « The New Transparency », 70 % des personnes pensent que la confiance dans une marque est plus importante aujourd’hui que par le passé. Dans le film « Un portrait d’une chaîne d’approvisionnement », Avery Dennison capture ce que la transparence signifie pour les personnes travaillant au cœur des chaînes d’approvisionnement. Le film souligne l’importance de créer des chaînes d’approvisionnement numériques, permettant une plus grande transparence pour les matières premières, les produits et les consommateurs tout au long du voyage d’un produit.

Cacaste est l’une des organisations présentées dans le film.

Ce producteur mexicain de beurre de cacao se situe à la première étape de la chaîne d’approvisionnement : l’approvisionnement et la transformation des matières premières. Au fil des ans, Cacaste a développé une relation de travail étroite avec un réseau de producteurs de Tabasco, ce qui a permis de renforcer la confiance et la traçabilité de la chaîne d’approvisionnement. Le lien entre l’homme et la terre est étroitement lié à la manière dont les chaînes d’approvisionnement se sont développées au fil des siècles. Plus éloignés que jamais, le consommateur final et le producteur peuvent à nouveau être connectés, grâce à l’utilisation d’identités numériques, comme le montre cette entreprise en pleine croissance qui fournit du cacao à des sociétés de produits de beauté des États-Unis à la Nouvelle-Zélande.

Enfin, la pandémie a aussi mis en évidence les vulnérabilités de la chaîne d’approvisionnement. La demande de produits a considérablement évolué au fil des ans et a souligné le manque d’agilité au sein des chaînes d’approvisionnement des marques. IHL Group estime que les stocks excédentaires et les ruptures de stock coûtent au secteur de la vente au détail 1 800 milliards de dollars par an en raison de la « distorsion des stocks mondiaux » : en d’autres termes, une mauvaise gestion des stocks qui a dépassé le PIB du Canada en 2020.  En créant un dialogue transparent entre ce qui est en magasin, ce qui est en réserve et ce qui est vendu en ligne, les marques peuvent faire correspondre avec précision l’offre et la demande. Le bon assortiment de produits peut être livré au bon moment et au bon endroit, ce qui minimise la surproduction et le gaspillage et permet de suivre l’évolution de la demande des consommateurs.

La nécessité d’une refonte de la chaîne d’approvisionnement

Le segment de la beauté et des soins personnels exige de l’intégrité dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement ainsi que de l’ agilité et de la visibilité. Même avant le COVID-19, les données d’Avery Dennison ont révélé que l’exactitude des stocks était un défi majeur pour l’industrie de la beauté, près de 50 % des détaillants présentant des distorsions d’inventaire.

Les détaillants de produits de beauté omnicanaux ont eu du mal à échanger des stocks physiques contre du numérique et à répondre à la demande numérique plus élevée qui s’est produite au cours des deux dernières années. On constate la même tendance dans un scénario post-pandémique lorsque les inventaires ne sont pas exacts. Ils continuent de lutter pour satisfaire l’appétit accru des acheteurs pour une disponibilité de produits omnicanale, transparente et instantanée.

AD Beauty Day 2 Shot 4 RT CMYK- Contenu sponsorisé - Info produits

Le manque de visibilité de bout en bout, au niveau des articles, et de transparence de la chaîne d’approvisionnement a mis la pression sur l’agilité, la sécurité et la durabilité. La pandémie et le boom de l’e-commerce qui s’en est suivi ont également provoqué un changement plus important dans le comportement des consommateurs, en particulier dans l’industrie de la beauté. En 2020, les données de McKinsey & Co. avaient montré une baisse de 55% et 75% des achats de cosmétiques et de parfums par rapport à l’année précédente. Cependant, la période post-Covid et les signes d’une nouvelle récession apportent de nouveaux changements et une nécessité de s’adapter de plus en plus vite aux nouvelles tendances tant au niveau des marques que des consommateurs.

Ce n’est un secret pour personne que la durabilité est également devenue primordiale pour les marques de beauté et de soins personnels, ainsi que pour les détaillants et surtout leurs clients. Le mouvement de la beauté propre a mis l’accent sur l’intégrité des ingrédients et sur les empreintes environnementales. Il est courant que les marques de beauté surproduisent des produits pour assurer une large sélection à tout moment. Cela conduit souvent à des excès indésirables – car les tendances changent rapidement et tous les stocks ne sont pas vendus à temps ou avant la date d’expiration. Les dépenses en énergie et en matières premières pour fabriquer, distribuer et souvent éliminer cet excédent peuvent être très élevées et ont également un coût pour la planète et la valeur de la marque.

Relier le monde physique au monde numérique

Les marques devront se montrer de plus en plus flexibles et faire face à une nécessité accrue de maximiser leurs processus. La technologie y jouera un rôle important.

Les technologies d’identification numérique, telles que la RFID ou la NFC, confèrent aux objets non numériques une identité numérique unique, ouvrant de vastes possibilités pour la gestion de la chaîne d’approvisionnement, le commerce et la communication. Cette identité numérique est créée lorsqu’un rouge à lèvres, une palette, ou quel que soit l’article fabriqué. L’identité voyage avec le produit du point de fabrication à l’usine, tout au long de la chaîne d’approvisionnement jusqu’au détaillant et au-delà. Il communique des informations sur la présence, l’authenticité, l’emplacement du produit individuel, ou même simplement pour se connecter avec les consommateurs.

Comment ça marche concrètement ? Prenons l’exemple de la technologie RFID.

La technologie d’identification par radiofréquence (RFID) d’ Avery Dennison permet le transfert sans fil ou sans contact d’une identification numérique et de données supplémentaires entre une étiquette RFID via des ondes électromagnétiques. Elle peut identifier, authentifier, suivre,détecter et interagir avec chaque objet de manière transparente. La RFID permet de lire les étiquettes sans ligne de mire à une distance de quelques centimètres à plus de 20 mètres, selon le type de système RFID. Des exemples typiques seraient la lecture de centaines de produits étiquetés à l’intérieur de boîtes sur une palette avec une porte de lecteur fixe montée derrière la porte d’un quai d’expédition. Ou faire glisser un lecteur portable sur les étagères et les étagères des magasins pour compter l’inventaire en quelques secondes. Ou en tapotantun smartphone sur un sac à main de luxe pour vérifier l’authenticité et s’inscrire à un programme de fidélité.

Augmenter les ventes tout en réduisant les stocks

À la suite d’un projet pilote réussi, la société brésilienne de cosmétiques, Grupo Boticàrio, a été la première à adopter la RFID dans l’industrie de la beauté au Brésil. La gestion de la chaîne d’approvisionnement est un défi pour toute entreprise de produits de beauté, un défi qui s’est avéré de plus en plus redoutable pour Grupo Boticàrio alors que l’entreprise connaissait une croissance à deux chiffres en Amérique latine et aux États-Unis. Les problèmes courants comprenaient une mauvaise visibilité des stocks, des ruptures de stock, une perte élevée de produits, un flux de produits lent et des données inexactes pour les planificateurs de la demande.

Elle a choisi cette technologie pour assurer une traçabilité de bout en bout sur sa chaîne d’approvisionnement de plus en plus complexe. Le système RFID a été appliqué pour améliorer cinq processus : la réception des expéditions, le réapprovisionnement des étagères, le comptage des stocks, le paiement et la planification de la demande.

Les employés des magasins ont tout de suite constaté des améliorations. Les expéditions reçues sont enregistrées plus rapidement et avec plus de précision. Les stocks sont classés dans la base de données du magasin en tant qu' »arrière du magasin » ou « avant du magasin », ce qui permet de voir facilement quand les étagères doivent être réapprovisionnées et de suivre les marchandises lorsqu’elles sont déplacées. Les alertes concernant les produits dont la date de péremption est imminente permettent au personnel du magasin d’accorder des remises sur ces articles et de les vendre avant qu’ils n’expirent, ce qui permet d’augmenter les recettes et de réduire le gaspillage. Aux caisses, les produits multiples sont comptabilisés ensemble, plutôt qu’article par article. Les stocks sont comptés beaucoup plus rapidement et avec une plus grande précision qu’avec l’ancien système de codes-barres. En conséquence, les planificateurs de la demande reçoivent de meilleures informations qui leur permettent de commander les bons produits pour le réapprovisionnement et de mieux prévoir les ventes.

En ajoutant une identité numérique à ses produits, Grupo Boticario a réduit les ruptures de stock jusqu’à 97 %, augmenté son identification des ruptures de stock cachées de plus de moitié et constaté une augmentation des revenus.

Ce sont des résultats impressionnants. N’est-il pas temps de voir comment une refonte de l’identité numérique pourrait transformer le fonctionnement de votre chaîne d’approvisionnement ?

AD Beauty Shot 8 RT CMYK small 1- Contenu sponsorisé - Info produits

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez visiter le site Web ou contacter Maryna Grytsenko-Nénon, Market Development Manager Europe, RFID Beauty & Personal Care chez Avery Dennison par e-mail à [email protected].

Ressources externes
Site internet

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter