site-industries-cosmetiques A cover of Industries Cosmétiques magazine
Discover all the innovations in perfumery and cosmetics.
Discover our special report: Save the People. Enjoy your direct access!
If you prefer the paper edition, please subscribe to our magazine
- advertising -

Lush launches the 5th edition of its international contest to support initiatives against animal testing

Scientists and activists from all over the world are invited to apply for the annual Lush Prize, which has already raised over 1 million euros in previous years to support actions against animal testing.

With a prize at stake of £250,000 (approx. €315,000), the Lush Prize, the fruit of collaboration between Lush and the Ethical Consumer Research association, is the world's largest fund rewarding actions taken to combat scientific testing on animals. 55 projects from 22 countries have already benefited from the support of this prize: animal protection organizations from all over the world, from Taiwan and Russia to Sweden with the Karolinska Institute and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) in France. Entries for the Lush Prize 2016 will open on Monday April 25, one day after World Laboratory Animal Day.

The Lush Prize is divided into 5 distinct categories: Science, Education, Young Researchers, Lobbying and Public Awareness - all working to find alternatives to end scientific testing on animals, but also to raise awareness of this global issue.
Last year, a sixth category, the Black Box Prize, was introduced to reward pioneering work in mapping "human chains of toxicity". Thanks to their research buy priligyFor the first time ever, these scientists have shed light at the molecular level on the toxicity of a chemical when absorbed by cells, and the resulting reactions in the human body. The winners of the Black Box Prize exceptionally received the full £250,000 (€315,000) initially up for grabs. Lush then decided to add a further £200,000 (€251,000) for the winners of the other categories, bringing the overall Prize to £450,000 (approx. €637,456) for this unique 4th edition. The latest edition also rewarded 19 young researchers from 9 countries. Each received £10,000 (€12,500) to encourage them to continue their research work in this field. This year, the judges are particularly keen to reach young researchers from Asia and America, where there is a real lack of support for projects against animal testing.

External resources

Sponsored content

site-industries-cosmetiques A vibrant advertisement for Croda Beauty featuring a close-up of orange flowers with a blurred background effect and the text "Croda Beauty, intelligent science to improve life" now includes Phytess.

Phytessence™ Osmanthus, the first geo-skincare botanical extract by Croda Beauty

Discover how this innovative natural ingredient helps the skin to better face climate change, particularly the harmful effects of sun rays and heat.
site-industries-cosmetiques A concentrated individual in a lab coat examining a small jar containing a pink substance, a pioneering cosmetic innovation using natural ingredients in Brittany.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline - the longest in the country.

Related articles

Our last issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

en_USEnglish

Lush lance la 5e édition de son concours international pour soutenir les initiatives contre les tests sur les animaux

Lush prize
Scientifiques et militants du monde entier sont invités à soumettre leur candidature au Lush Prize, un prix annuel qui a déjà permis l’attribution de plus d’1 million d’euros lors des précédentes éditions pour supporter les actions mises en place pour combattre les tests sur les animaux.

Avec une récompense en jeu de £250,000 (environ 315 000€) le Lush Prize, fruit de la collaboration entre Lush et l’association Ethical Consumer Research, est le plus grand fonds mondial récompensant les actions mises en place pour combattre les tests scientifiques sur les animaux. 55 projets de 22 pays ont d’ores et déjà profité du soutien de ce prix : des organisations de protection animales du monde entier, en provenance de Taïwan, de Russie mais également de Suède avec l’Institut Karolinska ou encore l’Organisation de Coopération et de Développement Économiques (OCDE) en France. L’ouverture des candidatures pour le Lush Prize 2016 se fera le lundi 25 avril prochain, un jour après la Journée Mondiale des animaux de laboratoires.

Le Lush Prize se partage en 5 catégories distinctes: Science, formation, jeunes chercheurs, lobbying et sensibilisation du grand public – toutes œuvrant dans le but de trouver des alternatives pour mettre un terme aux tests scientifiques sur les animaux, mais également d’éveiller les consciences par rapport à ce sujet à la résonance mondiale.
L’an passé, une sixième catégorie nommée Black Box Prize s’est ouverte pour récompenser les travaux précurseurs de cartographie des « chaînes de toxicité humaines ». Grâce à leurs recherches acheter priligy, ces scientifiques ont mis pour la toute première fois en lumière au niveau moléculaire la toxicité d’un produit chimique lors de son absorption par les cellules et les réactions qui en résultent dans le corps humain. Les gagnants du Black Box Prize ont reçu exceptionnellement l’intégralité des £250,000 (315 000€) mis en jeu initialement. Lush a alors décidé d’ajouter £200,000 (251 000€) supplémentaires pour les gagnants des autres catégories, amenant le Prix global à £450,000 (environ 637 456€) pour cette 4e édition unique. La dernière édition a également récompensé 19 jeunes chercheurs de 9 pays. Chacun a reçu £10,000 (12 500€) pour les encourager à continuer leur travail de recherche dans ce domaine. Cette année, les juges souhaitent tout particulièrement toucher des jeunes chercheurs venant d’Asie et d’Amérique où le manque de soutien aux projets contre les tests sur les animaux est réel.

X