19.7 C
Paris
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
- publicity -

Menopause: taking into account the hormonal evolution of women for cosmetics

Anne Charpentier, founder of Skinobs, a company that publishes technical platforms dedicated to in vitro and ex-vivotests, sheds light on clinical evaluations of signs of aging correlated with hormonal changes, and menopause in particular.

How to clinically evaluate the modification of the skin caused by hormonal changes related to menopause?

Intrinsic skin aging correlated with hormonal deficiency, especially related to menopause, is similar to age-related aging. Its main manifestations are progressive, with great interindividual variation. These skin changes that appear, sign the hormone dependence of the skin and can lead to a decrease in self-esteem and well-being. Extrinsic aging, due to environmental factors often called exposome – sun, tobacco, alcohol, pollution, food, sleep, stress – accounts for about 70% of aging. It alters genetic capital, but it is reversible. SkinObs summarizes the different evaluation options.

The signs of skin aging due to menopause can be categorized as follows:

  • Color and pigmentation of the skin: redness, radiance, senescence spots, homogeneity and radiance of the complexion,
  • Skin topography: crow's feet, furrows, roughness,
  • Hydration and NMF (Natural factors of hydration): epidermis, dermis
  • Skin structure: density, thickness, epidermal junction, barrier function,
  • Volume: Loosening of the face, oval of the face, pockets, eyelids,
  • Biomechanical properties: firmness, tonicity, elasticity, collagen, etc.

Studies on the perception of hormonal skin aging show that the category of skin care for postmenopausal skin is similar to that of care related to aging factors, including intrinsic hormonal changes. In addition to the geographical variations in their regulatory status according to each country, their performance generally announces several effects related to various cellular and biochemical mechanisms (microbiota, keratinocytes, fibroblasts, melanocytes, nerve receptors...)

  • Targeted on mechanisms of action: Hydration, skin relief, collagen, cellular communication, dermo-epidermal junction...
  • Localized: wrinkles, oval face, neck, hands ...,
  • Focused on different skin depths: epidermis, dermo-epidermal junction, dermis

Beyond a classic efficiency on the surface and structure of the skin, the care dedicated to menopausal skin provides improvements in emotional, well-being and sensoriality... The skin signs of aging continue to be studied with great precision, to provide tangible evidence of the performance of the product. The promise is usually a recovery of the elasticity of the tissues, volumes and shape of the face. The table below summarizes the various associated claims.

SKINOBS skin composition - Software - Product info

How to objectively "pro-aging" care for skin affected by hormonal changes related to menopause?

If we integrate the notion of "well-being" into the proposed care, the term "Pro-age" or "plain-age" seems more appropriate than that of "anti-aging", because it takes more account of the state of the skin as a whole. Many pro-aging performance analysis solutions are available to cosmetic brands to clinically demonstrate the effects of their products via biometrological and scientific measurements.

The identification of the properties of these "pro-age" products is based on a sensory, sometimes sensorineural and holistic approach. Feelings and impacts on quality of life are measured. 5 main categories of tests are available to investigators: consumer tests, sensory or emotional analyses, biometrological studies, clinical scores.

SkinObs has listed in the table below the devices to validate the performance of care products to combat hormonal changes caused by menopause, via quantitative, semi-quantitative or imaging objectification. The protocol can be multiparametric, depending on the effects to be studied.

SKINOBS Table of evaluation solutions claim aging changes - Software - Product info

We recall that it is essential to take the time, with the testing laboratories, to design each protocol and to define precisely, the inclusion criteria, the kinetics of the time measurements, the conditions of treatment, the most suitable instrumental method.

Prospects for the development of evaluation processes

Imaging of the skin, from the centimeter to the nanoscale is increasingly crucial. It makes it possible to measure with great precision the different elements and structure of the skin: water, lipids, dermo-epidermal junction, extracellular matrix, fibers etc.

These various high-tech biometrological measures lead to linking technology to new digital uses of personalization, from the shop to the bathroom. This connection between objectification and the digital way of choosing and buying can bring geneticists closer to the reality of marketing. Whether for aging, radiance, biomechanical properties or hydration, the different techniques provide a higher resolution, a wider measurement area, non-invasive, non-contact and direct methods. Algorithms and statistics will be the key factors for the success of these new technologies.

External resources

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

X

Ménopause : prise en compte de l’évolution hormonale des femmes pour la cosmétique

Anne Charpentier, fondatrice de Skinobs, société qui édite des plateformes techniques dédiées aux tests in vitro et ex-vivo, apporte son éclairage sur les évaluations cliniques des signes de vieillissement corrélés aux changements hormonaux, et à la ménopause en particulier.

Comment évaluer cliniquement la modification de la peau causée par les changements hormonaux liés à la ménopause ?

Le vieillissement cutané intrinsèque corrélé à la carence hormonale, notamment liée à la ménopause, s’apparente au vieillissement lié à l’âge. Ses principales manifestations sont progressives, avec une grande variation interindividuelle. Ces changements cutanés qui apparaissent, signent l’hormono-dépendance de la peau et peuvent entraîner une diminution de l’estime de soi et du bien-être. Le vieillissement extrinsèque quant à lui, dû à des facteurs environnementaux souvent appelés exposome – soleil, tabac, alcool, pollution, alimentation, sommeil, stress – représente environ 70 % du vieillissement. Il modifie le capital génétique, mais il est réversible. SkinObs résume les différentes options d’évaluation.

On peut catégoriser les signes du vieillissement cutané dus à la ménopause ainsi :

  • Couleur et pigmentation de la peau : rougeurs, éclat, taches de sénescence, homogénéité et éclat du teint,
  • Topographie cutanée : pattes d’oie, sillons, rugosité,
  • Hydratation et NMF (Facteurs naturels d’hydratation): épiderme, derme
  • Structure de la peau : densité, épaisseur, jonction épidermique, fonction barrière,
  • Volume : Relâchement du visage, ovale du visage, poches, paupières,
  • Propriétés biomécaniques : fermeté, tonicité, élasticité, collagène, etc.

Les études sur la perception du vieillissement hormonal cutané montrent que la catégorie des soins de la peau pour les peaux ménopausées s’apparente à celle des soins liés aux facteurs de vieillissement, incluant les changements hormonaux intrinsèques. Outre les variations géographiques de leur statut réglementaire selon chaque pays, leurs performances annoncent généralement plusieurs effets reliés à divers mécanismes cellulaires et biochimiques (microbiote, kératinocytes, fibroblastes, mélanocytes, récepteurs nerveux…)

  • Ciblés sur des mécanismes d’action : Hydratation, relief cutané, collagène, communication cellulaire, jonction dermo-épidermique… 
  • Localisés : rides, ovale du visage, du cou, des mains…,
  • Focalisés sur différentes profondeurs cutanées : épiderme, jonction dermo-épidermique, derme

Au-delà d’une efficacité classique sur la surface et la structure de la peau, les soins dédiés aux peaux ménopausées procurent des améliorations aux plans émotionnel, de bien-être et de sensorialité… Les signes cutanés du vieillissement continuent d’être étudiés avec une grande précision, pour apporter une preuve tangible des performances du produit. La promesse est généralement une récupération de l’élasticité des tissus, des volumes et de la forme du visage. Le tableau ci-dessous résume les différentes revendications associées.

SKINOBS composition de la peau- Logiciels - Info produits

Comment objectiver les soins « pro-âge » pour les peaux concernées par les changements hormonaux liés à la ménopause ?

Si on intègre la notion de « bien-être » dans les soins proposés, le terme « Pro-age » ou « plain-age » semble plus adapté que celui d’ « anti-âge », parce qu’il tient davantage compte de l’état de la peau dans sa globalité. De nombreuses solutions d’analyse des performances pro-âge sont à la disposition des marques de cosmétiques pour démontrer cliniquement les effets de leurs produits via des mesures biométrologiques et scientifiques.

L’identification des propriétés de ces produits « pro-age » s’appuie sur une approche sensorielle, parfois neurosensorielle et holistique. Le ressenti et les impacts sur la qualité de vie sont mesurés. 5 grandes catégories de tests s’offrent aux investigateurs : tests consommateurs, analyses sensorielles ou émotionnelles, études biométrologiques, scores cliniques.

SkinObs a répertorié dans le tableau ci-après les dispositifs permettant de valider les performances des produits de soins pour lutter contre les changements hormonaux causés par la ménopause, via une objectivation quantitative, semi-quantitative ou d’imagerie. Le protocole peut être multiparamétrique, suivant les effets à étudier.

SKINOBS Tableau des solutions dévaluation allégation vieillissement changements- Logiciels - Info produits

Nous rappelons qu’il est essentiel de prendre le temps, avec les laboratoires de tests, de concevoir chaque protocole et de définir précisément, les critères d’inclusion, la cinétique des mesures de temps, les conditions de traitement, la méthode instrumentale la plus adaptée.

Perspectives d’évolution des processus d’évaluation

L’imagerie de la peau, du centimètre à l’échelle nanométrique est de plus en plus cruciale. Elle permet de mesurer avec une grande précision les différents éléments et structure de la peau : eau, lipides, jonction dermo-épidermique, matrice extracellulaire, fibres etc. 

Ces différentes mesures biométrologiques de haute technicité conduisent à relier la technologie aux nouveaux usages numériques de personnalisation, de la boutique à la salle de bains. Cette connexion entre l’objectivation et la manière numérique de choisir et d’acheter peut rapprocher les cosméticiennes de la réalité du marketing. Que ce soit pour le vieillissement, l’éclat, les propriétés biomécaniques ou l’hydratation, les différentes techniques apportent une résolution plus élevée, une zone de mesure plus large, des méthodes non invasives, sans contact et directes. Les algorithmes et les statistiques seront les facteurs clés de succès de ces nouvelles technologies.