site-industries-cosmetiques A cover of Industries Cosmétiques magazine
Discover all the innovations in perfumery and cosmetics.
Discover our special report: Save the People. Enjoy your direct access!
If you prefer the paper edition, please subscribe to our magazine
- advertising -

Naturex at Cosmetagora 2018

Eliorelys combats the damage caused by blue light

Eliorelys, a cherry blossom-based active ingredient used in skincare and from Naturex's Eutectys™ range, offers effective protection against the damage caused by blue light emitted by cell phones, tablets and computers, according to the results of a new study conducted by the group.
In a comet assay, researchers found that human keratinocytes incubated with Eliorelys displayed a significant reduction in DNA damage (up to 75 %) compared with cells that had undergone no treatment. The results indicate that Eliorelys™ exerts a protective effect against DNA damage caused by blue light. The full results of this study will be unveiled at the Cosmetagora trade show in Paris (Espace Champerret, January 9-10, 2018).
It has long been recognized that exposure to UV rays contributes to skin damage, premature aging and carcinogenesis. Until recently, however, no one had considered artificial blue light to be potentially harmful. But recent studies, confirmed by Naturex's own study, have concluded that blue light can actually cause damage to cultured human keratinocytes and skin, leading to levels of skin aging similar to those caused by UVA rays. On average, we spend five hours a day in front of a screen, and 90 % of 20-65 year-olds use electronic devices every day. This means that blue light could cause widespread skin damage.
Eliorelys is extracted from cherry blossoms using an exclusive patented process based on Natural Deep Eutectic Solvent (NaDES) technology. For targeted application to the skin, this extract features a superior phytochemical profile offering protection against cellular damage caused by UV and blue light.

Fortify strengthens the Beautyfood range

At Cosmetagora, Naturex will also present Fortify - the fourth and final instalment in its Beautyfood collection of skincare products, formulated with ingredients derived from plants in the food chain. The new range includes five nutrient-rich ingredients inspired by beverages and foods: ginseng, oats, bamboo, nettle and ginger. All these ingredients are renowned for their regenerating and stimulating powers.
The ingredients in the Fortify range are sourced in accordance with Naturex's leading-edge requirements in terms of traceability and transparency. Fortify ginseng, for example, is grown on small to medium-sized farms in north-eastern China, using farming practices that make a point of preserving nature and the environment.
Working with Naturex, local ginseng growers have set up an environmental program that encourages biodiversity. Growers use manual weeding to minimize pesticide use, and plant trees to offset carbon dioxide emissions.

The "wow" effect of the Naturex offer

Stéphanie Puel, Director of the Personal Care Division at Naturex, explains: "Our approach at Cosmetagora will be to unveil nature's beauty secrets and showcase some of the most exciting natural active ingredients on the market today. Consumers love to be inspired by innovative beauty products offering real benefits. With this in mind, Eliorelys and the new Fortify range offer high performance and bring the "wow" effect that will surprise the end consumer."

External resources

Sponsored content

site-industries-cosmetiques A vibrant advertisement for Croda Beauty featuring a close-up of orange flowers with a blurred background effect and the text "Croda Beauty, intelligent science to improve life" now includes Phytess.

Phytessence™ Osmanthus, the first geo-skincare botanical extract by Croda Beauty

Discover how this innovative natural ingredient helps the skin to better face climate change, particularly the harmful effects of sun rays and heat.
site-industries-cosmetiques A concentrated individual in a lab coat examining a small jar containing a pink substance, a pioneering cosmetic innovation using natural ingredients in Brittany.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline - the longest in the country.

Related articles

Our last issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

en_USEnglish

Naturex à Cosmetagora 2018

Eliorelys combat les dommages causés par la lumière bleue

Eliorelys, un actif à base de fleurs de cerisier utilisé en skincare et issu de la gamme Eutectys™ de Naturex, offre une protection efficace contre les dommages causés par la lumière bleue émise par les téléphones portables, les tablettes et les ordinateurs, d’après les résultats d’une nouvelle étude menée par le groupe.
Dans le cadre d’un test des comètes, des chercheurs ont découvert que des kératinocytes humains incubés avec Eliorelys affichaient une diminution significative des dommages sur l’ADN (jusqu’à 75 %) par rapport aux cellules n’ayant subi aucun traitement. Les résultats indiquent qu’Eliorelys™ exerce un effet de protection contre les lésions sur l’ADN causés par la lumière bleue. Les résultats complets de cette étude seront dévoilés lors du salon Cosmetagora à Paris (Espace Champerret, 9-10 janvier 2018).
Il est depuis longtemps admis que l’exposition aux rayons UV contribue aux dommages cutanés, au vieillissement prématuré et à la carcinogénèse. Toutefois, jusqu’à récemment, personne n’avait considéré la lumière bleue artificielle comme potentiellement nocive. Mais des études récentes, confirmées par la propre étude de Naturex, ont conclu que la lumière bleue pouvait en réalité provoquer des dommages sur des kératinocytes humains en culture et sur la peau, provoquant des niveaux de vieillissement de la peau similaires à ceux provoqués par des rayons UVA. En moyenne, nous passons cinq heures par jour devant un écran, et 90 % des 20-65 ans utilisent des appareils électroniques chaque jour. Cela signifie que la lumière bleue pourrait provoquer des dommages sur la peau à grande échelle.
Eliorelys est extrait des fleurs de cerisier au moyen d’un processus exclusif breveté basé sur la technologie des Solvants Eutectiques Profonds Naturels (NaDES). Dans le cadre d’une application ciblée sur la peau, cet extrait présente un profil phytochimique supérieur offrant une protection contre les dommages cellulaires causé par les UV et la lumière bleue.

Fortify vient renforcer la gamme Beautyfood

À l’occasion du salon Cosmetagora, Naturex présentera également Fortify – le quatrième et dernier volet de sa collection Beautyfood, une collection de produits skincare, formulés à base d’ingrédients dérivés de plantes de la chaîne alimentaire. La nouvelle gamme comprend cinq ingrédients riches en nutriments et inspirés par des boissons et des aliments : le ginseng, l’avoine, le bambou, l’ortie et le gingembre. Tous ces ingrédients sont réputés pour leur pouvoir régénérant et stimulant.
Les ingrédients de la gamme Fortify sont sourcés conformément aux exigences de pointe de Naturex en termes de traçabilité et de transparence. Le ginseng Fortify, par exemple, est cultivé dans des fermes de taille petite à moyenne dans le nord-est de la Chine, en utilisant des pratiques agricoles mettant un point d’honneur à préserver la nature et l’environnement.
En travaillant avec Naturex, les producteurs de ginseng de la région ont mis en place un programme environnemental, qui encourage la biodiversité. Les cultivateurs mettent en place un désherbage manuel pour minimiser l’utilisation de pesticides et plantent des arbres pour compenser les émissions de gaz carbonique.

L’effet « wow » de l’offre Naturex

Stéphanie Puel, Directrice de la division Personal Care chez Naturex, explique : « Notre approche lors de Cosmetagora sera de dévoiler les secrets beauté de la nature et de présenter certains des actifs naturels les plus intéressants sur le marché aujourd’hui. Les consommateurs adorent être inspirés par des produits de beauté innovants offrant des avantages réels. Dans cette optique, Eliorelys et la nouvelle gamme Fortify offrent une haute performance et apportent l’effet « wow » qui surprendra le consommateur final »

make up paris 2018
X