27.5 C
Paris
Tuesday August 16th, 2022
- publicity -

Responsible cosmetics: when industry giants lead the way with Cradle to Cradle Certified

Publicity

YSL Beauté's new hybrid range of "Nu" makeup and skincare has just received Cradle to Cradle Silver certification. This is the first time that a range of beauty products manufactured in France has received this very demanding certification. The Calvin Klein CK Everyone eau de parfum, from Coty, follows suit and has just been certified Cradle to Cradle Gold. The circular economy is sweeping through our bathrooms and this is a fundamental trend.

Today, consumers demand much more: transparency on the origin of ingredients, respect for harvesters, reduction of the impact on the environment, a recycling program, eco-designed packaging... More than an awareness, a real philosophy now advocated by the major brands who multiply the commitments to develop sustainable products in order to limit their impact on the environment, from design to manufacturing, until their end of life. But how can we accelerate the deployment of sustainable products throughout the beauty and cosmetics sector? The Cradle to Cradle Products Innovation Institute takes stock of good practices for the well-being of the skin and the planet.

Objective: circular economy

The way companies design and manufacture products today has a direct impact on tomorrow's world. The beauty sector is therefore also confronted with environmental challenges to sustain its activities, meet the aspirations of customers, and innovate in a context of ethical exemplarity.

The AGEC law, set up to defend a rapid and significant ecological transition, enhances the saving of resources, raw materials, energy, water, the limitation of waste and its reuse. It includes 130 articles, 29 of which are directly related to the "hygiene and beauty" sector, including cosmetics.

The law provides for the disappearance of single-use plastic packaging by 2040 and 100% of recycled plastic packaging by 2025. This requires the cosmetics sector to respect 3 orders: reuse, reuse, recycle. It also prohibits the destruction of unsold goods and obliges its management. With these measures, the Federation of Beauty Companies (FEBEA) forecasts a saving of 8,500 tons of plastics in 2025.

In this context, ecodesign and reuse work on packaging is accelerating, and waste management is improving to promote more responsible consumption. The circular economy appears as one of the solutions to meet these constraints and reduce the plastic footprint.

Cradle to Cradle Products Innovation Institut: a holistic approach

Different brands are already engaged in circular economy approaches but often, they are reduced to the sole issue of waste or a single attribute of the circular economy, forgetting the essential issues. To anchor an economic model in a sustainable sobriety approach, complete solutions exist such as the Cradle to Cradle Products Innovation Institute.

Publicity
External resources
Site internet

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

We offer you our summer number! Freely access the digital version of Industries CosmétiquesI read !
+
X

20.5 C
Paris
mardi 9 août 2022
- publicité -

Cosmétique responsable : quand les géants de l’industrie ouvrent la voie avec Cradle to Cradle Certified

Publicité

La nouvelle gamme hybride de maquillage et de soins « Nu » d’YSL Beauté vient de recevoir la certification Cradle to Cradle Argent. C’est la première fois qu’une gamme de produits de beauté fabriquée en France reçoit cette certification très exigeante. L’eau de parfum Calvin Klein CK Everyone, de chez Coty, lui emboite le pas et vient quant à elle d’être certifiée Cradle to Cradle Or. L’économie circulaire déferle dans nos salles de bains et il s’agit d’une tendance de fond.

Aujourd’hui, les consommateurs exigent beaucoup plus : de la transparence sur l’origine des ingrédients, le respect des récoltants, la réduction de l’impact sur l’environnement, un programme de recyclage, des packagings éco-conçus… Plus qu’une prise de conscience, une réelle philosophie désormais prônée par les grandes marques qui multiplient les engagements pour développer des produits durables de manière à limiter leur impact sur l’environnement, de la conception à la fabrication, jusqu’à leur fin de vie. Mais comment accélérer le déploiement de produits durables dans toute la filière beauté et cosmétique ? Le Cradle to Cradle Products Innovation Institut fait le point sur les bonnes pratiques pour le bien-être de la peau et celui de la planète.

Objectif : économie circulaire

La façon dont les entreprises conçoivent et fabriquent les produits aujourd’hui a un impact direct sur le monde de demain. Le secteur de la beauté est donc lui aussi confronté à des enjeux environnementaux pour pérenniser ses activités, répondre aux aspirations des clients, et innover dans un contexte d’exemplarité éthique.

La loi AGEC, mise en place pour défendre une transition écologique rapide et significative, valorise l’économie des ressources, des matières premières, de l’énergie, de l’eau, la limitation des déchets et de leur réutilisation. Elle regroupe 130 articles dont 29 sont directement liés au secteur « hygiène et beauté », dont les cosmétiques.

La loi prévoit la disparition des emballages en plastique à usage unique d’ici 2040 et 100% des emballages plastiques recyclés d’ici 2025. Cela impose pour le secteur cosmétique de respecter 3 ordres : réemployer, réutiliser, recycler. Elle interdit également la destruction des invendus et oblige à sa gestion. Avec ces mesures, la Fédération des Entreprises de la Beauté (FEBEA) prévoit une économie de 8 500 tonnes de plastiques en 2025.

Dans ce cadre, les travaux d’écoconception et de réemploi des emballages s’accélèrent, et la gestion des déchets s’améliore pour promouvoir une consommation plus responsable. L’économie circulaire apparait comme l’une des solutions pour répondre à ces contraintes et réduire l’empreinte plastique.

Cradle to Cradle Products Innovation Institut : une démarche holistique

Différentes marques sont déjà engagées dans des démarches d’économie circulaire mais souvent, elles sont réduites à la seule question des déchets ou à un seul attribut de l’économie circulaire, oubliant les enjeux essentiels. Pour ancrer un modèle économique dans une démarche de sobriété durable, des solutions complètes existent comme le Cradle to Cradle Products Innovation Institut.

Publicité
Ressources externes
Site internet

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

Nous vous offrons notre numéro d'été ! Accédez librement à la version numérique d'Industries CosmétiquesJe lis !
+
X