4.3 C
Paris
Tuesday December 6th, 2022
- publicity -

Eastman plans to invest in plastics recycling plant in France

On January 19, Emmanuel Macron and Mark Costa, Chairman and CEO of Eastman, announced Eastman's intention to invest up to $1 billion in a molecular recycling plant for polyesters from household packaging and textile waste. The facility will use Eastman's polyester renewal technology to recycle up to 160,000 tons per year of hard-to-recycle plastic waste that is currently incinerated.

This investment would recycle enough plastic waste each year – materials are usually incinerated because they cannot be mechanically recycled or need to be decommissioned with existing technology – to fill the Stade de France 2.5 times.

According to Eastman, polyester renewal technology makes it possible to harness the potentially infinite value of materials by keeping them in production, life cycle after life cycle. Thanks to the inherent efficiencies of technology and renewable energy sources available in France, materials can be produced with greenhouse gas emissions up to 80% lower than traditional methods.

Eastman is, this year, the largest investor in the "Choose France" event, which aims to attract foreign investment to France.

This multi-phase project includes units that would prepare mixed plastic waste for processing, a methanololysis unit to depolymerize waste, and polymer lines to create a variety of premium materials for specialized, packaging and textile applications. Eastman, a global producer of specialty materials, also plans to create an innovation center for molecular recycling that would allow France to maintain a leading role in the circular economy. This innovation center would advance alternative recycling methods and applications to limit the incineration of plastic waste and leave fossil raw materials in the ground. The plant and innovation centre are expected to be operational by 2025, creating 350 jobs and resulting in an additional 1,500 indirect jobs in recycling, energy and infrastructure.

Eastman's project has also received support from global brands that share its commitment to solving the problem of plastic waste and see molecular recycling as an essential tool to achieve a circular economy. LVMH Beauty, The Estée Lauder Companies, Clarins, Procter & Gamble, L'Oréal and Danone have led the way by signing letters of intent for multi-year supply agreements from this facility.

"France (...) is giving itself the means to achieve its ambitious plastics recycling targets set for 2025. We are very excited to welcome a company that has a 100-year history of global innovation and more than 30 years of experience in molecular recycling,"said Barbara Pompili, Minister of Ecological Transition.

"Eastman's world-class project will enable France to position itself as a European leader in new technologies for the recycling and recovery of plastic waste. This investment is the result of the ambitious approach of industrial reconquest led by the government since 2017, which has allowed France to become in 2018 the most attractive country in Europe for industrial projects,added Agnès Pannier-Runacher, Minister Delegate for Industry. With this project, which is an important step for our sovereignty, we are giving ourselves the means to achieve our ambitions in terms of ecological transition while creating sustainable jobs in the manufacturing, infrastructure and energy sectors. We look forward to developing this relationship with Eastman. »

"The project to build the world's largest plastic recycling facility in France is an important part of our overall circular economy strategy,"costa said.

Publicity
External resources
eastman.com

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

Charles River offers new articles and a webinar on his dedicated page!I am looking that up !

20.2 C
Paris
mercredi 25 mai 2022
- publicité -

Eastman prévoit investir dans une usine de recyclage de plastiques en France

Le 19 janvier, Emmanuel Macron et Mark Costa, président du conseil d’administration et PDG d’Eastman, ont annoncé le souhait d’Eastman d’investir jusqu’à 1 milliard de dollars dans une usine de recyclage moléculaire de polyesters issus d’emballages ménagers et de déchets textiles. Cette installation utilisera la technologie de renouvellement du polyester d’Eastman pour recycler jusqu’à 160 000 tonnes par an de déchets plastiques difficiles à recycler qui sont actuellement incinérés.

Cet investissement permettrait de recycler chaque année suffisamment de déchets plastiques – des matériaux sont généralement incinérés parce qu’ils ne peuvent pas être recyclés mécaniquement ou qu’ils doivent être déclassés avec la technologie existante – pour remplir 2,5 fois le Stade de France.

Selon Eastman, la technologie de renouvellement du polyester permet d’exploiter la valeur potentiellement infinie des matériaux en les maintenant en production, cycle de vie après cycle de vie. Grâce aux rendements inhérents à la technologie et aux sources d’énergie renouvelables disponibles en France, les matériaux peuvent être produits avec des émissions de gaz à effet de serre jusqu’à 80 % inférieures à celles des méthodes traditionnelles.

Eastman est, cette année, le plus gros investisseur de l’événement « Choose France » qui vise à attirer les investissements étrangers en France.

Ce projet en plusieurs phases comprend des unités qui prépareraient les déchets plastiques mixtes pour le traitement, une unité de méthanolyse pour dépolymériser les déchets, et des lignes de polymères pour créer une variété de matériaux de première qualité pour des applications spécialisées, d’emballage et de textile. Eastman, producteur mondial de matériaux de spécialité, prévoit également de créer un centre d’innovation pour le recyclage moléculaire qui permettrait à la France de maintenir un rôle de leader dans l’économie circulaire. Ce centre d’innovation ferait progresser les méthodes et applications de recyclage alternatives afin de limiter l’incinération des déchets plastiques et de laisser les matières premières fossiles dans le sol. L’usine et le centre d’innovation devraient être opérationnels d’ici 2025, créant 350 emplois et entraînant 1 500 emplois indirects supplémentaires dans le recyclage, l’énergie et les infrastructures.

Le projet d’Eastman a également reçu le soutien de marques mondiales qui partagent son engagement à résoudre le problème des déchets plastiques et considèrent le recyclage moléculaire comme un outil essentiel pour parvenir à une économie circulaire. LVMH Beauty, The Estée Lauder Companies, Clarins, Procter & Gamble, L’Oréal et Danone ont ouvert la voie en signant des lettres d’intention pour des accords d’approvisionnement pluriannuels à partir de cette installation. 

« La France (…) se donne les moyens d’atteindre ses objectifs ambitieux de recyclage des plastiques fixés pour 2025. Nous sommes très enthousiastes à l’idée d’accueillir une entreprise qui a 100 ans d’histoire d’innovation à l’échelle mondiale et plus de 30 ans d’expérience dans le recyclage moléculaire », a déclaré Barbara Pompili, ministre de la transition écologique.

« Le projet d’envergure mondiale d’Eastman va permettre à la France de se positionner comme un leader européen des nouvelles technologies de recyclage et de valorisation des déchets plastiques. Cet investissement est le résultat de la démarche ambitieuse de reconquête industrielle menée par le gouvernement depuis 2017, qui a permis à la France de devenir dès 2018 le pays le plus attractif d’Europe pour les projets industriels, a ajouté Agnès Pannier-Runacher, ministre déléguée à l’industrie. Avec ce projet, qui constitue une étape importante pour notre souveraineté, nous nous donnons les moyens de réaliser nos ambitions en matière de transition écologique tout en créant des emplois durables dans les secteurs de la fabrication, des infrastructures et de l’énergie. Nous sommes impatients de développer cette relation avec Eastman. »

« Le projet de construction de la plus grande installation de recyclage de plastiques au monde en France est un élément important de notre stratégie globale d’économie circulaire », a pour sa part souligné Mark Costa.

Ressources externes
eastman.com

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

X