18.1 C
Paris
Friday, July 1, 2022
- publicity -

An innovative collaboration for microplastics research

Publicity

The Quadpack Foundation collaborates with an academy to support the development of solutions addressing plastic pollution.

Quadpack Foundation, the charitable arm of international cosmetics and perfumery packaging manufacturer and supplier Quadpack, has partnered with UAB Research Park, the non-profit organization co-created by the Autonomous University of Barcelona, to support scientific research on microplastics and their effects on people and the environment. The foundation sponsored the 12th edition of Generació d'Idees (Generation of Ideas), an initiative that aims to encourage the entrepreneurial spirit and culture of innovation among researchers and doctoral students by putting them in touch with current industry challenges.

Between September and December 2021, multidisciplinary research groups participated in co-creation sessions and received entrepreneurship training, mentoring coaching and prototyping support. Then, the program held a competition in which participants presented their project to a jury made up of academics, industry experts and members of the general public.

The award for the best innovative idea went to MP Food Watching, a solution that uses hyperspectral imaging technology to detect and better visualize the presence of microplastics in food. Presented as a cost-effective and fast solution for the food chain, the project won €1,000 to launch a crowdfunding campaign, mentoring coaching, support for dissemination on social networks and six months of incubation at UAB Open Labs, the university's open innovation network.

Qu4tre, a group of researchers involving Quadpack engineers Roger Oller and Mariola Rodríguez, won the people's choice award with the Omnibox project, a reusable container for municipal markets, including a logistics plan for distribution, take-back and cleaning to offer a zero-waste solution. The group received a six-month incubation and support for social media outreach.

"We are aware of the responsibility we carry as an industry and want to be part of the solution. By connecting with researchers and sharing the challenges we face, we can move forward together towards a healthier world and make a positive impact on future generations," says Marta Gil, Quadpack Foundation Manager.

Microplastics are fragments smaller than 5 mm from the rupture of larger plastic parts or that are made of microspheres for hygiene and cleaning products. The many applications of plastic in industry, combined with poor waste management, have increased microplastic pollution exponentially. It is currently considered a major environmental problem that affects ocean life, terrestrial wildlife and human health.

Photo: From left to right, Quadpack CFO Bardo Bevelander, Quadpack engineers Mariola Rodríguez and Roger Oller, and Quadpack Foundation Manager Marta Gil.

External resources
quadpack.com

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

We offer you our summer number! Freely access the digital version of Industries CosmétiquesI read !
+
X

20.2 C
Paris
mercredi 25 mai 2022
- publicité -

Une collaboration innovante pour la recherche en microplastiques

La Quadpack Foundation collabore avec une académie pour soutenir le développement de solutions abordant la pollution par le plastique.

Quadpack Foundation, la branche caritative du fabricant et fournisseur international de packaging de cosmétiques et parfumerie Quadpack, s’est associée à UAB Research Park, l’organisation à but non lucratif co-créée par l’Université autonome de Barcelone, pour soutenir la recherche scientifique sur les microplastiques et leurs effets sur les personnes et l’environnement. La fondation a parrainé la 12e édition de Generació d’Idees (Génération d’idées), une initiative qui vise à encourager l’esprit entrepreneur et la culture de l’innovation parmi les chercheurs et les étudiants en doctorat en les mettant en contact avec les défis actuels des industries.

Entre septembre et décembre 2021, des groupes de recherche multidisciplinaires ont participé à des sessions de co-création et ont reçu des formations d’entrepreneuriat, un encadrement de mentorat et un soutien en matière de prototypage. Ensuite, le programme a organisé un concours au cours duquel les participants ont présenté leur projet à un jury composé d’académiciens, d’experts de l’industrie et de personnes du grand public.

Le prix remis à la meilleure idée innovante a été accordé à MP Food Watching, une solution qui recourt à la technologie d’imagerie hyperspectrale pour détecter et mieux visualiser la présence de microplastiques dans l’alimentation. Présenté comme une solution économique et rapide destinée à la chaîne alimentaire, le projet a gagné 1 000 € pour lancer une campagne de crowdfunding, un encadrement de mentorat, un soutien pour la diffusion sur les réseaux sociaux et six mois d’incubation au UAB Open Labs, le réseau d’innovation ouvert de l’université.

Qu4tre, un groupe de chercheurs auquel ont participé les ingénieurs de Quadpack Roger Oller et Mariola Rodríguez, a gagné le prix du public avec le projet Omnibox, un conteneur réutilisable destiné aux marchés municipaux, comprenant un plan logistique de distribution, de reprise et de nettoyage pour offrir une solution zéro déchet. Le groupe a reçu une incubation de six mois et un soutien pour la diffusion sur les réseaux sociaux.

« Nous sommes conscients de la responsabilité que nous portons en tant qu’industrie et voulons faire partie de la solution. En étant en relation avec des chercheurs et en partageant les défis auxquels nous faisons face, nous pouvons avancer ensemble vers un monde plus sain et exercer un impact positif sur les prochaines générations », explique Marta Gil, Quadpack Foundation Manager.

Les microplastiques sont des fragments de moins de 5 mm provenant de la rupture de pièces de plastique plus grandes ou qui sont fabriqués en microsphères pour les produits d’hygiène et de nettoyage. Les nombreuses applications du plastique dans l’industrie, combinées à la mauvaise gestion des déchets, ont fait croître la pollution par microplastiques de façon exponentielle. Celle-ci est actuellement considérée comme un problème environnemental majeur qui affecte la vie des océans, la faune terrestre et la santé humaine.

Photo : de gauche à droite, Quadpack CFO Bardo Bevelander, les ingénieurs de Quadpack Mariola Rodríguez et Roger Oller, et Quadpack Foundation Manager Marta Gil.

Ressources externes
quadpack.com

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

X