3.9 C
Paris
Saturday December 3rd, 2022
- publicity -

Between false positives and contradictory studies: the reality on the allergic risk of Essential Oils

For 10 years, the media have widely reported on the potentially allergenic properties of Essential Oils (EO). While the draft revisions of European regulations, particularly on chemical substances and cosmetics, intend to revisit this subject, it is necessary to take into account the latest advances in research:

  1. taken as a whole, thes HE are safe
  2. allergenic risks are poorly understood

Thus, the HE Consortium calls on regulatory authorities to reconsider their position. The current framework is no longer appropriate, it disproportionately impacts a sector that is a source of jobs, know-how and agroecological transition.

____________

The safety of HE

The reality and acuteness of the allergic risk of Essential Oils is based on studies that are often contradictory and systematically biased statistically since the clinical data are maximalizing vis-à-vis the general population.

For example, a study of 62,354 patients conducted between 2009 and 2014 by the IVDK (Information Network of Departments of Dermatology) (Germany, Switzerland, Austria) and the US/Canadian North American Contact Dermatitis Group (NACDG) showed an extremely low positive reaction rate (0.3%) for lavender EO and tea tree EO.

Thus, what is often identified as an allergy turns out to be in the vast majority of cases a simple irritation.

Allergy risks poorly understood

In July 2021, the OECD (reference body for the validation of toxicological tests) warned that the LLNA test produces false positives in its application to HE constituents. As a result, in the list of 26 allergens for mandatory labelling on cosmetic products, 5 are no longer considered allergenic according to the OECD[3] (alpha-isomethyl ionone, benzyl benzoate, citronellol, limonene, linalool).

These errors of assessment often result from confusion between products and their oxidized versions. Today all scientific bodies have accepted that the allergenic nature of EO is mainly provided by the oxidation of the constituents of EO. The oxidation conditions are special and do not occur under normal storage conditions.

In addition, some isolated components may have side effects that disappear when they are naturally present in a total essential oil. This is the case, for example, of citral whose effects are not comparable if tested alone or in lemongrass essential oil, where it becomes harmless in equivalent concentrations.

HE Consortium Recommendations

  1. Evaluate the essential oil as a whole, rather than making assumptions based on its isolated constituents.
  1. Reconsider the regulations in the light of the latest scientific data, at least remove the obligation to indicate "May cause a skin allergy" on the 5 components that are no longer considered allergenic.
  2. Reminder of good he conservation practices: tightly closed and protected from light.

Publicity
External resources
Site internet

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

Charles River offers new articles and a webinar on his dedicated page!I am looking that up !

site-industries-cosmetiques Une couverture du magazine Industries Cosmétiques
Discover all the innovations in perfumery and cosmetics.
Discover our special report: Save the People. Enjoy your direct access!
If you prefer the paper edition, please subscribe to our magazine
- publicité -

Entre faux positifs et études contradictoires : la réalité sur le risque allergique des Huiles Essentielles

Depuis 10 ans, les médias se sont largement fait l’écho des propriétés potentiellement allergisantes des Huiles Essentielles (HE). Alors que les projets de révision des règlements européens, notamment sur les substances chimiques et les cosmétiques, entendent revisiter ce sujet, il convient de prendre en compte les dernières avancées de la recherche :

  1. prise dans leur globalité, les HE sont sûres
  2. les risques allergisants sont mal appréhendés

Ainsi, le Consortium HE appelle les autorités réglementaires à revoir leur position. Le cadre en vigueur n’est plus adapté, il impacte de manière disproportionné un secteur source d’emplois, de savoir-faire et de transition agroécologique.  

____________

La sûreté des HE

La réalité et l’acuité du risque allergique des Huiles Essentielles repose sur des études souvent contradictoires et systématiquement biaisées sur le plan statistique puisque les données cliniques sont maximalisantes vis-à-vis de la population générale.

Exemple, une étude sur 62.354 patients menée entre 2009 et 2014 par le IVDK (Information Network of Departments of Dermatology) (Allemagne, Suisse, Autriche) et le US/Canadian North American Contact Dermatitis Group (NACDG) a montré un taux de réactions positives extrêmement faible (0,3%) pour l’HE de lavande et l’HE d’arbre à thé.

Ainsi, ce qui est souvent identifié comme une allergie se révèle être dans la grande majorité des cas une simple irritation.

Les risques allergisants mal appréhendés

En juillet 2021, l’OCDE (organisme de référence pour la validation des tests toxicologiques) alerte que le test LLNA produit des faux positifs dans son application aux constituants des HE. Si bien que dans la liste des 26 allergènes d’étiquetage obligatoire sur les produits cosmétiques, 5 ne sont plus considérés comme allergisants selon l’OCDE[3] (alpha-isomethyl ionone, benzyl benzoate, citronellol, limonène, linalol).

Ces erreurs d’appréciation viennent souvent d’une confusion entre les produits et leurs versions oxydées. Aujourd’hui toutes les instances scientifiques ont admis que le caractère allergisant des HE est majoritairement fourni par l’oxydation des constituants des HE. Les conditions d’oxydation sont particulières et ne se présentent pas dans des conditions normales de stockage.

Par ailleurs, certains composants isolés peuvent présenter des effets secondaires qui disparaissent lorsqu’ils sont naturellement présents dans une huile essentielle totale. C’est le cas, par exemple, du citral dont les effets ne sont pas comparables s’il est testé seul ou dans l’huile essentielle de citronnelle, où il devient inoffensif à des concentrations équivalentes. 

Recommandations du Consortium HE

  1. Évaluer l’huile essentielle dans sa globalité, plutôt que de faire des hypothèses sur la base de ses constituants isolés.
  1. Reconsidérer la réglementation à la lumière des dernières données scientifiques, à minima retirer l’obligation d’indiquer « Peut provoquer une allergie cutanée » sur les 5 composants qui ne sont plus considérés comme allergisants.
  2. Rappel des bonnes pratiques de conservation des HE : bien fermés et à l’abri de la lumière.

Ressources externes
Site internet

Contenu sponsorisé

site-industries-cosmetiques Une publicité vibrante pour Croda Beauty avec un gros plan de fleurs orange avec un effet de flou en arrière-plan et le texte « Croda Beauty, une science intelligente pour améliorer la vie » inclut désormais Phytess

Phytessence™ Osmanthus, the first geo-skincare botanical extract by Croda Beauty

Discover how this innovative natural ingredient helps the skin to better face climate change, particularly the harmful effects of sun rays and heat.
site-industries-cosmetiques Un individu concentré en blouse de laboratoire examinant un petit pot contenant une substance rose, innovation cosmétique pionnière avec des ingrédients naturels en Bretagne.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline – the longest in the country.

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

fr_FRFrançais