15.3 C
Paris
Sunday, September 25, 2022
- publicity -

Fight With Care, an ambitious international program to support cancer patients

Publicity

Anti-cancer therapies, which are becoming more and more effective, nevertheless produce serious adverse effects. Some 80% of patients suffer from skin side effects1, which sometimes push them to interrupt their treatment. Already committed for ten years alongside these patients, La Roche-Posay is now going further, launching Fight With Care.

At the same time accelerator of scientific research, training tool for professionals, and vector of support for patients and associations, Fight With Care is placed on the field of the concrete, the useful.

Its ambitions by 2025: to raise awareness among 1 billion people worldwide about the side effects of cancer treatments, train 1 million people in supportive care to relieve them, and support 100,000 patients in their fight against the disease.

Refusing fatality

Dry skin, itching, burning, inflammation around the nail are all side effects frequently caused by cancer therapies. Heavy with physical and psychological impacts, these changes are often considered by patients as inevitable. Some go so far as to suspend their treatment so that they no longer have to undergo them, thus compromising their chances of recovery.

However, targeted dermo-cosmetic treatments exist and can help relieve patients... provided that they are informed. However, in 2018, 84% of cancer patients were not referred to any dermatologist2. This situation is all the more damaging as alleviating treatment-related skin problems is essential: 80% of patients consider supportive care as important as the main treatments3.

Based on this observation, La Roche-Posay, already engaged for more than ten years alongside cancer patients, has decided to intensify its action, by launching the Fight With Care program.

"La Roche-Posay, together with dermatologists from all over the world, has been working with cancer patients for more than 10 years. But we still hear patients say, "If I had known there were dermatological solutions, it would have changed my life!" That's why today we're going further with Fight with Care. It seems essential to us to raise awareness of these solutions, capable of providing essential relief to patients,"says Laetitia Toupet, President of La Roche-Posay International.

The Fight With Care program is divided into four pillars and many concrete actions.

Advance knowledge

To help advance knowledge on this major public health issue, La Roche-Posay is expanding its historic collaboration with the most recognized experts in their field, and is partnering with the MASCC (Multinational Association of Supportive Care in Cancer) and AFSOS (Association francophone pour les soins oncologiques de support). La Roche-Posay will thus contribute by December 2021 to the development of the first international consensus to publish recommendations for the treatment of skin side effects related to cancer treatments. The work of this international committee of experts, led by an important network of partners within the medical world, will aim to inform health professionals, through practical advice and a global approach to skin toxicities.

Support patients

To usefully support patients where they are (hospital, pharmacy, home...), Fight with Care offers a set of concrete actions to accompany them in their daily lives. The brand is launching a new internet platform (mapeaupendantuncancer.fr) to raise awareness and support patients and a new patient guide offering expert advice and testimonials to support patients but also allow their entourage to provide useful advice (see box below).

To offer patients clearer information, La Roche-Posay has also decided to add a specific logo to the back of 14 of its products. This new logo will make it possible to identify the products tested, under dermatological control, by cancer patients, and having allowed them to improve their quality of life.

Train pharmacists

The modalities of patient care are evolving: hospitalizations at home, or oral chemotherapy delivered in pharmacies, are becoming more and more frequent. The role of the pharmacist is therefore becoming increasingly central to the health journey of these patients.

Thus, in France, pharmacists have been entrusted, since January 1, 2021, with the responsibility of offering pharmaceutical interviews to patients undergoing oral chemotherapy (CTO). But today only 6% of breast cancer patients seek information from their pharmacist. And among the latter, 77% admit that they do not know how to answer all their questions4 .

This is why La Roche-Posay, with the support of AFSOS, offers two new training courses (online and/or face-to-face) for pharmacists and validated by a committee of experts. They will make it possible to train in the different types of cancer, the care pathways, the anti-cancer therapies and their adverse effects. Pharmacists will also have advice on how to conduct a pharmaceutical interview in oncology, in order to better meet patients' expectations.

Support patient associations

Patient associations are asserting themselves as indispensable relays in the fight against cancer, on a daily basis. This is why Fight With Care also aims to support, through donations, a number of associative projects.

La Roche-Posay is already involved alongside RoseUp Association 5 in France. This partnership has helped fund:

• The digitalization of Rose houses, which welcome patients to provide them with advice and support.

• The creation of a film presenting the association and its 10 years of action.

• Co-constructing a simple and effective method to teach women to take care of themselves and their skin during cancer.


Fight With Care, at the heart of a more global commitment against cancer

The latest addition to La Roche-Posay's cancer action programs, Fight With Care is part of the brand's broader commitment. Thus, La Roche-Posay is carrying out, in parallel, two other major actions:

"Save Your Skin": a program dedicated to the prevention of skin cancers. For more than 20 years, the brand has performed more than 400,000 free melanoma screenings with dermatologists in 35 countries. By 2025, it plans to increase this number to 500,000.

"A Better Life For Children With Cancer": this onco-pediatric support program was launched in 2019 by the La Roche-Posay Foundation and its partner Childhood Cancer International. Created with a multidisciplinary scientific committee and families, it aims to improve the quality of life and break the isolation of children with cancer and their loved ones.

"With Fight With Care, our commitment is gaining new momentum. By 2025, we aim to inform nearly 1 billion people about the problems related to skin toxicity of cancer treatments; to train 1 million of them in supportive care to relieve them, and to directly support 100,000 in their fight against the disease. Cancer can affect us all. Directly or indirectly. Beyond the numbers, Fight with Care ultimately aims at a single objective: to be useful and improve the daily lives of as many women and men as possible around the world,"says Laetitia Toupet, President of La Roche-Posay International.


Key figures

  • 80% of patients suffer from side effects on the skin during cancer treatments
  • 93% of La Roche-Posay users find their comfort and well-being improved
  • 80% of patients believe that supportive care is as important as treatment
  • 9 scientific studies and 12 publications dedicated to the effects of cancer treatments were conducted by La Roche-Posay
  • More than 10 years of brand commitment

1. Charles C, et al. Impact of cutaneous toxicity associated with targeted therapies on quality of life. Results of a longitudinal exploratory study. Bulletin du Cancer. March 2013;100(3):213-22.

2. Association of Community Cancer Centers / accc-cancer.org Addressing dermatologic adverse events associated with oncologic therapies by Stephanie Kao, ba, and adam friedman, MD December 2018

3. Afsos / Odoxa study January 2020

4. Survey conducted among women with breast cancer by the Rose up association. Collection of testimonies conducted between July 1 and August 31, 2020 with 135 women.

5. RoseUp is an association of general interest founded by patients and relatives of patients. She accompanies, informs and defends the rights of women affected by cancer. https://www.rose-up.fr/

Publicity
External resources
laroche-posay.fr

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

X

Fight With Care, un ambitieux programme international de soutien aux patients atteints de cancer

Les thérapies anti-cancéreuses, de plus en plus efficaces, produisent pourtant de lourds effets indésirables. Quelque 80 % des patients souffrent ainsi d’effets secondaires cutanés1, qui les poussent parfois à interrompre leur traitement. Déjà engagée depuis dix ans aux côtés de ces patients, La Roche-Posay va aujourd’hui plus loin, en lançant Fight With Care.

À la fois accélérateur de recherche scientifique, outil de formation des professionnels, et vecteur de soutien aux patients et aux associations, Fight With Care se place sur le terrain du concret, de l’utile.

Ses ambitions d’ici 2025 : sensibiliser 1 milliard de personnes dans le monde aux effets secondaires des traitements contre le cancer, former 1 million de personnes aux soins de support permettant de les soulager, et soutenir 100 000 patients dans leur combat contre la maladie.

Refuser la fatalité

Peau sèche, démangeaisons, brûlures, inflammation du pourtour de l’ongle sont autant d’effets secondaires fréquemment engendrés par les thérapies contre le cancer. Lourds d’impacts physiques et psychologiques, ces changements sont souvent considérés par les patients comme une fatalité. Certains vont jusqu’à suspendre leur traitement pour ne plus avoir à les subir, compromettant ainsi leurs chances de guérison.

Pourtant, des traitements dermo-cosmétiques ciblés existent et peuvent permettre de soulager les patients… à condition qu’ils en soient informés. Or, en 2018, 84 % des patients atteints d’un cancer n’étaient orientés vers aucun dermatologue2. Une situation d’autant plus dommageable que pallier les problèmes de peau liés aux traitements s’avère essentiel : 80 % des patients considèrent les soins de soutien aussi importants que les traitements principaux3.

Partant de ce constat, La Roche-Posay, déjà engagée depuis plus de dix ans aux côtés des patients atteints de cancer, a décidé d’intensifier son action, en lançant le programme Fight With Care.

« La Roche-Posay, avec les dermatologues du monde entier, s’engage depuis plus de 10 ans aux côtés des patients atteints de cancer. Mais nous entendons encore des patients dire : « Si j’avais su qu’il existait des solutions dermatologiques, cela aurait changé ma vie ! ». C’est pourquoi aujourd’hui, nous allons plus loin avec Fight with Care. Il nous semble essentiel de faire mieux connaître ces solutions, capables d’apporter un soulagement indispensable aux patients », indique Laetitia Toupet, présidente La Roche-Posay international.

Le programme Fight With Care se décline autour de quatre piliers et de nombreuses actions concrètes.

Faire progresser la connaissance

Pour contribuer à faire avancer les connaissances sur cet enjeu majeur de santé publique, La Roche-Posay étend sa collaboration historique avec les experts les plus reconnus dans leur domaine, et s’associe avec la MASCC (Multinational Association of Supportive Care in Cancer) et l’AFSOS (Association francophone pour les soins oncologiques de support). La Roche-Posay contribuera ainsi d’ici décembre 2021 à l’élaboration du premier consensus international destiné à publier des recommandations pour le traitement des effets secondaires cutanés liés aux traitements anticancéreux. Les travaux de ce comité international d’experts, portés par un important réseau de partenaires au sein du monde médical, viseront à informer les professionnels de santé, à travers des conseils pratiques et une approche globale des toxicités cutanées.

Soutenir les patients

Pour soutenir utilement les patients là où ils se trouvent (hôpital, pharmacie, chez eux…), Fight with Care propose un ensemble d’actions concrètes pour les accompagner dans leur quotidien. La marque lance une nouvelle plateforme internet (mapeaupendantuncancer.fr) pour sensibiliser et accompagner les malades et un nouveau guide patient proposant des conseils d’experts et des témoignages pour soutenir les patients mais aussi permettre à leur entourage d’apporter des conseils utiles (voir encadré ci-dessous).

Pour offrir aux patients une information plus claire, La Roche-Posay a également décidé d’ajouter au dos de 14 de ses produits un logo spécifique. Ce nouveau logo permettra d’identifier les produits testés, sous contrôle dermatologique, par des patients atteints d’un cancer, et leur ayant permis d’améliorer leur qualité de vie.

Former les pharmaciens

Les modalités de prises en charge des patients évoluent : les hospitalisations à domicile, ou encore les chimiothérapies orales délivrées dans les officines, deviennent de plus en plus fréquentes. Le rôle du pharmacien devient donc toujours plus central dans le parcours de santé de ces patients.

Ainsi, en France, les pharmaciens se sont vu confier, depuis le 1er janvier 2021, la responsabilité de proposer des entretiens pharmaceutiques aux patients sous chimiothérapie orale (CTO). Mais aujourd’hui seules 6 % des patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein recherchent des informations auprès de leur pharmacien. Et parmi ces derniers, 77 % reconnaissent ne pas savoir répondre à toutes leurs questions4 .

C’est pourquoi La Roche-Posay, avec le soutien de l’Afsos, propose deux nouvelles formations (en ligne et/ou en présentiel) destinées aux pharmaciens et validées par un comité d’experts. Elles permettront de se former aux différents types de cancer, aux parcours de soins, aux thérapies anti-cancer et à leurs effets indésirables. Les pharmaciens disposeront également de conseils pour mener un entretien pharmaceutique en oncologie, afin de mieux répondre aux attentes des patients.

Accompagner les associations de patients

Les associations de patients s’affirment comme des relais indispensables de la lutte contre le cancer, au quotidien. C’est pourquoi Fight With Care vise également à soutenir, grâce à des donations, nombre de projets associatifs.

La Roche-Posay est déjà engagée aux côtés de RoseUp Association 5 en France. Ce partenariat a contribué à financer :

• La digitalisation des maisons Rose, qui accueillent les patientes pour leur apporter conseils et soins support.

• La création d’un film présentant l’association et ses 10 années d’action.

• La co-construction d’une méthode simple et efficace pour apprendre aux femmes à prendre soin d’elles et de leur peau pendant un cancer.


Fight With Care, au cœur d’un engagement plus global contre le cancer

Dernier-né des programmes d’action contre le cancer de La Roche-Posay, Fight With Care s’inscrit dans un engagement plus global de la marque. Ainsi, La Roche-Posay mène, en parallèle, deux autres actions majeures :

« Save Your Skin » : un programme dédié à la prévention des cancers de la peau. Depuis plus de 20 ans, la marque a réalisé plus de 400 000 dépistages gratuits du mélanome avec des dermatologues dans 35 pays. D’ici 2025, elle compte porter ce nombre à 500 000.

« A Better Life For Children With Cancer » : ce programme d’accompagnement en onco-pédiatrie a été lancé en 2019 par La Fondation La Roche-Posay et son partenaire Childhood Cancer International. Créé avec un comité scientifique pluridisciplinaire et des familles, il a pour but d’améliorer la qualité de vie et de rompre l’isolement des enfants atteints de cancer et de leurs proches.

« Avec Fight With Care, notre engagement prend un nouvel élan. D’ici 2025, nous avons pour ambition d’informer près d’1 milliard de personnes aux problèmes liés à la toxicité cutanée des traitements contre le cancer ; de former 1 million d’entre elles aux soins de support permettant de les soulager, et d’en soutenir directement 100 000 dans leur combat contre la maladie. Le cancer peut tous nous toucher. Directement ou indirectement. Au-delà des chiffres, Fight with Care vise au final un seul et unique objectif : être utile et améliorer le quotidien du plus grand nombre possible de femmes et d’hommes à travers le monde », souligne Laetitia Toupet, présidente La Roche-Posay international.


Chiffres clés

  • 80 % des patients souffrent d’effets secondaires sur la peau lors des traitements contre le cancer
  • 93 % des utilisateurs La Roche-Posay trouvent leur confort et leur bien-être améliorés
  • 80% des patients estiment que les soins de support sont aussi importants que les traitements
  • 9 études scientifiques et 12 publications dédiés aux effets des traitements du cancer ont été menées par La Roche-Posay
  • Plus de 10 ans d’engagement de la marque

1. Charles C, et al. Impact of cutaneous toxicity associated with targeted therapies on quality of life. Results of a longitudinal exploratory study. Bulletin du Cancer. March 2013;100(3):213-22.

2. Association of Community Cancer Centers / accc-cancer.org Addressing dermatologic adverse events associated with oncologic therapies by Stephanie Kao, ba, and adam friedman, MD December 2018

3. Etude Afsos/Odoxa Janvier 2020

4. Enquête menée auprès de femmes atteintes d’un cancer du sein par l’association Rose up. Recueil de témoignages menés entre le 1er juillet au 31 aout 2020 auprès de 135 femmes.

5. RoseUp est une association d’intérêt général fondée par des patientes et des proches de patients. Elle accompagne, informe et défend les droits des femmes touchées par le cancer. https://www.rose-up.fr/