3.9 C
Paris
Saturday December 3rd, 2022
- publicity -

Printing luxury perfume glass bottles: a new plasma cleaning application

Plasmatreat presents a new application of its Openair-Plasma technology successfully implemented in the field of luxury packaging to optimize the process of finishing and printing glass bottles of luxury perfumes as well as bonding their decorative elements.

The Openair-Plasma technology developed by Plasmatreat is one of the world's leading solutions used to activate, clean and plasma process any type of surface in many applications. A simple and ecological method, Openair-Plasma is an activation process allowing efficient, fast and affordable surface modification, without changing the mechanical properties of the treated materials.

Developed to meet the challenges of bottle manufacturers, this new business application aims to improve the print quality of text characters and logos of luxury brands with often very refined design, and provide maximum protection for bottles and bottles to avoid damage and scratches due to friction during transport. This process even offers the possibility of making complex bottles in several parts.

The Plasmatreat process is based on the on-line activation of plasma processing. It allows to directly treat, clean and activate the entire surface of the glass bottles to ultimately offer a very high quality design by combining efficiency and profitability for the manufacturer.

"Indeed, one of the advantages of the Openair-Plasma technology being a cost-effective process, this system is integrated online and thus allows the robotic process of printing andgluing small decorative elements to take place directly after the end of cleaning and processing, and this, without any interruption of production,"says the company.

The glass used is usually produced from the primary colors (white, green or brown) in order to make the bottles and bottles more sophisticated, an essential aspect in the field of cosmetics. This glass being tinted afterwards. For this type of packaging, high quality is required in order to allow the proper application of color. The Openair-Plasma process contributes to the efficiency of the lacquering process usually carried out in the luxury sector with high-quality paint.

In the last step of the manufacturing process, the glass is coated (coated), in order to avoid damage and scratches. Then these glass bottles are mainly printed by the screen printing process. The type of coating that was made during manufacturing then determines the adhesion quality of the printing ink used.

In order to ensure good adhesion and uniform color dispersion especially on a polymer coating, plasmaactivation is necessary to increase the tension of the surface. "Thanks to its robust nozzle system and simple in-line integration, Openair-Plasma technology is a perfect solution for the surface activation required for glass in perfume bottles and bottles,"says Plasmatreat.

From a technical point of view, these applications require Openair plasma nozzles of the RD1004 type with a wide nozzle head and a working width of 40 mm for each. The components move all along under the nozzles at the constant speed of the conveyor system.

With the Openair-Plasma process, manufacturers of luxury perfume bottles and bottles will be able to benefit from a system that brings several advantages:

  • Micro-surface cleaning that removes impurities and adherent organic particles.
  • Use of innovative coating processes and the implementation of alternative color systems (UV varnish, solvent-free lacquering).
  • Better ink adhesion when screen printing or pad printing on glass, including on bottles with polymer coating.
  • Improved design.
  • Realization of complex vials in several parts.
  • Reduction of the rejection rate (error rate).
  • Easy integration of plasma nozzles into varnishing systems.

In the end, in cosmetic applications, and more particularly in luxury, this method of treatment and surface cleaning can be very advantageous to obtain a very high quality glass and high-end and exclusive designs.

Publicity
External resources
plasmatreat.fr

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

Charles River offers new articles and a webinar on his dedicated page!I am looking that up !

Impression des flacons en verre des parfums de luxe : une nouvelle application de nettoyage au plasma

Plasmatreat présente une nouvelle application de sa technologie Openair-Plasma mise en place avec succès dans le domaine du packaging de luxe pour optimiser le processus de finition et d’impression des flacons en verre des parfums de luxe ainsi que de collage de leurs éléments décoratifs. 

La technologie Openair-Plasma développée par Plasmatreat est l’une des principales solutions utilisées au monde pour activer, nettoyer et traiter par plasma tout type de surface dans de nombreuses applications. Méthode simple et écologique, Openair-Plasma est un procédé d’activation permettant une modification de surface efficace, rapide et abordable, et ce, sans modifier les propriétés mécaniques des matériaux traités.

Mise au point pour répondre aux problématiques des fabricants de flacons, cette nouvelle application métier a pour objectif d’améliorer la qualité d’impression des caractères du texte et des logos de marques de luxe au design souvent très raffiné, et apporter une protection maximale des flacons et des bouteilles afin d’éviter des dommages et des rayures dues au frottement pendant leur transport. Ce procédé offre même la possibilité de réaliser des flacons complexes en plusieurs parties.

Le procédé Plasmatreat repose sur l’activation en ligne du traitement plasma. Il permet de traiter, nettoyer et activer directement toute la surface des flacons en verre pour offrir au final une conception de très haute qualité en alliant efficacité et rentabilité pour le fabricant. 

« En effet, l’un des avantages de la technologie Openair-Plasma étant d’être un procédé rentable, ce système est intégré en ligne et permet ainsi au processus robotisé d’impression et de collage des petits éléments décoratifs d’avoir lieu directement après la fin du nettoyage et du traitement, et ce, sans aucune interruption de production », indique-t-on au sein de la société.

Le verre utilisé est généralement produit à partir des couleurs primaires (blanc, vert ou marron) afin de rendre les flacons et les bouteilles plus sophistiqués, un aspect primordial dans le domaine de la cosmétique. Ce verre étant teinté par la suite. Pour ce type d’emballage, une qualité élevée est nécessaire afin de permettre la bonne application de la couleur. Le procédé Openair-Plasma contribue à l’efficacité du processus de laquage généralement réalisé dans le secteur du luxe avec une peinture de haute qualité.

Dans la dernière étape du procédé de fabrication, le verre est revêtu (enduit), afin d’éviter des dommages et des rayures. Puis ces bouteilles en verre sont principalement imprimées par le procédé de sérigraphie. Le type de revêtement qui a été réalisé pendant la fabrication détermine alors la qualité d’adhérence de l’encre d’impression utilisée. 

Afin d’assurer une bonne adhérence et une dispersion uniforme de couleur en particulier sur un revêtement polymère, l´activation plasmatique est nécessaire pour augmenter la tension de la surface. « Grâce à son système de buse robuste et l’intégration simple en ligne, la technologie Openair-Plasma se révèle une solution parfaite pour l’activation de surface requise pour le verre des flacons et des bouteilles de parfum », souligne-t-on chez Plasmatreat.

D’un point de vue technique, ces applications nécessitent des buses à plasma Openair du type RD1004 avec une tête de buse large et une largeur de travail de 40 mm pour chacune. Les composants se déplacent tout au long sous les buses à la vitesse constante du système de convoyeur.

Avec le procédé Openair-Plasma, les fabricants de flacons et de bouteilles de parfum de luxe pourront donc bénéficier d’un système qui apporte plusieurs avantages : 

  • Micro-nettoyage de surface qui permet d’enlever les impuretés et les particules organiques adhérentes.
  • Utilisation de procédés de revêtement innovantes et la mise en place de systèmes alternatifs de couleur (vernis UV, les laquages sans solvant).
  • Meilleure adhérence de l’encre lors de la sérigraphie ou de la tampographie sur verre, y compris sur les bouteilles avec du revêtement en polymère.
  • Amélioration du design.
  • Réalisation de flacons complexes en plusieurs parties.
  • Réduction du taux de rejet (taux d’erreur).
  • Intégration facile des buses de plasma dans des systèmes de vernissage. 

Au final, dans les applications cosmétiques, et plus particulièrement du luxe, cette méthode de traitement et de nettoyage de surface peut se révéler très avantageuse pour obtenir un verre de très haute qualité et des designs haut de gamme et exclusifs.