32 C
Paris
Friday August 12th, 2022
- publicity -

The French and organic products: a new landscape of consumption and lifestyle is emerging

Publicity

The market for organic products has been growing steadily for the past ten years. But who are the buyers of organic food and cosmetic products? Why did they switch to organic? Why are they staying there? Organics Cluster Rhône-Alpes and Cosmebio have joined forces to answer these questions by designing a consumer study entitled “Consumer profile and purchasing practices for organic cosmetics and food in 2016 (1)”, carried out by OpinionWay / Senseva. This study delivers relevant messages and announces a new landscape of consumption and behavior of the French.

Health-conscious consumers

The results of the study highlighted the fact that buyers of organic products are more than 80% attentive to their physical and psychological health. More than half of them (50%) engage in physical activity on a regular basis, and most of them participate in an outdoor activity or sport on a weekly basis. They have a marked interest in cooking, the search for quality food products (+ 60%) but also in well-being activities, a more significant phenomenon among consumers of organic cosmetics (+ 50%).

Focus on the 1st organic experience

The main purchasing trigger is awareness for + 50% of buyers: ecological impact, health problems, health scandals. Most often, the key to entering organic remains food, mostly purchased in supermarkets (nearly 60%). The consumer will then switch to processed products and / or organic cosmetics. The majority of organic consumers are recent given the innovation and communication efforts on the part of organic companies (58% of less than 5 years in food and 70% of purchases in cosmetics less 5 years).

Going organic means changing your lifestyle

Switching to organic means a change in life for 85% of buyers: 71% pay more attention to their mode of consumption (food waste, consuming less but better, waste management, carpooling, etc.). 65% pay more attention to their health: they take care of their body, take detox cures, start or intensify their physical activity.

The 4 main reasons for switching to organic:
* reassure yourself (preserve your health, consume healthy products, preserve your skin) 41%
* values (preserving nature, the planet, respect for producers) 26%
* pleasure (well-being and that of his family) 21%
* out of fear (pesticides, chemicals) 15%

This switch to organic is done in a sustainable way for all consumers. The terms most used when asking open questions about buying organic products are pride, relief, interest and pleasure. The consumption of organic products appears mainly as a “serious” act, nourished by the need for safety, meaning and consistency. This consumption remains essentially based on the confidence granted to the sector and imposes a high level of requirement.

The study made it possible to define different types of buyers in organic food and cosmetics.

Specificities and profile of organic cosmetics buyers

Buyers of organic cosmetics more engaged than average

First observation: 85% of buyers of organic cosmetics have also bought an organic food product in the past 12 months. We also note that awareness of the ecological impact, health scandals and health problems are much more important triggers among buyers of organic cosmetics. Consumption of organic products is reported to be higher among buyers of organic cosmetics (74%).
To reassure themselves, these consumers are attached to the visibility of a label and respect for the skin.
The purchase of organic cosmetics is done in supermarkets, pharmacies and parapharmacies and organic stores on an equal basis. The first products are: face care (20%), hair products (20%) and body care (16%).

The 5 profiles of organic cosmetics buyers

Engaged ambassadors (33%)

This group whose average age is the same as that of the French. They have strong values (environment, nature, etc.) associated with strong purchasing potential. The presence of a Bio label is important. They are more prescribers than average and are more interested in the virtues of nature.

Beauty junkies (25%)

This is a young group with a very high proportion of women who go out at night, who like to go to relaxation / well-being spaces. Few consumers of organic products, this group favors price, the main lever for purchasing

Seniors concerned about their health (21%)

This group is made up of a large part of 65 years and over, not very active on social networks. They are mainly looking for products that respect the skin but an organic label does not matter to them.

Animal advocates (12%)

Ensuring cosmetic products are cruelty-free is an important purchasing criterion. Consuming organic cosmetic products allows them to be in harmony with their values.

Organic hipsters (8%)

Composed of 51% men, this group is very active on social networks. He focuses on his physical appearance, diet and well-being. Consuming organic cosmetics is synonymous for them with dreams and travel.

* (1) Organics Cluster / COSMEBIO consumer study carried out by Senseva / OpinionWay from February 2 to 14, 2016 - according to the CAWI method - from a sample of 1076 buyers of organic products from March 2015 to March 2016, representative of the elderly French population 18 years and over.

[www.cosmebio.org]

Publicity
External resources

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

We offer you our summer number! Freely access the digital version of Industries CosmétiquesI read !
+
X

Les Français et le bio : un nouveau paysage de consommation et d’habitudes de vie se dessine

Le marché des produits bio est en croissance permanente depuis une dizaine d’années. Mais qui sont les acheteurs de produits bio alimentaires et cosmétiques ? Pourquoi sont-ils passés au bio ? Pourquoi y restent-ils ? Organics Cluster Rhône-Alpes et Cosmebio se sont associés pour répondre à ces questions en concevant une étude consommateurs intitulée « Profil des consommateurs et pratiques d’achat de cosmétique et alimentation Bio en 2016 (1) », réalisée par OpinionWay/ Senseva. Cette étude délivre des messages pertinents et annonce un nouveau paysage de consommation et de comportements des Français.

Des consommateurs soucieux de leur santé

Les résultats de l’étude ont mis en évidence le fait que les acheteurs de produits bio sont attentifs à leur santé physique et psychologique à plus de 80 %. Ilspratiquent régulièrement une activité physique pour plus de la moitié (50 %), et majoritairement une activité de plein air ou une activité sportive de manière hebdomadaire. Ils ont un intérêt marqué pour la cuisine, la recherche de produits alimentaires de qualité (+ 60 %) mais aussi pour les activités de bien-être, phénomène plus conséquent chez les consommateurs de cosmétiques bio (+ de 50 %).

Focus surla 1ère expérience bio

Le principal déclencheur d’achat est la prise de conscience pour +50 % des acheteurs : impact écologique, problèmes de santé, scandales sanitaires. Le plus souvent, la clef d’entrée dans le bio reste l’alimentation achetée en majorité en supermarché (près de 60 %). Le consommateur passera ensuite à des produits transformés et/ ou à la cosmétique bio. Les consommateurs bio sont récents pour la majorité d’entre eux étant donné les efforts d’innovation et de communication de la part des entreprises du Bio (58 % de moins de 5 ans en alimentaire et 70 % des achats en cosmétique il y a moins de 5 ans).

Passer au bio, c’est changer son style de vie

Passer au bio implique unchangement de vie pour 85 % des acheteurs : 71 % font plus attention à leur mode de consommation (gaspillage alimentaire, consommer moins mais mieux, gestion des déchets, covoiturage…). 65 % sont plus attentifsà leur santé : ils prennent soin de leur corps, font des cures détox, commencent ou intensifient leur activité physique.

Les 4 raisons principales du passage au bio :
* se rassurer (préserver sa santé, consommer des produits sains, préserver sa peau) 41 %
* les valeurs (préserver la nature, la planète, respect des producteurs) 26 %
* le plaisir (le bien-être et celui de sa famille) 21%
* par peur (pesticides, produits chimiques) 15 %

Ce passage au bio se fait de manière durable pour la totalité des consommateurs. Les termes les plus employés lors des questions ouvertes sur l’achat de produits bio sont la fierté, le soulagement, l’intérêt et le plaisir. La consommation de produits bio apparaît majoritairement comme un acte « sérieux », nourrit par desbesoins de sécurité, de sens et de cohérence. Cette consommation reste essentiellement basée sur laconfiance accordée à la filière et impose un haut niveau d’exigence.

L’étude a permis de définir différentes typologies d’acheteurs en alimentation et en cosmétique bio.

Spécificités et profil des acheteurs de cosmétique bio

Des acheteurs de cosmétiques bio plus engagés que la moyenne

Premier constat : 85 % des acheteurs de cosmétiques bio ont également acheté un produit alimentaire bio au cours des 12 derniers mois. On remarque également que la prise de conscience de l’impact écologique, les scandales sanitaires et les problèmes de santé sont des éléments déclencheurs beaucoup plus importants chez les acheteurs de cosmétiques bio. La consommation de produits bio est déclarée plus importante auprès des acheteursde cosmétique bio (74 %).
Pour se rassurer, ces consommateurssont attachés à la visibilité d’un label et au respect de la peau.
L’achat des cosmétiques bio se font en GMS, pharmacies et parapharmacies et magasins bio à part égale. Les 1ers produits sont : les soins visage (20 %), les produits cheveux (20 %) et les soins du corps (16 %).

Les 5 profils d’acheteurs de cosmétiques bio

Les ambassadeurs engagés (33 %)

Ce groupe dont l’âge moyen est le même que celui des français. Ils ont defortes valeurs (environnement, nature…) associées à un fort potentiel d’achat. La présence d’un label Bioest importante. Ilssontplus prescripteurs que la moyenne et s’intéressent davantage aux vertus de la nature.

Les accros de la beauté (25 %)

Il s’agit d’un groupejeune à très forte proportion de femmes qui sort le soir, qui aime aller dans des espaces de relaxation/bien-être. Peu consommateurs de produits bio, ce groupe privilégie le prix, principal levier à l’achat

Les seniors soucieux de leur santé (21 %)

Ce groupe est constitué d’une part importante de 65 ans et plus, peu actifs sur les réseaux sociaux. Ils cherchent surtout des produits respectueux de la peau mais un label bio leur importe peu.

Les défenseurs de la cause animale (12 %)

La garantie que les produits cosmétiques sont non testés par les animaux est un critère d’achat important. Consommer des produits cosmétiques bio leur permet d’être en cohésion avec leurs valeurs.

Les hipsters du Bio (8 %)

Composé de 51% d’hommes, ce groupe est très actif sur les réseaux sociaux. Il se concentre sur son apparence physique, son alimentation etson bien-être. Consommer des produits cosmétiques bio est synonyme pour eux de rêve et de voyage.

*(1) Etude consommateursOrganics Cluster/ COSMEBIO réalisée par Senseva/ OpinionWay du 2 au 14 février 2016 -selon la méthode CAWI -auprès d’un échantillon de 1076 acheteurs de produits Bio de mars 2015 à mars 2016, représentatif de la population française âgée de 18 ans et plus.

[www.cosmebio.org]

make up paris 2018
X