Cosmet'in Lyon Skin Science Days: May 20 and 21, 2021, online

Publicity

“How clinical experience highlights skin biology mechanisms'”: this is the theme proposed by Cosmet'in Lyon (Ex. CED) for its XXXth edition of the CIL Skin Science Days (previously European Dermocosmetology Days). The event will take place on May 20 and 21, 2021, with Professor Richard Gallo, guest of honor. It will be held in English and as an online conference, due to the global health context.

About twenty international dermocosmetology experts will provide insight from a research, clinical and industrial point of view through eight sessions detailed in the program to be downloaded from the site. Cosmet'in Lyon members benefit from a preferential rate.

Organized every two years, and of a very high scientific level recognized by the profession, this event brought together more than 170 participants, researchers and industrialists, in 2019. The health context prompted the choice of the webconference format this year.

Cosmet'in Lyon is offering an attractive visibility program on the occasion of the thirtieth anniversary of this event.


Interview with Nico Forraz, President of Cosmet'in Lyon

What do the Cosmet'in Lyon Skin Science Days represent for the profession?

Nico Forraz: First of all, it is the XXX Congress, an anniversary date! We would have liked to hold it face-to-face because we are proud to welcome dermocosmetology experts from all over the world to our territory. The context decided otherwise. This congress has taken place every two years, since the birth of the association in 1962. Its aim is to highlight the latest scientific innovations and progress in skin biology. This is all the more important as skin biology is directly linked to dermatology and cosmetology. It is therefore a rare opportunity to bring together all the players who contribute to innovative developments for skin care and well-being.

What makes Skin Science Days special?

Nico Forraz: The event is organized by a committee of volunteers, based in the AURA region and coming from academic, clinical and industrial backgrounds, who share a common interest: dermocosmetology. It is this unique alliance that makes the DNA of the association, the specificity of events in general and those of Skin Science Days in particular.

What are the discoveries and emerging trends in skin biology?

Nico Forraz: These are precisely the subjects that will be discussed during the congress: the interaction between microbiota and human skin; environmental factors such as pollution, and their influence, in particular on the inflammatory status of the skin; advances in skin aging, linked to lengthening the lifespan; the progress made in renewing, repairing and healing the skin. We will also discuss new technologies, real bridges between clinical treatments and cosmetology, tissue engineering which makes it possible to model cosmetic and aesthetic treatments. There is a lot to say!

Why did you choose this theme of the impact of clinical experiments on the biological mechanisms of the skin?

Nico Forraz: Traditionally, we start with discoveries made in the laboratory and then we approach clinical experiments. We wanted to deal with the subject from the opposite angle: by offering a review of the discoveries resulting from clinical experiments and by demonstrating how they stimulate fundamental research and innovation in skin biology.

How were the speakers selected?

Nico Forraz: The organising committee, led by Nicolas Bechetoille and Aurélie Pagnonminot, respectively secretary and treasurer of Cosmet'in Lyon, has teamed up with academic researchers and industry actors, members of Cosmet'in Lyon. Together, they appointed session chairs and proposed topics of scientific, academic, clinical and industrial research, while providing a forum for young researchers.

How does this knowledge guide / support the development of new products by brands?

Nico Forraz: Brands must both capture market trends and watch for scientific and technological innovations. It is the consideration of the whole that makes it possible to develop and validate the relevance and effectiveness of future products.

What types of products more specifically?

Nico Forraz: The cosmetic product becomes a preventive means, intended to maintain the balance of the skin, through a daily routine in particular. It aims, mainly, to fight against pollution, skin aging, to protect from the sun, to regenerate, to hydrate. These are the main claims that contribute to the health of the skin.

What perspectives do these discoveries offer consumers?

Nico Forraz: These findings offer consumers innovation, efficiency, and safety. Cosmet'in Lyon is very involved in these three aspects and wants to make this knowledge accessible to them. She is also preparing a general public event that will take place in the Lyon region at the end of 2021, to explain how cosmetic products are developed. Then in early 2022, she will present the cosmetics industry, its structure and its business horizons to a high school audience. A booklet and a forum for careers in the beauty industry are in preparation. Education is at the heart of our mission, to bring together all players, academics, clinics, industry and the general public.

Cosmet’in Lyon Skin Science Days : les 20 et 21 mai 2021, en ligne

« How clinical experience highlights skin biology mechanisms’ » : c’est le thème proposé par Cosmet’in Lyon (Ex. CED) pour sa XXXème édition des CIL Skin Science Days (auparavant Journées européennes de dermocosmétologie). L’événement se déroulera les 20 et 21 mai 2021, avec le professeur Richard Gallo, invité d’honneur. Il se tiendra en anglais et sous forme de conférence en ligne, en raison du contexte sanitaire mondial.

Une vingtaine d’experts internationaux de la dermocosmétologie apporteront leur éclairage d’un point de vue recherche, clinique et industriel à travers huit sessions détaillées dans le programme à télécharger sur le site. Les adhérents de Cosmet’in Lyon bénéficient d’un tarif préférentiel.

Organisée tous les deux ans, et d’un très haut niveau scientifique reconnu par la profession, cette manifestation avait rassemblé plus de 170 participants, chercheurs et industriels, en 2019. Le contexte sanitaire a incité à retenir le format de webconférence cette année.

Cosmet’in Lyon offre un programme de visibilité attractif à l’occasion du trentième anniversaire de cet événement.


Entretien avec Nico Forraz , président de Cosmet’in Lyon

Que représentent les Cosmet’in Lyon Skin Science Days pour la profession ?

Nico Forraz : Soulignons tout d’abord que c’est le XXXème congrès, une date anniversaire donc ! Nous aurions aimé le tenir en présentiel car nous sommes fiers d’accueillir les experts en dermocosmétologie du monde entier sur notre territoire. Le contexte en a décidé autrement. Ce congrès a lieu tous les deux ans, depuis la naissance de l’association en 1962. Il a pour but de mettre en lumière les dernières innovations scientifiques et les progrès en biologie cutanée. C’est d’autant plus important que la biologie cutanée est directement liée à la dermatologie et la cosmétologie. C’est donc une occasion rare de rassembler l’ensemble des acteurs qui contribuent aux développements innovants à destination des soins de la peau et du bien-être.

Qu’est-ce qui fait la spécificité des Skin Science Days ?

Nico Forraz : L’événement est organisé par un comité de bénévoles, implantés dans la région AURA et issus d’univers académiques, cliniques et industriels, qui partagent un intérêt commun : la dermocosmétologie. C’est cette alliance singulière qui fait l’ADN de l’association, la spécificité des événements en général et celles des Skin Science Days en particulier.

Quelles sont les découvertes et les tendances émergentes en biologie cutanée ?

Nico Forraz : Ce sont justement les sujets qui seront abordés durant le congrès : l’interaction microbiote et peau humaine ; les facteurs environnementaux tels que la pollution, et leur influence, notamment sur le statut inflammatoire de la peau ; les avancées autour du vieillissement cutané, lié à l’allongement de la durée de vie ; les progrès réalisés pour renouveler, réparer et cicatriser la peau. Nous aborderons aussi les nouvelles technologies, véritables passerelles entre les traitements cliniques et la cosmétologie, l’ingénierie tissulaire qui permet de modéliser les traitement cosmétiques et esthétiques. Il y a beaucoup à dire !

Pourquoi avoir choisi ce thème de l’impact des expériences cliniques sur les mécanismes biologiques de la peau ?

Nico Forraz : Traditionnellement, on part des découvertes effectuées en laboratoire puis on aborde les expériences cliniques. Nous avons voulu traiter le sujet sous l’angle inverse : en proposant un bilan des découvertes issues des expériences cliniques et en démontrant comment elles stimulent la recherche fondamentale et l’innovation en biologie cutanée.

Comment ont été sélectionnés les intervenants ?

Nico Forraz : Le comité d’organisation, piloté par Nicolas Bechetoille et Aurélie Pagnonminot, respectivement secrétaire et trésorière de Cosmet’in Lyon, s’est associé à des chercheurs académiques et à des acteurs industriels, membres de Cosmet’in Lyon. Ensemble, ils ont nommé des présidents de sessions et proposé des thématiques de recherche scientifique, académique, clinique, industrielle, tout en offrant une tribune aux jeunes chercheurs.

En quoi ces connaissances orientent-elles/soutiennent-elles les développements de nouveaux produits par les marques ?

Nico Forraz : Les marques doivent à la fois capter les tendances des marchés et veiller aux innovations scientifiques et technologiques. C’est la considération de l’ensemble qui permet de développer et de valider la pertinence et l’efficacité des futurs produits.

De quels types de produits plus spécifiquement ?

Nico Forraz : Le produit cosmétique devient un moyen préventif, destiné à maintenir l’équilibre de la peau, par le biais d’une routine quotidienne en particulier. Il vise, principalement, à lutter contre la pollution, le vieillissement cutané, à protéger du soleil, à régénérer, hydrater. Ce sont les principales revendications qui contribuent à la santé de la peau.

Quelles perspectives ces découvertes offrent-elles aux consommateurs ?

Nico Forraz : Ces découvertes offrent aux consommateurs de l’innovation, de l’efficacité, et de la sécurité. Cosmet’in Lyon est très impliquée sur ces trois volets et veut leur rendre cette connaissance accessible. Elle prépare d’ailleurs un événement grand public qui se déroulera en région lyonnaise fin 2021, pour expliquer comment les produits cosmétiques sont développés. Puis début 2022, elle présentera la filière cosmétique, sa structuration et ses horizons métier à un public lycéen. Un livret et un forum des métiers de l’industrie de la beauté sont en cours de préparation. La pédagogie est au cœur de notre mission, pour rassembler tous les acteurs, académiques, cliniques, industriels et grand public.