15.3 C
Paris
Sunday, September 25, 2022
- publicity -

L'Occitane and VPI sign their first eco-recharge in 100% recycled PP

Publicity

Since its beginnings, the L'Occitane en Provence brand has been committed to reducing the environmental footprint of its packaging, and wishes to fully integrate it into a circular economy approach. The increase in reusable or refillable solutions has been at the heart of its strategy since its first eco-recharging launched on the market in 2008.
Today, VPI, a French specialist in the injection of plastic parts at the service of the luxury industry, is carrying out a new ambitious and innovative project for the brand: a new type of refill for one of its iconic products, the Utra Riche Corps Karité Cream.

 New refill and new material

Eco-responsibility is at the heart of L'Occitane's attention. Its strong CSR commitment is reflected in its formulations and selection of ingredients, as well as in its packaging and accessories. The products are designed according to the principles of ecodesign and the Ultra Rich Body Shea Cream refill operates several levers to minimize its environmental impact.
Beyond the implementation of a refill, the L'Occitane teams have chosen to use a 100% PCR (post consumer recycled) PP material. They are thus working to revalue fossil resources and to better integrate Occitane into the circular economy process.

The 100% PCR PP cup offers the advantages of preserving natural resources, supporting recycling channels and reducing the environmental footprint of the entire supply chain, thanks to the inherent lightness of its material.
The use of 100% recycled PP and the creation of the cup are real technical advances for which VPI has demonstrated its commitment. The management of batches of material from recycling, their traceability, the dimensional control of a 200 ml format, all in a tight development timing are the real feats achieved by VPI for Occitane.

Reinventing the new gestures of iconic product packaging

The Ultra Rich Body Shea 200 ml refill represented a major technical challenge. L'Occitane requested VPI's know-how to respond to a double problem including the mastery of a new material and the implementation of a new gesture.
The collaboration of the teams, involving a design study on the grip, for unclipping and reclipsing, made it possible to invent an intuitive and pleasant gesture. The cup, with a capacity of 200 ml, heat-sealed after filling, is sold alone, and is positioned in the aluminum packaging acquired during the first purchase.

"At VPI, we are honored to work with committed companies like L'Occitane en Provence. We thank the teams in place who, upstream, think about eco-design and who, in the development and industrialization of products, invest themselves so that the reflections carried out lead to beautiful projects truly eco-designed. We are proud to have been able to complete all this research on recycled materials and to see such ambitious action plans come to fruition," said Marc Beltrami, VPI's Chief Commercial Officer.

"The Ultra Rich Shea Body Cream refill solution allows us to significantly reduce our dependence on plastic compared to the old product, it is more than 40 Tons that are saved annually. It also meets our ambition to maximize our use of post-consumer recycled plastic. The VPI teams were able to respond perfectly to this challenge," said David Bayard, Packaging R&D Director of L'Occitane en Provence.

Publicity
External resources

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

X

19.9 C
Paris
vendredi 19 août 2022
- publicité -

L’Occitane et VPI signent leur première éco-recharge en PP 100% recyclé

Publicité

 La marque L’Occitane en Provence est depuis ses débuts engagée dans la réduction de l’empreinte environnementale de ses packagings, et souhaite les inscrire pleinement dans une démarche d’économie circulaire. L’augmentation de solutions réutilisables ou remplissables est au coeur de sa stratégie depuis sa première éco-recharge mise sur le marché en 2008. 
Aujourd’hui, VPI, spécialiste français de l’injection des pièces plastiques au service de l’industrie du luxe, réalise pour la marque un nouveau projet ambitieux et innovant : un nouveau type de recharge pour l’un de ses produits iconiques la Crème Utra Riche Corps Karité.

 Nouvelle recharge et nouveau matériau 

L’écoresponsabilité est au coeur des attentions de L’Occitane. Son fort engagement RSE se concrétise dans ses formulations et sélection d’ingrédients, tout autant que dans ses packagings et accessoires. Les produits sont pensés selon les principes de l’écoconception et la recharge Crème Ultra Riche Corps Karité actionne plusieurs leviers pour minimiser son impact environnemental. 
Au-delà de la mise en place d’une recharge, les équipes de L’Occitane ont choisi d’utiliser une matière PP 100 % PCR (post consumer recycled). Elles s’emploient ainsi à la revalorisation de ressources fossiles et à mieux intégrer l’Occitane dans le processus d’économie circulaire. 

La cupule en PP 100 % PCR offre les avantages de la préservation des ressources naturelles, du soutien des filières de recyclage et d’une diminution de l’empreinte environnementale de toute la supply chain, de par la légèreté inhérente de son matériau. 
L’utilisation du PP 100 % recyclé et la création de la cupule sont de véritables avancées techniques pour lesquelles VPI a su démontrer son engagement. La gestion des lots de matière issue du recyclage, leur traçabilité, la maîtrise dimensionnelle d’un format 200 ml, le tout dans un timing de développement serré sont les véritables prouesses réalisées par VPI pour l’Occitane. 

Réinventer la nouvelle gestuelle d’un packaging produit iconique 

La recharge Crème Ultra Riche Corps Karité 200 ml a représenté un défi technique majeur. L’Occitane a sollicité le savoir-faire de VPI pour répondre à une double problématique comprenant la maîtrise d’un nouveau matériau et la mise en place d’une nouvelle gestuelle. 
La collaboration des équipes, impliquant une étude de conception sur la prise en main, pour le déclipsage et le reclipsage, a permis d’inventer une gestuelle intuitive et agréable. La cupule, d’une contenance de 200 ml, thermoscellée après remplissage, est vendue seule, et vient se positionner dans le packaging en aluminium acquis lors du premier achat. 

“Chez VPI, nous sommes honorés de travailler avec des sociétés engagées comme L’Occitane en Provence. Nous remercions les équipes en place qui, en amont, réfléchissent à l’éco-conception et qui, au développement et à l’industrialisation des produits, s’investissent pour que les réflexions menées aboutissent à de beaux projets réellement éco-conçus. Nous sommes fiers d’avoir pu aller au bout de toutes ces recherches effectuées sur les matières recyclées et de voir se concrétiser des plans d’actions aussi ambitieux”, a déclaré Marc Beltrami, Directeur Commercial de VPI. 

“La solution de recharge Crème Ultra Riche Corps Karité nous permet de réduire significativement notre dépendance au plastique en comparaison de l’ancien produit, c’est plus de 40 Tonnes qui sont économisées annuellement. Elle répond également à notre ambition de maximiser notre utilisation de plastique recyclé Post-Consommation. Les équipes VPI ont parfaitement su répondre à ce challenge” a déclaré David Bayard, Directeur R&D Packaging de l’Occitane en Provence. 

Publicité
Ressources externes

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

Nous vous offrons notre numéro d'été ! Accédez librement à la version numérique d'Industries CosmétiquesJe lis !
+
X