- advertising -

Natrue passes the 5,000 mark for certified products since 2009

Natrue is a flagship organization for the sector. Since 2009 and the first 400 certified products, the label has continued to expand across Europe and beyond. Today's 5,000 products testify to the strategic choice of 230 brands worldwide (Europe, Japan, USA, Australia, former Eastern Bloc countries, and more recently Russia, India, Lebanon, Thailand and Turkey). This influence demonstrates that the label is perfectly suited to the global demand for transparency in natural and organic cosmetics.
Natrue is the only truly representative organization for natural and organic cosmetics sitting on the European Commission Working Group on Cosmetic Products., as such, it can make its voice heard at the point where the development and future of European legislation on cosmetics are at stake

It all began with a body oil, the first product to be certified in 2009! The milestone reached at the beginning of 2017 is significant both in terms of its number (5,000 products) and in terms of the opportunity it provides to take stock on the main developments in this sector since the label was created.

-> Variety of certified productss :
For example, nail care products. The launch of Natrue-certified nail varnishes is a very recent milestone for the cosmetics industry. Until very recently, it seemed impossible to manufacture a nail polish that could be considered a natural product.
The full range of hair care products are now represented, whereas just a few years ago, the use of surfactants of natural origin could be problematic. Their foaming power sometimes left something to be desired, but the development of new raw materials, combined with ingredients of natural origin, has enabled the design of new products that are both effective and pleasant to use.
Multifunctional products (for example, to color and protect, like BB creams) are now available in certified versions. Women in a hurry who want an "all-in-one" product don't have to sacrifice their desire for naturalness for practicality.
Men's products deserve a special mention. In addition to shaving products, natural and organic brands now offer shower gels and shampoos specially designed for men.
Perfumed waters directly from nature are also a recent innovation.
-> Formulation trends : an interesting development involves sourcing active ingredients from all over the world: extracts and resins from Latin America, berries from Scandinavia, shea butter and African plant extracts (such as Kigelia extract)and the rediscovery new ways of exploiting local, sometimes common ingredients: olives, pine and conifer resin, aloe vera, and their derivatives.
-> Growing consumer interest in labelled products. For natural and organic, but also fair trade, vegan or halal. It has become commonplace to see several labels on the same product. In the midst of this emergence, the confirmed success of Natrue is due to criteria that go far beyond a simple fashion effect.
-> Natrue label guarantees
An independent Scientific Committee defines the accepted ingredients and the minimum and maximum thresholds to guarantee maximum naturalness and a minimum of ingredients derived from natural ingredients.
Accredited certification bodies are independent and oversee various certifications (cosmetics, food, textiles, sustainable development).
Verification of compliance with Natrue criteria takes place in two stages: a formulation check followed by an on-site visit. Renewal takes place every two years. Another organization assesses certifiers every 4 years, to verify the competence of the bodies responsible for certification.
External resources

Sponsored content

site-industries-cosmetiques A vibrant advertisement for Croda Beauty featuring a close-up of orange flowers with a blurred background effect and the text "Croda Beauty, intelligent science to improve life" now includes Phytess.

Phytessence™ Osmanthus, the first geo-skincare botanical extract by Croda Beauty

Discover how this innovative natural ingredient helps the skin to better face climate change, particularly the harmful effects of sun rays and heat.
site-industries-cosmetiques A concentrated individual in a lab coat examining a small jar containing a pink substance, a pioneering cosmetic innovation using natural ingredients in Brittany.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline - the longest in the country.

Related articles

Our last issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

en_USEnglish

Natrue passe le cap des 5 000 produits certifiés depuis 2009

Natrue est une organisation-phare pour le secteur. Depuis l’année 2009 et les 400 premiers produits certifiés, le label a continué son expansion à travers l’Europe et au-delà. Les 5 000 produits d’aujourd’hui attestent du choix stratégique de 230 marques dans le monde entier (Europe, Japon, Etats-Unis, Australie, pays de l’ancien bloc de l’Est, plus récemment Russie, Inde, Liban, Thaïlande et Turquie). Cette influence démontre que le label est parfaitement adapté aux exigences globales de transparence pour la cosmétique naturelle et bio.
Natrue est la seule organisation réellement représentative de la Cosmétique naturelle et biologique siègeant dans le groupe de travail de la Commission Européenne, le European Commission Working Group on Cosmetic Products, elle peut à ce titre faire porter sa voix à l’endroit où se jouent le développement et l’avenir de la législation européenne sur les cosmétiques

Tout a commencé avec une huile pour le corps, premier produit à être certifié en 2009 ! Le cap atteint en ce début 2017 est important par son nombre (5 000 produits) et en ce qu’il donne l’occasion de faire le point sur les principales évolutions de ce secteur depuis la création du label.

–> Variété des produits certifiés :
Par exemple, les produits pour les ongles. La mise sur le marché de vernis à ongles certifiés Natrue est très récente et constitue un cap pour l’industrie cosmétique. Jusqu’à très récemment, il semblait impossible de fabriquer un vernis qui puisse être considéré comme un produit naturel.
Toute la gamme des produits capillaires sont désormais représentés, alors qu’il y a encore quelques années, l’utilisation de tensioactifs d’origine naturelle pouvait poser problème. Leur pouvoir moussant laissait parfois à désirer, mais le développement de nouvelles matières premières, en association avec des ingrédients d’origine naturelle, ont permis la conception de nouveaux produits, à la fois efficaces et d’utilisation agréable.
Les produits multifonctions (par exemple, colorer et protéger, comme les BB crèmes) existent désormais en version certifiée. Les femmes pressées qui veulent un « tout en un » ne sont pas obligées de sacrifier leur envie de naturel au côté pratique.
Les produits pour homme méritent une mention spéciale. En plus des produits de rasage, des marques naturelles et bio proposent désormais des gels douches et des shampoings spécialement conçus pour les hommes.
Les eaux parfumées directement issues de la nature sont également une nouveauté récente.
–> Tendances en matière de formulation : une évolution intéressante concerne le sourcing d’actifs venus du monde entier : extraits et résines d’Amérique Latine, baies de Scandinavie, beurre de karité et extraits de plantes africains (comme l’extrait de Kigelia )et la redécouverte de nouvelles façons d’exploiter des ingrédients locaux, parfois courants : olive, résine de pins et conifères, aloe vera, et leurs dérivés.
–> L’intérêt grandissant des consommateurs pour les produits labellisés. Pour le naturel et le bio, mais aussi le commerce équitable, le vegan ou le halal. Il est devenu courant de voir plusieurs labels sur un même produit.  Au milieu de cette émergence, le succès confirmé de Natrue, tient à des critères qui vont bien au-delà d’un simple effet de mode.
–> Les garanties du label Natrue
Un Comité Scientifique indépendant définit les ingrédients acceptés et les seuils minimums et maximum pour garantir une naturalité maximum et un minimum d’ingrédients dérivés de naturel.
Les organismes certificateurs accrédités sont indépendants et supervisent par ailleurs différentes certifications (cosmétique, mais aussi alimentation, textile, engagement développement durable).
La vérification de la conformité avec les critères Natrue se passe en deux étapes : une vérification de la formulation suivie d’une visite sur site. Le renouvellement se fait tous les deux ans. Un autre organisme évalue les certificateurs tous les 4 ans, pour vérifier la compétence des organismes responsables de la certification.

X