site-industries-cosmetiques A cover of Industries Cosmétiques magazine
Discover all the innovations in perfumery and cosmetics.
Discover our special report: Save the People. Enjoy your direct access!
If you prefer the paper edition, please subscribe to our magazine
- advertising -

Safety at the heart of Cosmetic Valley's scientific workshop

As part of the partnership between Cosmetic Valley and Innovation Chimie Carnot/ I2C, an interactive workshop was held on Thursday, March 22, 2018 at Le Havre Normandie University on the theme of "Innovating in cosmetics with safety in mind". This scientific workshop is part of Cosmetic Valley's strategy of working in close partnership with the academic and industrial fabric around issues of Safety, Normandy's Domain of Territorial Strategic Excellence.

Lectures and presentations provided an insight into a wide range of subjects, including the mapping and reduction of preservatives in formulas, the analysis of plant extracts, outstanding research facilities, and product and consumer safety. Companies in the cosmetics industry were able to exchange views with I2C Carnot researchers and take part in a tour of URCOM laboratories and interactive technical workshops. The aim of the day, which brought together some fifty participants, was to transform these contacts into joint development projects between companies and research.

Innovation Chimie Carnot / I2C in brief 

I2C brings together 8 research entities in Normandy, France's 2nd largest chemical industry region. Pooling equipment and a high level of recognized expertise in organic, polymer, analytical and formulation chemistry, I2C supports innovation in the finished chemicals sector, particularly in cosmetics. The institute's researchers work in the fields of raw materials, product development and characterization, formulation, galenics, product-environment interactions and quality control. Cosmetic Valley is a member of the I2C Carnot Strategic Organization Committee, whose role is to build a shared vision, propose strategic directions and improve the match between supply and demand.

A major player in I2C , the URCOM laboratory (Research Unit in Organic and Macromolecular Chemistry) is made up of 12 teacher-researchers. The unit is involved in fundamental and applied research projects, supported by the Cosmetic Valley cluster, with numerous industrial partnerships (Johnson & Johnson, Endupack, Air Liquide, etc.) in various forms (CIFRE, FUI, collaborative contracts). URCOM's researchers can therefore be mobilized in a variety of areas: formulation and sensory analysis, prediction of sensory properties using instrumental measurements, the study of skin surface properties, etc.

www. i2c.normandie - univ.fr 

External resources

Sponsored content

site-industries-cosmetiques A vibrant advertisement for Croda Beauty featuring a close-up of orange flowers with a blurred background effect and the text "Croda Beauty, intelligent science to improve life" now includes Phytess.

Phytessence™ Osmanthus, the first geo-skincare botanical extract by Croda Beauty

Discover how this innovative natural ingredient helps the skin to better face climate change, particularly the harmful effects of sun rays and heat.
site-industries-cosmetiques A concentrated individual in a lab coat examining a small jar containing a pink substance, a pioneering cosmetic innovation using natural ingredients in Brittany.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline - the longest in the country.

Related articles

Our last issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

en_USEnglish

La sécurité au cœur de l’atelier scientifique de la Cosmetic Valley

Dans le cadre du partenariat entre Cosmetic Valley et Innovation Chimie Carnot/ I2C, un atelier interactif a été organisé le jeudi 22 mars 2018 à l’Université Le Havre Normandie sur le thème « Innover en cosmétique en tout sécurité ». Cet atelier scientifique s’inscrit dans le cadre de la stratégie de Cosmetic Valley qui travaille en partenariat étroit avec le tissu académique et industriel autour des questions de Sécurité, Domaine d’Excellence Stratégique Territorial de la Normandie.

Conférences et interventions ont permis de mieux appréhender de nombreux sujets : cartographie et diminution des conservateurs en formule, analyse des extraits végétaux, équipements remarquables de recherche, sécurité du produit et du consommateur. Les entreprises de la filière cosmétique ont pu échanger avec les chercheurs de I2C Carnot et participer à la visite des laboratoires de l’URCOM ainsi qu’à des ateliers techniques interactifs. L’objectif de cette journée qui a réuni une cinquantaine de participants était de transformer ces mises en relations en projets de développement communs entre entreprises et recherche.

Innovation Chimie Carnot / I2C en bref 

I2C regroupe 8 entités de recherche de Normandie, 2 ème territoire de l’industrie chimique en France. Mutualisant les équipements et un haut niveau d’expertise reconnue en chimie organique des polymères, analytique et de la formulation , I2C accompagne l’innovation dans les secteurs de la chimie finie, notamment en cosmétique. Les chercheurs de l’institut interviennent dans les domaines des matières premières, l’élaboration et la caractérisation des produits, la formulation, la galénique, les interactions Produits – Environnement et le contrôle qualité. Cosmetic Valley est membre du Comité d’Organisation Stratégique d e I2C Carnot qui a pour rôle de construire une vision partagée, proposer des axes stratégiques et améliorer la mise en relation entre l’offre et la demande.

Acteur majeur de I2C , le laboratoire URCOM (Unité de Recherche en Chimie Organique et Macromoléculaire) est constitué de 12 enseignants – chercheurs. L’Unité est impliquée dans des projets de recherches fondamentaux et appliqués, soutenus par le pôle Cosmetic Valley, avec de nombreux partenariats industriels ( Johnson et Johnson, Endupack, Air Liquide…) sous diverses formes ( CIFRE, FUI, contrats collaboratifs ). Les chercheurs de l’URCOM peuvent donc être mobilisés sur différentes thématiques : formulation et analyses sensorielles, prédiction de propriétés sensorielles par des mesures instrumentales, l’étude des propriétés de surface de la peau …

www. i2c.normandie – univ.fr 

X