13.4 C
Paris
Sunday, September 25, 2022
- publicity -

SFly revolutionizes chitin and chitosan production to provide controlled and traceable manufacturing in Europe

Publicity

The Isère-based start-up has developed an original process based on the Hermetia Illucens (Black Soldier Fly) fly allowing the mass production of chitosan, a high added value product used in the medical, pharmaceutical, cosmetic, environmental and industrial fields. .
SFly, a start-up that has developed an innovative insect-chitin bioconversion model, has just successfully validated its integrated process to extract optimally (environmental and financial footprint), the chitin constituting the exoskeleton of the fly Hermetia Illucens , and the manufacture of a certified quality chitosan.
Chitosan, already used in many products (suture, artificial skin, anti-aging cream, non-allergic and anti-bacterial textile fiber, fungicide, fertilizer, etc.), is a key resource with very promising applications. .
This first major step in the development of the start-up allows it to complete the financing of the second phase of its strategic plan: the setting up of its pilot production unit on the Inspira platform in Salaise-sur-Sanne in Isère.

A stable and controlled process

SFly has developed a controlled process ensuring traceability, repeatability and quality control throughout the manufacturing process. The project is the result of more than four years of research carried out on own funds and has benefited from private funding of € 400k and support from the Bpifrance innovation fund in the amount of € 200k. The objective is to develop a new French industrial insect production sector to manufacture, using high-performance chemical processes, medical and cosmetic grade chitin and chitosan.

Bio-resources of the future

These strategic products, whose global production does not today meet the needs of industrialists (the known demand for chitin in 2017 was more than 75,000 tonnes for 40,000 tonnes produced), are currently extracted from the shrimp shell, mainly by Asian companies. Global demand for chitosan is growing rapidly (16% per year) due to its many applications such as for example in water treatment, food and beverages, cosmetics, industry, biomedicine and products. pharmaceuticals, agrochemicals. The global chitin derivatives market is expected to reach $ 63 billion in 2021 according to a report by Global Industry Analysts Inc. (chitin and chitosan derivatives market report - 2015).

»The validation of our process represents a capital milestone in our development in addition to being a great satisfaction. All the stages have been meticulously analyzed and optimized: large-scale rearing of the Hermetia Illucens larva, control of larvae feeding, fly reproduction, chemical process for chitin extraction, production of chitosan and recovery of waste. Ensuring traceability and repeatability throughout the process, from input to finished product, is a first that sets us apart from current chitin / chitosan producers. We can thus offer molecules that were previously inaccessible. Another advantage of our chitosan is its purity which will allow us to achieve 100% of our production in pharmaceutical grade. Next steps, our financing round and the construction of our pilot production unit, ”specifies Philippe Crochard, Co-founder of SFly.

Publicity
External resources

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

X

SFly révolutionne la production de chitine et chitosan pour fournir une fabrication maîtrisée et traçable en Europe

La start-up iséroise a mis au point un process original à partir de la mouche Hermetia Illucens (Black Soldier Fly) permettant de produire en masse le chitosan, produit à haute valeur ajoutée utilisé dans les domaines médical, pharmaceutique, cosmétique, environnemental et industriel.
SFly, start-up qui a développé un modèle innovant de bioconversion insecte-chitine, vient de valider avec succès son procédé intégré permettant d’extraire de manière optimale (empreinte environnementale et financière), la chitine constituant l’exosquelette de la mouche Hermetia Illucens, et la fabrication d’un chitosan de qualité certifiée.
Le chitosan, d’ores et déjà utilisé dans de nombreux produits (fil de suture, peau artificielle, crème anti-âge, fibre textile non- allergique et anti-bactérienne, fongicide, fertilisant…), est une ressource clé aux applications très prometteuses.
Cette première étape majeure dans le développement de la jeune pousse lui permet de boucler le financement de la deuxième phase de son plan stratégique : le montage de son unité pilote de production sur la plate-forme Inspira à Salaise-sur-Sanne en Isère.

Un process stable et maîtrisé

SFly a mis au point un process maîtrisé, assurant traçabilité, répétabilité et contrôle qualité tout au long de la fabrication. Le projet est issu de plus de quatre ans de recherche réalisée sur fonds propres et a bénéficié d’un financement privé de 400 k€ et du concours du fonds innovation de Bpifrance à hauteur de 200 k€. L’objectif est de développer une nouvelle filière française de production industrielle d’insectes pour fabriquer, par des procédés chimiques performants, de la chitine et du chitosan de grade médical et cosmétologique.

Des bio ressources d’avenir

Ces produits stratégiques, dont la production mondiale ne permet pas aujourd’hui de répondre aux besoins des industriels (la demande connue en chitine en 2017 était de plus de 75.000 tonnes pour 40.000 tonnes produites), sont actuellement extraits de la carapace de crevettes, majoritairement par des sociétés asiatiques. La demande mondiale en chitosan est en forte croissance (16% par an) en raison de ses nombreuses applications comme par exemple dans le traitement de l’eau, les aliments et les boissons, les cosmétiques, l’industrie, la biomédecine et les produits pharmaceutiques, l’agrochimie. Le marché mondial des dérivés de la chitine devrait atteindre 63 milliards de dollars en 2021 selon un rapport de Global Industry Analysts Inc. (chitin and chitosan derivatives market report – 2015).

” La validation de notre process représente un jalon capital dans notre développement en plus d’être une grande satisfaction. Toutes les étapes ont été minutieusement décortiquées et optimisées : élevage à grande échelle de la larve d’Hermetia Illucens, maîtrise de l’alimentation des larves, reproduction de la mouche, procédé chimique d’extraction de la chitine, production de chitosan et valorisation des déchets. Assurer la traçabilité et la répétabilité pendant tout le process, de l’intrant au produit fini, est une première qui nous démarque totalement des producteurs actuels de chitine/chitosan. Nous pouvons ainsi proposer des molécules qui étaient jusqu’alors inaccessibles. Un autre avantage de notre chitosan est sa pureté qui nous permettra de réaliser 100 % de notre production en grade pharmaceutique. Prochaines étapes, notre tour de financement et la construction de notre unité pilote de production,” précise Philippe Crochard, Co-fondateur de SFly.

X