8.6 C
Paris
Saturday, November 26, 2022
- publicity -

Global Bioenergies successfully continues to scale up the C3 process

Global Bioenergies announces a new milestone in scaling up its renewable resource conversion process into isopropanol and acetone. These two bio-based compounds target important markets in cosmetics and solvents. They can also be converted to polypropylene, a key component of the plastics industry, to more than $70 billion. A first pilot test was successfully conducted in December 2017. A demonstrator test corresponding to a new scale-up of a factor of 20 has now been successfully carried out and paves the way for a first commercial plant.
The C3 process, which enables the production of renewable isopropanol and acetone, is the second process in Global Bioenergies' portfolio to reach the scale of the industrial demonstrator. This process is based on a disruptive innovation: from bacteria to metabolism redesigned to maximize the use of sugars, thereby reducing the production costs of bio-based compounds.
Isopropanol and acetone are two compounds used by many industries (solvents, materials, cosmetics), and can be converted to propylene and then polypropylene, one of the main compounds in the plastics industry, with a market in excess of $70 billion.
The market's appeal for bio-sourced products, including green polypropylene, comes from environmental commitments made by major industrialists in fields such as food, cosmetics, toys and furniture.
ARD, which already operates Global Bioenergies' industrial pilot for the Isobuten process, had led the first phase of scaling up this isopropanol and acetone production process at the end of 2017.
The next phase, corresponding to the demonstration scale, was sub-processed to the Bioprocess Pilot Facility (BPF), located in Delft in the Netherlands. ARD and BPF are both members of the Smartpilots consortium, which brings together the main European institutions focused on scaling up innovative processes.
A first test was successfully carried out: the laboratory and pilot results were reproduced in a 4 m3 fermenter.

Frédéric Easter, Global Bioenergies' Chief Operating Officer, said: "The close collaboration between the Global Bioenergies and GMP teams has been one of the keys to success. We are very pleased with the responsiveness and industrial experience of GMP. The results not only validated this stage of scaling our process, but also demonstrated the robustness of it. ".

Marc Delcourt, Managing Director of Global Bioenergies, adds: "This fermentation scale is the last before commercial-scale exploitation. We still have several validations to do, and engineering work has only recently begun, but we are already discussing with major international manufacturers the commercial deployment of this process. The C3 process is now the second pillar of Global Bioenergies' value creation, after the Isobuten process. "

Publicity
External resources

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

site-industries-cosmetiques Une couverture du magazine Industries Cosmétiques
Discover all the innovations in perfumery and cosmetics.
Discover our special report: Save the People. Enjoy your direct access!
If you prefer the paper edition, please subscribe to our magazine
- publicité -

Global Bioenergies poursuit avec succès la mise à l’échelle du procédé C3

Global Bioenergies annonce l’atteinte d’un nouveau jalon dans la mise à l’échelle de son procédé de conversion de ressources renouvelables en isopropanol et en acétone. Ces deux composés bio-sourcés visent d’importants marchés dans la cosmétique et les solvants. Ils peuvent aussi être convertis en polypropylène, un composant clé de l’industrie des plastiques, au marché supérieur à 70 milliards de dollars. Un premier test en pilote avait été réalisé avec succès en décembre 2017. Un test en démonstrateur correspondant à une nouvelle montée en échelle d’un facteur 20 a maintenant été réalisé avec succès et ouvre la voie vers une première usine commerciale.
Le procédé C3, qui permet la production d’isopropanol et d’acétone renouvelables, est le deuxième procédé du portefeuille de Global Bioenergies à atteindre l’échelle du démonstrateur industriel. Ce procédé est basé sur une innovation de rupture : des bactéries au métabolisme remanié de façon à maximiser l’utilisation des sucres, et réduire ainsi les coûts de production des composés bio-sourcés.
L’isopropanol et l’acétone sont deux composés utilisés par de nombreuses industries (solvants, matériaux, cosmétiques), et peuvent être convertis en propylène, puis en polypropylène, un des principaux composés de l’industrie des plastiques, avec un marché supérieur à 70 milliards de dollars.
L’appel du marché en produits bio-sourcés, dont le polypropylène vert, vient des engagements environnementaux pris par les grands industriels de domaines tels que l’alimentaire, la cosmétique, les jouets et l’ameublement.
La société ARD, qui exploite déjà le pilote industriel de Global Bioenergies pour le procédé Isobutène, avait conduit fin 2017 la première étape de mise à l’échelle de ce procédé de production d‘isopropanol et d’acétone.
La phase suivante, correspondant à l’échelle de démonstration, a été sous-traitée à la société Bioprocess Pilot Facility (BPF), située à Delft aux Pays-Bas. ARD et BPF sont tous deux membres du consortium Smartpilots, qui regroupe les principales institutions européennes focalisées sur mise à l’échelle de procédés innovants.
Un premier test a été réalisé avec succès : ont été reproduits en fermenteur de 4 m3 les résultats obtenus au laboratoire et en pilote.

Frédéric Pâques, directeur des opérations de Global Bioenergies déclare: “La collaboration étroite entre les équipes de Global Bioenergies et de BPF a été une des clés du succès. Nous sommes très satisfaits de la réactivité et de l’expérience industrielle de BPF. Les résultats ont non seulement validé cette étape de mise à l’échelle de notre procédé, mais ont aussi démontré la robustesse de celui-ci. ”.

Marc Delcourt, directeur général de Global Bioenergies, complète : “Cette échelle de fermentation est la dernière avant l’exploitation à échelle commerciale. Il nous reste encore plusieurs validations à faire, et les travaux d’ingénierie n’ont commencé que récemment, mais nous discutons déjà avec de grands industriels internationaux du déploiement commercial de ce procédé. Le procédé C3 constitue maintenant le second pilier de création de valeur de Global Bioenergies, après le procédé Isobutène. ”

Ressources externes

Contenu sponsorisé

site-industries-cosmetiques Une publicité vibrante pour Croda Beauty avec un gros plan de fleurs orange avec un effet de flou en arrière-plan et le texte « Croda Beauty, une science intelligente pour améliorer la vie » inclut désormais Phytess

Phytessence™ Osmanthus, the first geo-skincare botanical extract by Croda Beauty

Discover how this innovative natural ingredient helps the skin to better face climate change, particularly the harmful effects of sun rays and heat.
site-industries-cosmetiques Un individu concentré en blouse de laboratoire examinant un petit pot contenant une substance rose, innovation cosmétique pionnière avec des ingrédients naturels en Bretagne.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline – the longest in the country.

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

fr_FRFrançais