12.7 C
Paris
Thursday, October 6, 2022
- publicity -

SGS offers a unique analytical method to test the list of 57 allergens in the European Commission's viewfinder|

Publicity

♦ In its laboratory in Rouen, SGS, the world leader in testing, inspection and certification, has specialized in chemical, physico-chemical and ecotoxicological analyses for several decades.
♦ Since 2021, SGS has been offering cosmetics manufacturers and distributors a unique analytical method for testing the 57 allergens defined in SCCS Opinion 1459/11 of June 2012, which is currently the subject of a draft European regulation, with an expected entry into force in Q1 2022.
♦ Adapted from IFRA, this new method was developed using gas chromatography (GC) coupled with mass spectrometry (MS). Its reduced number of injections per sample saves time in the reprocessing of data. Beyond the ingredients, the analyses focus particularly on the finished products because the presence of possible allergen precursors and the instability of certain formulas, can generate allergens not predicted during the development phase.


After nickel allergy, perfume allergy is the most common skin allergy. However, fragrances are almost always present in cosmetic products, whether in the form of synthetic substances or of natural origin, such as essential oils. They can potentially trigger a contact allergy affecting the skin, usually the face, armpits and hands or cause skin irritation in some individuals such as eczema.
The SGS laboratory in Rouen, which specialises in chemical, physico-chemical and ecotoxicological analyses, has more than 100 employees and processes around 50,000 samples per year, in all sectors of activity, including cosmetics, detergents and hygiene products.
It has state-of-the-art equipment including chromatographic and spectral techniques to search for trace chemical substances, covered by the regulations.
To meet the needs of cosmetic manufacturers and distributors for the 57 allergens identified in CSAS Notice 1459/11 of June 2012, SGS has developed a single method of analysis. Adapted from the Ifra method, it was developed using gas chromatography coupled with mass spectrometry (GC/MS). It makes it possible to detect and quantify that the 57 fragrance substances, including some isomers, have a concentration of less than 0.001% in unrinsed products and 0.01% in rinsed products. Beyond these concentrations, allergens will have to be labelled to inform the consumer.
" In order to allow the analysis of finished products and complex matrices, we have adapted the IFRA method, initially developed for perfumery ingredients. We use two columns of different polarity and carry out a systematic matrix doping to guarantee the reliability of our results. Based on our feedback, we recommend carrying out these analyses on finished products because of the possible interactions during the mixing of ingredients, the possible presence of allergen precursors and the instability of certain formulas over time. In this way, customers will be able to guarantee the conformity of their products until their estimated end of life. " says Audrey Guibet, strategic expert Cosmetics & Hygiene, SGS France.
The consumer will be notified of the allergenic components in the list of ingredients labeled on the product (INCI List). The higher the concentration of an ingredient present, the more the ingredient in question will find itself in pole position in the INCI list.
" This analysis on finished products allows us to guarantee manufacturers, distributors, and therefore consumers, a marketing of cosmetic products that comply with current and future regulations," concludes Carine Dumas, Head of Cosmetics & Hygiene Development, SGS France.


Reminder of regulatory requirements*:

  • To date, 25** allergens are tested and must be labelled in case of presence (** Lirai banned since August 2021).
  • CSAS Notice 1459/11 of June 2012, which recommended informing the consumer of the presence of 62 additional allergens, is the subject of regulations that will come into force in 2022.
  • In total, 87*** allergenic substances will have to be monitored.
    Of these 87 substances, 57 are now technically analyzable, updated in September 2021 of the standard NF EN 16274. Not all allergens are covered by this method as some are complex mixtures such as plant extracts.
    Implementation Schedule:
  • Adoption of the regulation: 1st quarter 2022
  • 2* ™ quarter 2025: prohibition to place on the market non-compliant products.
  • 2nd quarter > 2027: withdrawal of non-compliant products from the market.
External resources
Site internet

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

X

18.2 C
Paris
vendredi 1 juillet 2022
- publicité -

SGS propose une méthode d’analyse unique pour tester la liste des 57 allergènes dans le viseur de la Commission Européenne|

Publicité

♦ Dans son laboratoire de Rouen, SGS, leader mondial du testing, de l’inspection et de la certification, est spécialisé dans les analyses chimiques, physico-chimiques et écotoxicologiques depuis plusieurs décennies.
♦ Depuis 2021, SGS propose aux fabricants et distributeurs de produits cosmétiques, une méthode d’analyse unique pour tester les 57 allergènes définis dans l’avis du SCCS 1459/11 de juin 2012, et qui fait l’objet actuellement d’un projet de règlement européen, avec une entrée en vigueur prévue au 1er trimestre 2022.
♦ Adaptée de l’IFRA, cette nouvelle méthode a été développée à l’aide de la chromatographie en phase gazeuse (GC) couplée à la spectrométrie de masse (MS). Son nombre réduit d’injection par échantillon permet un gain de temps dans le retraitement des données. Au-delà des ingrédients, les analyses portent particulièrement sur les produits finis car la présence d’éventuels précurseurs d’allergènes et l’instabilité de certaines formules, peuvent générer des allergènes non prédits lors de la phase de développement.


Après l’allergie au nickel, l’allergie au parfum est la plus répandue des allergies cutanées. Or les fragrances, sont presque toujours présentes dans les produits cosmétiques, qu’elles soient sous forme de substances synthétiques ou d’origine naturelle, comme les huiles essentielles. Elles peuvent potentiellement déclencher une allergie de contact affectant la peau, généralement le visage, les aisselles et les mains ou provoquer des irritations cutanées chez certains individus comme l’eczéma.
Le laboratoire SGS de Rouen, spécialisé dans les analyses chimiques, physico-chimiques et écotoxicologiques, compte plus de 100 collaborateurs et traite environ 50 000 échantillons par an, tout secteur d’activité confondu dont les produits cosmétiques, détergents et d’hygiène.
Il dispose d’un matériel de pointe incluant des techniques chromatographiques et spectrales permettant d’aller à la recherche de substances chimiques à l’état de traces, visées par les réglementations.
Pour répondre aux besoins des fabricants et distributeurs de produits cosmétiques, relatifs aux 57 allergènes définis dans l’avis du SCCS 1459/11 de juin 2012, SGS a mis au point une méthode unique d’analyse. Adaptée de la méthode Ifra, elle a été développée à l’aide de la chromatographie en phase gazeuse couplée à la spectrométrie de masse (GC/MS). Elle permet de détecter et quantifier que les 57 substances parfumantes, incluant certains isomères, ont une concentration inférieure à 0,001% dans les produits non rincés et à 0,01% dans les produits rincés. Au-delà de ces concentrations, les allergènes devront être étiquetés pour en informer le consommateur.
« Afin de permettre l’analyse des produits finis et matrices complexes, nous avons adapté la méthode IFRA, développée initialement pour les ingrédients de parfumerie. Nous utilisons deux colonnes de polarité différente et réalisons un dopage matrice systématique pour garantir la fiabilité de nos résultats. De par notre retour d’expérience, nous préconisons de réaliser ces analyses sur les produits finis du fait des interactions possibles lors du mélange des ingrédients, la présence éventuelle de précurseurs d’allergènes et l’instabilité de certaines formules dans le temps. Ainsi les clients pourront garantir la conformité de leurs produits jusqu’à leur fin de vie estimée. », précise Audrey Guibet, experte stratégique Cosmetics & Hygiene, SGS France.
Le consommateur sera averti des composants allergisants dans la liste d’ingrédients étiquetée sur le produit (Liste INCI). Plus la concentration d’un ingrédient présent est élevée, plus l’ingrédient en question se retrouvera en pôle position dans la liste INCI.
« Cette analyse sur produits finis, nous permet de garantir aux fabricants, distributeurs, et donc consommateurs, une mise sur le marché de produits cosmétiques conformes aux réglementations en cours et à venir. », conclut Carine Dumas, responsable développement Cosmetics & Hygiene, SGS France.


Rappel des exigences réglementaires*:

  • À ce jour, 25** allergènes sont testés et doivent être étiquetés en cas de présence {** Lirai interdit depuis août 2021).
  • L’avis du SCCS 1459/11 de juin 2012, qui recommandait d’informer le consommateur sur la présence de 62 allergènes supplémentaires, fait l’objet d’un règlement qui entrera en vigueur en 2022.
  • Au total, ce sont donc 87*** substances allergènes qui devront être sous surveillance.
    *** Sur ces 87 substances, 57 sont aujourd’hui techniquement analysables, mise à jour en septembre 2021 de la norme NF EN 16274. Tous les allergènes ne sont pas couverts par cette méthode car certains sont des mélanges complexes comme les extraits végétaux.
    Calendrier d’application :
  • Adoption du règlement : 1er trimestre 2022
  • 2*™ trimestre 2025 : interdiction de mettre sur le marché des produits non-conformes.
  • 2èn>e trimestre 2027 : retrait du marché des produits non conformes.
Ressources externes
Site internet

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

Nous vous offrons notre numéro d'été ! Accédez librement à la version numérique d'Industries CosmétiquesJe lis !
+
X