site-industries-cosmetiques A cover of Industries Cosmétiques magazine
Discover all the innovations in perfumery and cosmetics.
Discover our special report: Save the People. Enjoy your direct access!
If you prefer the paper edition, please subscribe to our magazine
- advertising -

A groundbreaking test to assess the ecotoxicology of cosmetics on corals

SGS, the world leader in cosmetics testing, inspection and certification, has teamed up with the Ephyla laboratory, via its EcoSeaStems initiative, to develop a complementary ecotoxicology test on corals.

The "ReefTox" test aims to assess the toxicological impact of a cosmetic ingredient or product on a population of corals representative of tropical/indopacific bathing areas (known as the "coral triangle"). Contrary to what already exists on the market, this new test developed by Vincent Bourgeteau, biologist at EcoSeaStems, evaluates the toxicity of products on 50 species/specimens of hard and soft corals (ReefTox50) to obtain a true representation of the coral population. A version on 12 corals (ReefTox12) is also proposed in case of doubt about the product or formula, to avoid the risk of damaging too many cuttings.

"Over the past 1 year, our customers' requests for tests have increasingly focused on the ecotoxicity and biodegradability of their products, enabling them to verify the effect of an ingredient or finished product on the environment. Testing the impact of sunscreen products on corals enables us to support our customers in their quest for naturalness. This new partnership is in line with our approach, initiated more than 20 years ago, of carrying out ecotoxicology (and biodegradability) tests on raw materials and cosmetic formulas in seawater and freshwater".says François Richeux, COO Cosmetics and Hygiene at SGS Group.

"We're proud to have succeeded in developing this test, the first of its kind in France. We began working on the subject in 2020, at the start of containment. Worldwide, a large number of cosmetics laboratories have banned chemical UV filters and switched to mineral filters. ReefTox is the ideal solution for measuring the impact of these reformulations on coral environments.says Vincent Bourgeteau.

Corals, essential to the ecosystem 

Corals, which come together to form coral reefs, are home to 25 % of our planet's marine life - nearly two million different species living in, on and around the world's reefs. Some 500 million people live off corals. Yet it is estimated that around a quarter of the world's coral reefs have already suffered irreversible damage, and two-thirds are seriously threatened. The cause: human activities that are gradually degrading marine habitats.

The foundations of an unprecedented test 

To assess the short- and medium-term impact of a cosmetic ingredient on 50 species of coral, the corals are placed in a seawater aquarium whose physico-chemical parameters (temperature, pH, oxidation-reduction, salinity) are controlled to meet coral culture requirements. After an adaptation period (two hours), the sample to be tested is dosed and then placed in contact with the corals for approximately 24 hours. During this period, regular monitoring of water physicochemical parameters, general condition and coral survival is carried out by and under the supervision of a coral aquaculture specialist. At the end of the contact period, the corals are transferred to quarantine aquariums, containing standardized seawater, for a period of two weeks. During this quarantine period, the general condition and survival of the corals, as well as physico-chemical parameters, are regularly monitored by a coral aquaculture specialist. Evaluation of the survival and general condition of the corals, as well as the various physico-chemical parameters during the contact and quarantine periods, enables short- and medium-term assessment of the impact of the products to be tested.

SGS, a global offer for the world of cosmetics in search of naturalness 

With globally recognized expertise in cosmetics testing, auditing and certification, SGS France carries out over 15,000 tests every year and works with over 800 customers to offer a wide range of services to help brands verify the safety, quality and performance of their products, and support them in their green transition process. This involves verifying that cosmetics and personal care products comply with the requirements of applicable regulations and other relevant regulations on cosmetics, aerosols and hazardous substances. SGS experts can also verify the compliance of products and manufacturing processes with various social and environmental standards. At the same time, in the context of the circular economy, SGS teams are in great demand when it comes to bulk, reusable packaging (recycled or not) for technical, dosage and regulatory issues.

External resources
Website

Sponsored content

site-industries-cosmetiques A vibrant advertisement for Croda Beauty featuring a close-up of orange flowers with a blurred background effect and the text "Croda Beauty, intelligent science to improve life" now includes Phytess.

Phytessence™ Osmanthus, the first geo-skincare botanical extract by Croda Beauty

Discover how this innovative natural ingredient helps the skin to better face climate change, particularly the harmful effects of sun rays and heat.
site-industries-cosmetiques A concentrated individual in a lab coat examining a small jar containing a pink substance, a pioneering cosmetic innovation using natural ingredients in Brittany.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline - the longest in the country.

Related articles

Our last issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

en_USEnglish

- publicité -
Generic selectors
Correspondance exacte seulement
Rechercher dans le titre
Rechercher dans le contenu
Post Type Selectors
Filtre par catégories
Actualités
Avis d'experts
Contenu sponsorisé
Formulation
Ingrédients
Kit media
La revue
Logiciels
Management
Maquillage
On a testé pour vous
Packaging
Parfums
Process industriels
Réglementation
RSE

Un test inédit pour évaluer l’écotoxicologie des produits cosmétiques sur les coraux

SGS, leader mondial des tests, de l’inspection et de la certification des cosmétiques, s’associe au laboratoire Ephyla, via son initiative EcoSeaStems, pour développer un test complémentaire en écotoxicologie sur les coraux.

Le test « ReefTox » vise à évaluer l’impact toxicologique d’un ingrédient cosmétique ou d’un produit cosmétique sur une population de coraux représentative des zones de baignades tropicales/indopacifiques (dite « triangle de corail »). Ainsi, contrairement à ce qui existe déjà sur le marché, ce nouveau test développé par Vincent Bourgeteau, biologiste au sein d’EcoSeaStems, évalue la toxicité des produits sur 50 espèces/spécimens de coraux durs et mous (ReefTox50) afin d’obtenir une représentation réelle de la population corallienne. Une version sur 12 coraux (ReefTox12) est également proposée en cas de doute sur le produit ou la formule afin d’écarter le risque d’endommager un trop grand nombre de boutures.

« Depuis 1 an, les demandes de tests de nos clients s’orientent de plus en plus vers l’écotoxicité et la biodégradabilité de leurs produits permettant ainsi de vérifier l’effet d’un ingrédient ou d’un produit fini sur l’environnement. Tester l’impact des produits solaires sur les coraux nous permet d’accompagner nos clients vers leur quête de naturalité. Ce nouveau partenariat s’inscrit dans notre démarche initiée depuis plus de 20 ans pour la réalisation d’essais d’écotoxicologie (et de biodégradabilité) en eau de mer et en eau douce sur les matières premières ou formules cosmétiques », souligne François Richeux, COO Cosmetic et hygiène au sein du groupe SGS

« Nous sommes fiers d’avoir réussi à développer ce test, inédit en France. Nous avons commencé à travailler sur le sujet en 2020 au début du confinement. Au niveau mondial, un grand nombre de laboratoires cosmétiques ont banni les filtres UV chimiques et sont passés aux filtres minéraux. ReefTox est une réponse optimale pour mesurer l’impact de ces reformulations sur les milieux coralliens », précise Vincent Bourgeteau.

Les coraux, essentiels dans l’écosystème 

Les coraux, qui s’assemblent pour former des récifs coralliens, abritent 25 % de la vie marine de notre planète soit près de deux millions d’espèces différentes qui vivent dans, sur et autour des récifs du monde. Quelque 500 millions de personnes vivent grâce aux coraux. Pourtant, on considère qu’environ un quart des récifs coralliens mondiaux a déjà subi des dégâts irréversibles, et que deux tiers sont gravement menacés. En cause : les activités humaines qui dégradent peu à peu les habitats marins.

Les fondements d’un test inédit 

Afin d’évaluer l’impact d’un ingrédient cosmétique, à court et moyen termes, sur 50 espèces de coraux, les coraux sont répartis dans un aquarium d’eau de mer dont les paramètres physico-chimiques (température, pH, oxydo-réduction, salinité) sont contrôlés afin de répondre aux exigences de cultures des coraux. Après une période d’adaptation (deux heures), l’échantillon à tester est dosé puis mis en contact avec les coraux pendant approximativement 24 heures. Durant cette période, un suivi régulier des paramètres physicochimiques de l’eau, de l’état général et de la survie des coraux est réalisé par et sous le contrôle d’un spécialiste de l’aquaculture de coraux. À l’issue de la période de mise en contact, les coraux sont transférés dans des aquariums de quarantaine, contenant de l’eau de mer standardisée, pour une période de deux semaines. Lors de cette période de quarantaine, un suivi régulier de l’état général et de la survie des coraux ainsi que des paramètres physico-chimiques, est assuré par un spécialiste de l’aquaculture des coraux. L’évaluation de la survie et de l’état général des coraux, ainsi que des différents paramètres physico-chimiques pendant les périodes de mise en contact et de quarantaine permet de réaliser une évaluation à court et moyen termes de l’impact des produits à tester.

SGS, une offre globale pour le monde de la cosmétique en quête de naturalité 

Doté d’une expertise reconnue dans le monde entier dans le secteur des tests de cosmétiques, d’audit et de certification, SGS France réalise chaque année plus de 15 000 tests et collabore avec plus 800 clients pour leur proposer une large gamme de services pour aider les marques à vérifier la sécurité, la qualité et la performance de leurs produits et les accompagner dans leur processus de transition écologique. Cela passe par la vérification de la conformité des produits cosmétiques et de soins personnels avec les exigences de la réglementation applicable et d’autres réglementations pertinentes sur les cosmétiques, les aérosols et les substances dangereuses. Les experts SGS peuvent également vérifier la conformité des produits et procédés de fabrication aux diverses normes sociales et environnementales. En parallèle, dans le cadre de l’économie circulaire, les équipes de SGS sont plébiscitées sur des problématiques de vrac, de conditionnement réutilisable (recyclé ou non) pour des questions techniques, de dosage et de réglementation.

Ressources externes
Site internet

Contenu sponsorisé

Modernizing your lab can improve employee retention

Modernizing your lab could be the answer to improve training, improve retention, and relieve the supply chain bottleneck.

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

fr_FRFrançais