site-industries-cosmetiques A cover of Industries Cosmétiques magazine
Discover all the innovations in perfumery and cosmetics.
Discover our special report: Save the People. Enjoy your direct access!
If you prefer the paper edition, please subscribe to our magazine
- advertising -

Upcycling: Omegablue, a new Givaudan Active Beauty ingredient made from wild blueberries

Givaudan Active Beauty reuses by-products from the food industry and recovers the seeds of Vaccinium myrtillus to create a natural ingredient capable of repairing skin dryness, irritation and desquamation linked to a weakened lipid barrier.

Omegablue is a cosmetic ingredient created from overcycled wild bilberries, a plant that grows in Central and Northern Europe. It is used for advanced skin repair.

Traditionally used by the food industry for their juice and sugar, bilberries are also an important source of anthocyanidins extracted from the pulp and skin of the fruit for the dietary supplements and pharmaceutical industries. 

What's more, according to Givaudan Active Beauty, the berries' tiny seeds contain up to 20 % of linoleic acid (omega-6) and α-linolenic acid (omega-3) in an optimal ratio; both compounds being known for their ability to improve hydration and skin barrier functionality. 

"Manufactured using a supercritical CO2 process in an overcycling of the seeds of this unique Vaccinum bilberry berry, Omegablue has been developed as a topical soothing agent for sensitive and damaged skin. It effectively soothes cutaneous discomfort on a transient or curative basis, and contains sebum-like essential fatty acids forming a protective barrier from external agents."says Giada Maramaldi, Personal Care Category Manager at Givaudan Active Beauty.

According to the company, Omegablue's efficacy in surfactant-induced depletion has been demonstrated in clinical tests. "Three days after the injury, the treated area regained its skin barrier function. Omegablue is also highly effective on skin with chronic inflammation (psoriasis), as it significantly reduces the severity of erythema by up to 27%, and scale formation by 28 % in four weeks. The results are even better for skin suffering from eczema, with erythema severity reduced by 37.5 % and itch rate by 42.8 %. In addition, PASI (Psoriasis Area Severity Score) and EASI (Eczema Area Severity Score) were significantly improved, by 27 % and 35 % respectively".says Givaudan Active Beauty.

To illustrate Omegablue's potential in skin and body care applications, Givaudan Active Beauty has formulated a shower oil called S.O. Smooth, with a light, silky texture. Enriched with chia oil, a natural ingredient that gently nourishes the skin, this shower oil cleanses and protects the skin against external aggressions and "restores and maintains the skin barrier to bring skin back into its comfort zone."

Omegablue is part of Givaudan Active Beauty's upcycling collection launched in October 2020. This collection includes eight other functional ingredients.

According to Givaudan Active Beauty, waste reduction is now the new standard for sustainability, and cosmetics containing recycled or upcycled ingredients are winning over some 69 % of consumers, particularly in Brazil (80 %) and China (74 %).1. "Consumers are ready to go beyond and make upcycling beauty products a major trend for years to come, without giving up key elements of skin protection."says the company.

1 - CMI Global Study, May 2020.

External resources

Sponsored content

site-industries-cosmetiques A vibrant advertisement for Croda Beauty featuring a close-up of orange flowers with a blurred background effect and the text "Croda Beauty, intelligent science to improve life" now includes Phytess.

Phytessence™ Osmanthus, the first geo-skincare botanical extract by Croda Beauty

Discover how this innovative natural ingredient helps the skin to better face climate change, particularly the harmful effects of sun rays and heat.
site-industries-cosmetiques A concentrated individual in a lab coat examining a small jar containing a pink substance, a pioneering cosmetic innovation using natural ingredients in Brittany.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline - the longest in the country.

Related articles

Our last issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

en_USEnglish

3.8 C
Paris
mercredi 14 avril 2021
- publicité -

Upcycling : Omegablue, nouvel ingrédient de Givaudan Active Beauty produit à partir de myrtilles sauvages

Givaudan Active Beauty réutilise des coproduits de l’industrie alimentaire et récupère les graines de Vaccinium myrtillus pour créer un ingrédient naturel en mesure de réparer les problèmes de sécheresse cutanée, d’irritation et de desquamation liés à une barrière lipidique amoindrie.

Omegablue est un ingrédient cosmétique créé à partir de myrtilles sauvages surcyclées, une plante qui pousse en Europe centrale et du Nord. Il est utilisé pour une réparation avancée de la peau.

Traditionnellement utilisées par l’industrie alimentaire pour leur jus et leur sucre, les myrtilles sont également une source importante d’anthocyanidines extraites de la pulpe et de la peau du fruit pour l’industrie des compléments alimentaires et l’industrie pharmaceutique. 

En outre, selon Givaudan Active Beauty, les minuscules graines des baies contiennent jusqu’à 20 % d’acide linoléique (oméga-6) et d’acide α-linolénique (oméga-3) dans un rapport optimal ; ces composés étant tous deux connus pour leurs capacités à améliorer l’hydratation et la fonctionnalité de la barrière cutanée. 

« Fabriqué par un procédé au CO2 supercritique dans un processus de surcyclage des graines de cette baie unique de myrtille Vaccinum, Omegablue a été développé comme agent apaisant topique pour les peaux sensibles et abîmées. Il calme efficacement l’inconfort cutané de manière transitoire ou curative et contient des acides gras essentiels de type sébum formant une barrière protectrice des agents externes », souligne Giada Maramaldi, responsable de la catégorie soins personnels chez Givaudan Active Beauty.

Selon l’entreprise, l’efficacité de l’Omegablue a été démontrée dans la déplétion induite par les tensioactifs lors de tests cliniques. « Trois jours après la lésion, la zone traitée a retrouvé sa fonction de barrière cutanée. L’Omegablue est également très efficace sur les peaux présentant une inflammation chronique (psoriasis) car il réduit de manière significative la gravité des érythèmes, jusqu’à 27%, et la formation de squames de 28 % en quatre semaines. Les résultats sont encore meilleurs pour les peaux souffrant d’eczéma, puisque la gravité de l’érythème a diminué de 37,5 % et le taux de démangeaison de 42,8 %. En outre, le PASI (Psoriasis Area Severity Score) et l’EASI (Eczema Area Severity Score) sont nettement améliorés, de 27 % et 35 % respectivement », indique-t-on chez Givaudan Active Beauty.

Pour illustrer le potentiel d’Omegablue dans les applications pour le soin de la peau et du corps, Givaudan Active Beauty a formulé une huile de douche baptisée S.O. Smooth, avec une texture légère et soyeuse. Enrichie en huile de chia, un ingrédient naturel qui nourrit la peau en douceur, cette huile de douche nettoie et protège la peau contre les agressions extérieures et « restaure et maintient la barrière cutanée pour ramener la peau dans sa zone de confort. »

L’Omegablue fait partie de la collection upcycling de Givaudan Active Beauty lancée en octobre 2020.  Cette collection comprend huit autres ingrédients fonctionnels.

Selon Givaudan Active Beauty, la réduction des déchets est aujourd’hui la nouvelle norme en matière de durabilité et les produits cosmétiques contenant des ingrédients recyclés ou upcyclés séduisent quelque 69 % des consommateurs, en particulier au Brésil (80 %) et en Chine (74 %)1. « Les consommateurs sont prêts à aller au-delà et à faire de l’upcycling des produits de beauté une tendance majeure pour les années à venir, sans renoncer aux éléments clés de la protection de la peau », précise-t-on au sein de l’entreprise.

1 – CMI Global Study, mai 2020.

En savoir plus : https://www.givaudan.com

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Nos avis d'expert

Newsletter

X