32 C
Paris
Friday August 12th, 2022
- publicity -

Towards a circular economy of rigid cosmetic packaging

Publicity

In October 2018, Albéa joined the Ellen Mac Arthur Foundation's New Plastics Economy Global Commitment alongside L'Oréal, Unilever and other companies, pledging to make 100% of its packaging recyclable, reusable and use 10% recycled plastic by 2025 – from flexible tubes to rigid plastic cosmetic packaging. Three years later, if the acceleration is obvious on the side of the tubes, the transformation process is more complex for rigid plastic packaging. This involves above all the selection of materials and the optimization of decoration, the integration of mechanical and chemical PCR (Post-consumer Recycled) and bioplastics as well as the reduction of the overall use of plastic – major issues that require in-depth transformations.

Rigid plastic beauty product packaging includes many products and technologies: lipstick cases and mechanisms, mascara bottles and brushes, skin care jars and bottles, perfume covers, powder keg, compacts and many more. Some models are custom developed, others are of standard design. Most are small in size and mix several materials, so they are rarely recyclable, let alone recycled.

However, suppliers such as Albéa as well as major cosmetics brands have committed to making all their packaging recyclable or reusable by 2025 – not only their standard tubes or vials, where innovation is spectacular, but also their more complex make-up and skincare packaging, where processing is slower.

The transformation of rigid packaging of cosmetic products therefore requires the ness to be able to mobilize rare technical expertise, in the service of a very clear roadmap. The aim is to explore new materials, including post-consumer PCR recycled resins and bioplastics, adapt injection and decoration processes, and reduce the overall use of materials. It's also about launching new responsible generic solutions and collaborating with customers on revolutionary custom products through our offer of technically recyclable solutions. Innovation in materials is essential here.

Our priorities are to find alternatives to resins that are not recycled or for which regulations are changing (such as widely used styrenics), focusing on the top three of PP, PE and PET, to aim for single-material packaging, even when they are multi-component and to accelerate the use of post-consumer recycled resins (PCR) or bio-based.

Our 14 rigid cosmetic packaging industrial sites are now organized into a global network of injection experts, sharing best practices, ideas, successes and failures, as well as new sources of supply.

Simandre- Packaging - Product info
Simandre, ALBÉA site certified ISCC

They are making progress in the field of chemical PCR, notably by using coPET (Copolyester) for an aesthetic rendering similar to virgin plastic, as well as in mechanical PCR with r-PET (recycled PET) for the manufacture of high-quality packaging. Today, 4 of our sites are ISCC (International Sustainability & Carbon certification) certified – 3 sites in China, and Simandre in France, our center of excellence for high-end care packaging.

Bertrand de la Tour, VP Marketing & Innovation Albéa CRP (Cosmetic Rigid Packaging), explains: "As brands accelerate the transformation of their standard tubes and vials, let's kick-start the transformation of their more complex and strategic perfume, skincare and make-up packaging. We position ourselves as expert and active advisors to all customers who aim to transition their current packaging portfolio, whether through a change of material or a reduction of plastic, custom product developments or through our offer of technically recyclable or recycled material solutions designed by our marketing teams. »

While there is still a long way to go, the transformation process has begun and Albéa teams are working tirelessly on responsible solutions alongside beauty brands.

"Visit us at LuxePack Monaco, Diaghilev Hall, Stand DE07"

Learn more: www.albea-group.com

Publicity
External resources

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

We offer you our summer number! Freely access the digital version of Industries CosmétiquesI read !
+
X

Vers une économie circulaire des emballages cosmétiques rigides

En octobre 2018, Albéa rejoignait le New Plastics Economy Global Commitment de la Fondation Ellen Mac Arthur aux côtés de L’Oréal, Unilever ainsi que d’autres entreprises, s’engageant à rendre 100 % de ses emballages recyclables, réutilisables et à utiliser 10 % de plastique recyclé d’ici 2025 – qu’il s’agisse des tubes souples ou des emballages cosmétiques en plastique rigide. Trois ans après, si l’accélération est flagrante du côté des tubes, le processus de transformation s’avère plus complexe pour les emballages en plastique rigide. Celui-ci passe avant tout par la sélection des matériaux et l’optimisation de la décoration, l’intégration du PCR (Post-consumer Recycled) mécanique et chimique et des bioplastiques ainsi que par la réduction de l’utilisation globale du plastique – des enjeux de taille qui nécessitent des transformations en profondeur.

Les emballages de produits de beauté en plastique rigide comprennent de nombreux produits et technologies : boîtiers et mécanismes de rouge à lèvres, flaconettes et brosses de mascara, pots et flacons de soins pour la peau, capots de parfums, poudriers, compacts et bien d’autres encore. Certains modèles sont développés sur mesure, d’autres sont de conception standard. La plupart étant de petite taille et mélangeant plusieurs matériaux, ils sont rarement recyclables, et encore moins recyclés.

Cependant, des fournisseurs tels qu’Albéa ainsi que de grandes marques de cosmétiques se sont engagés à rendre tous leurs emballages recyclables ou réutilisables d’ici 2025 – pas seulement leurs tubes ou flacons standard, où l’innovation est spectaculaire, mais aussi leurs emballages plus complexes de maquillage et de soin, où la transformation est moins rapide.

La transformation des emballages rigides de produits cosmétiques nécessite donc de pouvoir mobiliser des expertises techniques rares, au service d’une feuille de route très claire. Il s’agit d’explorer de nouveaux matériaux, notamment les résines recyclées post-consommation PCR et les bioplastiques, d’adapter les processus d’injection et de décoration et de réduire l’utilisation globale de matériaux. Il s’agit aussi de lancer de nouvelles solutions génériques responsables et de collaborer avec les clients pour des produits personnalisés révolutionnaires via notre offre de solutions techniquement recyclables. L’innovation dans les matériaux est ici essentielle.

Nos priorités sont de trouver des alternatives aux résines qui ne sont pas recyclées ou pour lesquelles les réglementations évoluent (comme les styréniques très utilisés), en nous concentrant sur le trio de tête que constituent le PP, le PE et le PET, de viser des emballages mono-matériaux, même lorsqu’ils sont multi-composants et d’accélérer l’utilisation de résines recyclées post-consommation (PCR) ou biosourcées.

Nos 14 sites industriels d’emballages cosmétiques rigides sont désormais organisés en un réseau mondial d’experts en injection, partageant les meilleures pratiques, les idées, les succès comme les échecs, ainsi que les nouvelles sources d’approvisionnement.

Simandre- Contenu sponsorisé - Info produits
Simandre, site Albéa certifié ISCC

Ils progressent dans le domaine du PCR chimique, notamment en utilisant le coPET (Copolyester) pour un rendu esthétique similaire au plastique vierge, ainsi que dans le PCR mécanique avec le r-PET (PET recyclé) pour la fabrication d’emballages de haute qualité. Aujourd’hui, 4 de nos sites sont certifiés ISCC (International Sustainability & Carbon certification, ou bilan massique) – 3 sites en Chine, et Simandre en France, notre centre d’excellence pour les emballages de soin hauts de gamme. 

Bertrand de la Tour, VP Marketing & Innovation Albéa CRP (Cosmetic Rigid Packaging), explique : « Alors que les marques accélèrent la transformation de leurs tubes et flacons standard, donnons le coup d’envoi à la transformation de leurs emballages plus complexes et stratégiques de parfum, de soin et de maquillage. Nous nous positionnons comme des conseillers experts et actifs auprès de tous les clients qui visent la transition de leur portefeuille actuel d’emballages, que ce soit par le biais d’un changement de matière ou d’une réduction du plastique, de développements de produits sur-mesure ou via notre offre de solutions techniquement recyclables ou en matière recyclée conçues par nos équipes marketing. »

Si le chemin est encore long, le processus de transformation est enclenché et les équipes Albéa travaillent sans relâche à des solutions responsables aux côtés des marques de beauté. 

« Rendez-nous visite à LuxePack Monaco, hall Diaghilev, Stand DE07 »

En savoir plus : www.albea-group.com