- advertising -

Sunscreen: the French don't protect themselves enough according to the Febea barometer

Febea (Fédération des entreprises de la beauté) has unveiled the results of its barometer conducted in partnership with OpinionWay on "French sun protection habits". 

The French protect themselves, but not enough

While 9 out of 10 French people think it's essential to protect themselves from UV radiation with suitable products, the extent to which people actually do so varies according to the location of exposure, as well as their sex and age.

At the seaside or poolside, more than 8 out of 10 French people (83 %) use sunscreen at least once a day for exposure lasting several hours, but only 43 % repeat this gesture at least every two hours. And there are still 16 % (3 points less than in 2021) who say they never protect themselves, a rate that rises to 21 % among men.

In a garden or on a terrace, only 69% apply sun protection at least once a day for long exposure. Even so, 30% of French people (including 36 % of men) never protect themselves (10 points more than in 2021).

The vast majority of parents (93 %) protect their children at least once a day when exposed to the sun, and almost 60 % reapply sunscreen at least every two hours. Only 7 % of children are never protected.

Nearly two-fifths (39 %) of French people think they can do without sunscreen because "they don't really need it", a rate that rises to 46 % among men and young people aged 25 to 34. "An alarming lack of awareness of the risks," notes Febea.

Many obstacles

The reasons that motivate the French to protect themselves are, first and foremost, protection against sunburn for 79 % of them, followed by protection against skin pathologies (cancers, allergies, ...) for 76 %, then protection against skin aging (53 %, + 4 points compared to 2021 results).

Among the top three disincentives cited were fears of the health impact of certain ingredients in the creams (59 %), followed closely by the price of sunscreens (57 %), and the ecological impact they could have on the oceans and the environment (54 %).

The 25-34 age group is particularly concerned about the possible health risks of sunscreens (69 %, 10 points above average). They are also twice as likely as the average to think that sunscreens prevent them from tanning (45 % vs. 22 %).

"These figures reveal a major paradox: on the one hand, a very high collective awareness of the health risks of UV exposure, and on the other, a lack of rigor in following the health authorities' recommendations for protection, says Emmanuel Guichard, Managing Director of Febea. This barometer also shows that preconceived ideas about the health and environmental impact of suncare products persist. Suncare products are subject to extremely strict regulations, which guarantee both their efficacy and their safety for consumer health. What's more, brands are constantly innovating to improve formulations, enhance biodegradability and measure the impact on marine environments as accurately as possible.

"We must continue to remind people that the risks associated with unprotected exposure to the sun are fatal. The real danger is not protecting yourself!" he warns.

Using sunscreens properly

Febea reminds us that sunscreen should not be used if it has been open for a year, and that sun protection should be applied every two hours, or even more often if you're swimming, sweating or if your skin has been rubbed by a cloth (clothing, towel). A high sun protection factor does not prevent you from tanning.

What's more, sun protection products are non-toxic to your health. "All cosmetics products and ingredients on the market are safe for your health. Among cosmetic ingredients, sunscreens are subject to a specific additional framework: given their major role in health, the Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS), an independent body reporting to the European Commission, regularly carries out in-depth checks on their efficacy and safety".emphasizes the federation of beauty companies.

Quid the environmental impact of sunscreens? According to Febea, the cosmetics industry is taking action to design sunscreen formulas that provide optimum protection, while reducing their impact on the environment. For example, by using fewer filters, introducing ingredients of plant origin, or biodegradable, not forgetting water-resistant formulas.

The federation of beauty companies also notes that the weakening of coral reefs is largely due to the effects of global warming, such as rising temperatures and acidifying waters.

Photo: AdoreBeautyNZ / Pixabay

External resources
Website

Sponsored content

site-industries-cosmetiques A vibrant advertisement for Croda Beauty featuring a close-up of orange flowers with a blurred background effect and the text "Croda Beauty, intelligent science to improve life" now includes Phytess.

Phytessence™ Osmanthus, the first geo-skincare botanical extract by Croda Beauty

Discover how this innovative natural ingredient helps the skin to better face climate change, particularly the harmful effects of sun rays and heat.
site-industries-cosmetiques A concentrated individual in a lab coat examining a small jar containing a pink substance, a pioneering cosmetic innovation using natural ingredients in Brittany.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline - the longest in the country.

Related articles

Our last issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

en_USEnglish

- publicité -
Generic selectors
Correspondance exacte seulement
Rechercher dans le titre
Rechercher dans le contenu
Post Type Selectors
Filtre par catégories
Actualités
Avis d'experts
Contenu sponsorisé
Formulation
Ingrédients
Kit media
La revue
Logiciels
Management
Maquillage
On a testé pour vous
Packaging
Parfums
Process industriels
Réglementation
RSE

Crème solaire : les Français ne se protègent pas assez selon le baromètre de la Febea

La Febea (Fédération des entreprises de la beauté) a dévoilé les résultats de son baromètre réalisé en partenariat avec OpinionWay sur « les usages des Français en matière de protection solaire ». 

Les Français se protègent, mais pas suffisamment

Si 9 Français sur 10 pensent qu’il est indispensable de se protéger des rayonnements UV avec des produits adaptés, le passage à l’acte varie selon les lieux de l’exposition mais aussi le sexe et l’âge.

Au bord de la mer ou d’une piscine, plus de 8 Français sur 10 (83 %) utilisent au moins une fois par jour de la crème solaire dans le cadre d’une exposition de plusieurs heures mais ils ne sont que 43 % à renouveler ce geste au moins toutes les deux heures. Et ils sont encore 16 % (3 points de moins qu’en 2021) à avouer ne jamais se protéger, taux qui s’élève à 21 % chez les hommes.

Dans un jardin ou sur une terrasse, ils ne sont plus que 69% à appliquer une protection solaire au moins une fois par jour en cas d’une exposition longue. Pour autant, 30% des Français (dont 36 % des hommes) ne se protègent jamais (soit 10 points de plus qu’en 2021).

Les parents, en grande majorité (93 %), protègent leurs enfants au moins une fois par jour lorsqu’ils sont exposés au soleil, et près de 60 % renouvellent l’application de la crème solaire au moins toutes les deux heures. Seuls 7 % des enfants ne sont jamais protégés.

Près de deux cinquièmes (39 %) des Français estiment pouvoir se passer de crème solaire car « ils n’en ont pas vraiment besoin », taux qui atteint 46 % chez les hommes et chez les jeunes de 25 à 34 ans. « Un manque de conscience alarmant face aux risques », note la Febea.

Des freins pluriels

Les raisons qui motivent les Français à se protéger sont, en premier lieu, la protection contre les coups de soleil pour 79 % d’entre eux, suivie par la protection contre les pathologies cutanées (cancers, allergies, …) pour 76 %, puis par la protection contre le vieillissement de la peau (53 %, + 4 points par rapport aux résultats de 2021).

Parmi les trois premiers freins relevés figurent la crainte d’impact sur la santé de certains ingrédients contenus dans les crèmes pour 59 %, suivie de près par le prix des crèmes solaires (57 %), et par l’impact écologique qu’elles pourraient avoir sur les océans et l’environnement (54 %).

Les 25-34 ans sont particulièrement inquiets d’un possible risque des crèmes solaires sur la santé (69 % soit 10 points de plus que la moyenne). Ils sont aussi deux fois plus nombreux que la moyenne à penser que les crèmes solaires les empêchent de bronzer (45 % vs 22 %).

« Ces chiffres révèlent un paradoxe important : d’un côté, une très forte conscience collective des risques d’une exposition aux UV pour la santé, de l’autre, un manque de rigueur dans le suivi des recommandations des autorités de santé pour se protéger, indique Emmanuel Guichard, directeur délégué de la Febea. Ce baromètre montre aussi que les idées reçues perdurent sur l’impact pour la santé ou l’environnement des produits solaires. Les produits solaires sont soumis à une réglementation extrêmement stricte, qui garantit tant leur efficacité que leur sécurité pour la santé des consommateurs. Par ailleurs, les marques réalisent beaucoup d’innovations pour améliorer les formulations, renforcer la biodégradabilité et mesurer de la façon la plus fine possible l’impact sur les milieux marins. »

« Nous devons continuer de rappeler que les risques liés à l’exposition au soleil, sans protection, sont mortels. Le vrai danger, c’est de ne pas se protéger ! » alerte-t-il.

Bien utiliser les crèmes solaires

La Febea rappelle, à cette occasion, qu’il ne faut pas utiliser sa crème solaire si elle est ouverte depuis un an et que la protection solaire doit être appliquée toutes les deux heures voire plus souvent si on se baigne, qu’on transpire ou que la peau a été frottée par un tissu (vêtements, serviette). Un indice élevé de protection n’empêche pas, par ailleurs, de bronzer.

Les produits de protection solaire sont, de plus, non toxiques pour la santé. « Tous les produits et les ingrédients cosmétiques mis sur le marché sont sûrs pour la santé. Parmi les ingrédients cosmétiques, les filtres solaires font, en outre, l’objet d’un encadrement spécifique supplémentaire : étant donné leur rôle majeur pour la santé, le Comité scientifique pour la sécurité des consommateurs (CSSC), organisme indépendant auprès de la Commission européenne, vérifie régulièrement de manière approfondie leur efficacité et leur innocuité », souligne la fédération des entreprises de la beauté.

Quid de l’impact des crèmes solaires sur l’environnement ? Selon la Febea, le secteur cosmétique agit pour concevoir des formules de produits de protection solaire qui assurent une protection optimale, tout en réduisant leur impact sur l’environnement. Par exemple, en utilisant moins de filtres, en introduisant des ingrédients d’origine végétale, ou biodégradables sans oublier les formules qui résistent à l’eau.

La fédération des entreprises de la beauté note, par ailleurs, que la fragilisation des coraux trouve majoritairement son origine dans les effets du réchauffement climatique, tels que l’augmentation de la température et l’acidification des eaux.

Photo : AdoreBeautyNZ / Pixabay

Ressources externes
Site internet

Contenu sponsorisé

site-industries-cosmetiques Un individu concentré en blouse de laboratoire examinant un petit pot contenant une substance rose, innovation cosmétique pionnière avec des ingrédients naturels en Bretagne.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline – the longest in the country.

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

fr_FRFrançais