19.7 C
Paris
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
- publicity -

[study] Organic and natural, a weapon of mass seduction in the cosmetics market

Xerfi has just published a study under the title: "Organic and natural cosmetics in the age of the mass market - Evolution of competition and market growth prospects by 2023"

I am made from organic products, natural ingredients or of natural origin and marketed in recyclable packaging, in bulk or in solid form. Who am I ? An… organic and / or natural cosmetic. “Clean beauty” is now the subject of a real craze in France in a rather depressed hygiene-beauty sector. At the risk of sometimes bordering on greenwashing. Today, sales of organic and natural cosmetics (+ 8% to 972 million euros in 2020) represent 6.4% of the market. Tomorrow, their weight in the world of cosmetics will increase by 2 points to 8.5% in 2023 thanks to sales which will jump 12% per year in value to close to 1.4 billion euros at the end of the period, according to calculations by Xerfi Precepta experts. The French indeed want more responsible and better products for health. And there is no lack of growth engines between the considerable development of the offer in the distribution channels, the proliferation of laboratory innovations and the growing weight of Millennials in the consumer population. In this context, enthusiasm for organic and sustainable cosmetics is likely to establish itself as a sustainable phenomenon. And the giants of the conventional hygiene-beauty industry intend to take advantage of this windfall after a first failed foray into this niche in the early 2000s.

And they spare no effort to install their organic cosmetics in the bathrooms of France. They are thus adapting their major brands to organic, such as Garnier Bio, or creating new ones like La Provençale bio at L'Oréal. The majors in the sector are also competing for initiatives in favor of the environment, such as the new sustainable development program “L'Oréal for the Future”, unveiled in June. For the world leader in cosmetics, the aim is to regain consumer confidence, by demonstrating the authenticity and consistency of its approach, and to take advantage of the clean beauty phenomenon, with responsible ranges capable of meeting consumers' expectations without be as restrictive as organic.

While the conventional giants (L'Oréal with Ushuaïa, Mixa, Cadum and Garnier; Unilever with Dove, Timoteï, Monsavon; Henkel with Vademecum, Le Chat, etc.) are redoubling their efforts to convert the organic and natural cosmetics market to the mass market , the pioneers have not said their last word . The latter are still in the lead in terms of market share. They will nevertheless have to roll up their sleeves. First, they will have to increase their production capacities to meet the boom in demand. Léa Nature thus inaugurated a new factory in 2019, eventually tripling its production. Pioneers must also focus on expanding their offer while preserving their brand image . Last year, Pierre Cattier marketed his first range of sunscreen, a segment that is still little invested in organic. The adoption of vegan production methods and the implementation of local supply chains are also among the initiatives of specialized brands .

At the same time, we are witnessing the boom of DNVB, the digital native vertical brands , these brands which originally developed exclusively on the Internet to ensure their promotion and distribution . Several factors explain the extent of this phenomenon. Beauty is one of the most shared topics on social media. Consumer mistrust is also conducive to the emergence of new brands that can stand out and claim strong values in favor of health, the environment and respect for animals. The most relayed and followed on social networks then quickly arouse the interest of distributors, such as, for example, selective perfumeries and department stores . For example, the Respire brand, created on the web in 2016, has been listed since 2019 in the Sephora and Monoprix stores.

Large-scale distribution, soon to be the first channel

While the crisis as a whole has plagued sales of beauty products (closure of the selective circuit during confinements, simplification of beauty routines, etc.), sales of organic products have in particular been able to count on the maintenance of store activity. organic, supermarkets or pharmacies (its main distribution channels). While the penetration rate of e-commerce in the hygiene-beauty market had remained limited, online sales of hygiene-beauty products of supermarkets (GSA) and the selective channel respectively jumped by 28% and 52% in value last year. And, over the medium period, specialist sellers (organic cosmetics stores, general organic stores, pharmacies and drugstores) have both fostered the emergence and drawn most of the fruits from the growth in sales of organic and natural cosmetics. Their historical legitimacy and the breadth of their offer are of course not foreign.

From now on, the GSAs are on the front line and intend to catch up. The GSA which are also the place of purchase which recruits the greatest number of new consumers. And indeed, 45% of them made their first purchase of organic cosmetics there in 2020. Given the offensive of the giants of the cosmetics industry on organic products, mass retailing has solid assets to reach very high levels. soon to become the leading distribution channel for organic and natural cosmetics : an accessible offer, the exclusive distribution of the organic offer of the giants of the cosmetics industry and the listing of the brands of certain laboratories specializing in organic, such as by So'Bio Éthic or Weleda.

Author of the study: Benoît Samarcq

External resources
xerfi.com

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

X

[étude] Bio et naturel, une arme de séduction massive sur le marché des cosmétiques

Xerfi vient de publier une étude sous le titre : « Les cosmétiques bio et naturels à l’heure du mass market – Évolution de la concurrence et perspectives de croissance du marché à l’horizon 2023 » 

Je suis élaboré à base de produits bio, d’ingrédients naturels ou d’origine naturelle et commercialisé dans des emballages recyclables, en vrac ou sous forme solide. Qui suis-je ? Un… cosmétique bio et/ou naturel. La « clean beauty » fait désormais l’objet d’un véritable engouement en France dans un secteur de l’hygiène-beauté plutôt déprimé. Au risque de parfois friser le greenwashing. Aujourd’hui, les ventes de cosmétiques bio et naturels (+8 % à 972 millions d’euros en 2020) représentent 6,4 % du marché. Demain, leur poids dans l’univers des cosmétiques augmentera de 2 points à 8,5 % en 2023 grâce à des ventes qui vont bondir de 12 % par an en valeur pour frôler les 1,4 milliard d’euros en fin de période, d’après les calculs des experts de Xerfi Precepta. Les Français veulent en effet des produits plus responsables et meilleurs pour la santé. Et les moteurs de croissance ne manquent pas entre le développement considérable de l’offre dans les circuits de distribution, le foisonnement d’innovations des laboratoires et le poids croissant des Millenials dans la population de consommateurs. Dans ce contexte, l’enthousiasme pour les cosmétiques bio et durables a toutes les chances de s’imposer comme un phénomène durable. Et les géants de l’industrie de l’hygiène-beauté conventionnelle entendent bien profiter de cette manne après une première incursion ratée sur ce créneau au début des années 2000.

Et ils ne ménagent pas leur peine pour installer leurs cosmétiques bio dans les salles de bains de l’Hexagone. Ils déclinent ainsi en bio leurs grandes marques comme par exemple Garnier Bio ou en créent de nouvelles à l’instar de La Provençale bio chez L’Oréal. Les majors du secteur rivalisent également d’initiatives en faveur de l’environnement, à l’image du nouveau programme de développement durable « L’Oréal pour le futur », dévoilé en juin. Il s’agit pour le leader mondial des cosmétiques de retrouver la confiance des consommateurs, en démontrant l’authenticité et la cohérence de sa démarche, et de tirer parti du phénomène clean beauty, avec des gammes responsables susceptibles de répondre aux attentes des consommateurs sans être aussi contraignantes que le bio.

Si les géants du conventionnel (L’Oréal avec Ushuaïa, Mixa, Cadum et Garnier ; Unilever avec Dove, Timoteï, Monsavon ; Henkel avec Vademecum, Le Chat…) redoublent d’efforts pour convertir le marché des cosmétique bio et naturels au mass market, les pionniers n’ont pas dit leur dernier mot. Ces derniers font d’ailleurs encore la course en tête en matière de parts de marché. Ils vont néanmoins devoir se retrousser les manches. D’abord, ils vont devoir augmenter leurs capacités de production pour répondre à l’essor de la demande. Léa Nature a ainsi inauguré une nouvelle usine en 2019 pour à terme de tripler sa production. Les pionniers doivent également s’attacher à élargir leur offre tout en préservant leur image de marque. Pierre Cattier a ainsi commercialisé l’an dernier sa première gamme de crème solaire, segment encore peu investi par le bio. L’adoption de modes de production vegan ou encore la mise en œuvre de filières d’approvisionnement locales figurent aussi parmi les initiatives des marques spécialisées.

En parallèle, on assiste au boom des DNVB, les digital native vertical brands, ces marques qui se développent à l’origine exclusivement sur Internet pour assurer leur promotion et leur distribution. Plusieurs facteurs expliquent l’ampleur de ce phénomène. La beauté est l’un des sujets les plus partagés sur les réseaux sociaux. La défiance des consommateurs est aussi propice à l’émergence de nouvelles marques qui peuvent se démarquer et revendiquer des valeurs fortes en faveur de la santé, de l’environnement ou encore du respect des animaux. Les plus relayées et suivies sur les réseaux sociaux suscitent alors rapidement l’intérêt des distributeurs, comme par exemple les parfumeries sélectives et les grands magasins. A titre d’exemple, la marque Respire, créée sur le web en 2016, est référencée depuis 2019 dans les boutiques Sephora et Monoprix.

La grande distribution, bientôt premier circuit

Alors que la crise dans son ensemble a plombé les ventes de produits de beauté (fermeture du circuit sélectif durant les confinements, simplification des routines de beauté…), les ventes de produits bio ont notamment pu compter sur le maintien de l’activité des magasins bio, des GMS ou encore des pharmacies (ses principaux circuits de distribution). Alors que le taux de pénétration du e-commerce sur le marché de l’hygiène-beauté était resté limité, les ventes en ligne d’hygiène-beauté des grandes surfaces alimentaires (GSA) et du circuit sélectif ont respectivement bondi de 28 % et 52 % en valeur l’an dernier. Et, sur moyenne période, les vendeurs spécialisés (magasins de cosmétiques bio, magasins bio généralistes, pharmacies et parapharmacies) ont à la fois favorisé l’émergence et tiré l’essentiel des fruits de la croissance des ventes de cosmétiques bio et naturels. Leur légitimité historique et la largeur de leur offre n’y sont bien sûr pas étrangères.

Désormais, les GSA sont en première ligne et comptent bien rattraper leur retard. Les GSA qui sont d’ailleurs le lieu d’achat qui recrute le plus grand nombre de nouveaux consommateurs. Et en effet, 45 % d’entre eux y ont effectué leur premier achat de cosmétique bio en 2020. Compte tenu de l’offensive des géants de l’industrie cosmétique sur le bio, la grande distribution dispose de solides atouts pour se hisser très prochainement au rang de premier circuit de distribution de cosmétiques bio et naturels : une offre accessible, la distribution exclusive de l’offre bio des géants de l’industrie cosmétique et le référencement des marques de certains laboratoires spécialisés dans le bio, à l’image de So’Bio Éthic ou Weleda.

Auteur de l’étude : Benoît Samarcq