4.3 C
Paris
Tuesday December 6th, 2022
- publicity -

Gattefossé & CTIBiotech develop the first connected chip to measure bio impedance in bio-printed 3D skins

Sebum is a complex mixture of lipids secreted by sebocytes and deposited in the stratum corneum to contribute to the barrier function of the skin. Disruption of sebum production is associated with skin conditions, including acne or atopic dermatitis; it also affects the appearance and beauty of the skin by contributing to the development of oily or dry skin.

The in vivo confirmation of the efficacies obtained in vitro in healthy volunteers remains a critical step with a high failure or disappointment rate. This is why cosmetic laboratories continue to search for the most relevant biological markers and to develop in vitro testing methods that are fast, easy to implement, robust and, ultimately, as predictive as possible.

Gattefossé and CTIBiotech have joined forces to develop a bio-printed 3D model of skin incorporating sebocytes to measure, at the same time, non-invasive in vitro parameters easily applicable to in vivo measurements and experimental laboratory data.

Bio impedance (or bioelectric impedance analysis) has long been used to track the evolution of our body's fat mass and thus make it a personalized indicator for monitoring our health at home (scales). Using connected tools, Gattefossé and CTIBiotech used bio impedance to assess changes in the local environment of a 3D skin model incorporating sebocytes. The measurement of such non-invasive electrical activity made it possible to monitor sebum production in real time, in parallel with laboratory analyses related to the cellular, matrix and tissue development of the model.

Bio impedance has long been used in our weights and by dieticians to understand the general composition of the body. The application of this technique to the skin is an obvious step forward, but the real innovation lies in the development of real-time analysis of sebum changes. We have perfected our 3D printed complete skin models with a built-in bio impedance chip connected to monitor changes. By linking the screening of cosmetic products in this way, we are moving faster towards human testing and increasing our ability to manufacture more efficient products," explainsProf. Colin McGuckin, President and Chief Scientific Officer, CTIBiotech

Skin models containing sebocytes have reproducible sebum production, which is increased by linoleic acid and decreased by Tofa. This is characterized by significant changes in bio impedance both in the printed tissues and in the culture supernatants that surround them. Bio impedance, linked to the production of sebum, is therefore proving to be a clean non-invasive parameter in vitro and measurable in real time, to design ever more predictive and effective tests: indeed, the 3D models described here and connected to a simple chip system, accurately reflect changes in skin models as well as on living donors, "explains Dr. Nicolas Bechetoille, Ph.D/HDR – Head of R&D skin biology, Gattefossé

This work will be presented at 32th IFSCC Congress in London, 19-22 September 2022

Publicity
External resources
Site internet

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

Charles River offers new articles and a webinar on his dedicated page!I am looking that up !

- publicité -

Gattefossé & CTIBiotech développent la première puce connectée pour mesurer la bio impédance dans des peaux bio-imprimées 3D

Le sébum est un mélange complexe de lipides sécrété par les sébocytes et déposé dans la couche cornée pour contribuer à la fonction barrière de la peau. La perturbation de la production de sébum est associée à des affections cutanées, notamment l’acné ou la dermatite atopique ; elle affecte également l’apparence et la beauté de la peau en contribuant au développement d’une peau grasse ou sèche.

La confirmation in vivo, chez les volontaires sains, des efficacités obtenues in vitro reste une étape critique avec un taux d’échec ou de déception important. C’est pourquoi les laboratoires cosmétiques continuent de rechercher les marqueurs biologiques les plus pertinents et de développer des méthodes de tests in vitro à la fois rapides, faciles à mettre en œuvre, robustes et, in fine, les plus prédictives possibles.

Gattefossé et CTIBiotech ont uni leurs forces pour développer un modèle 3D bio imprimé de peau intégrant des sébocytes permettant de mesurer, à la fois, des paramètres in vitro non invasifs facilement applicables à des mesures in vivo et des données expérimentales de laboratoire.

La bio impédance (ou l’analyse de l’impédance bioélectrique) est utilisée depuis longtemps pour suivre l’évolution de la masse graisseuse de notre corps et en faire ainsi un indicateur personnalisé de suivi de notre santé à domicile (pèse-personnes). À l’aide d’outils connectés, Gattefossé et CTIBiotech ont utilisé la bio impédance pour évaluer les changements dans l’environnement local d’un modèle de peau 3D intégrant des sébocytes. La mesure d’une telle activité électrique non invasive a permis de suivre en temps réel la production de sébum, en parallèle d’analyses de laboratoire liées au développement cellulaire, matriciel et tissulaire du modèle.

La bio impédance est utilisée depuis longtemps dans nos pèse personnes et par les diététiciens pour comprendre la composition générale du corps. L’application de cette technique à la peau constitue une avancée évidente, mais la véritable innovation réside dans le développement de l’analyse en temps réel des changements de sébum. Nous avons perfectionné nos modèles de peau complète imprimés en 3D avec une puce de bio impédance intégrée connectée pour surveiller les changements. En reliant le criblage des produits cosmétiques de cette manière, nous progressons plus rapidement vers les tests sur l’homme et augmentons notre capacité à fabriquer des produits plus efficaces, explique Prof. Colin McGuckin,Président et directeur scientifique, CTIBiotech

Les modèles de peau contenant des sébocytes ont une production de sébum reproductible, laquelle est augmentée par l’acide linoléique et diminuée par le Tofa. Ceci est caractérisé par des changements significatifs de la bio impédance à la fois dans les tissus imprimés et dans les surnageants de culture qui les entourent. La bio impédance, liée à la production de sébum, s’avère donc être un paramètre propre non invasif in vitro et mesurable en temps réel, pour concevoir des tests toujours plus prédictifs et efficaces : en effet, les modèles 3D décrits ici et reliés à un système de puce simple, reflètent avec précision les changements dans les modèles de peau comme sur les donneurs vivants  » explique Dr. Nicolas Bechetoille, Ph.D/HDR – Responsable R&D biologie cutanée, Gattefossé

Ces travaux seront présentés au 32ème congrès de l’IFSCC à Londres, du 19 au 22 septembre 2022

Ressources externes
Site internet

Contenu sponsorisé

site-industries-cosmetiques Une publicité vibrante pour Croda Beauty avec un gros plan de fleurs orange avec un effet de flou en arrière-plan et le texte « Croda Beauty, une science intelligente pour améliorer la vie » inclut désormais Phytess

Phytessence™ Osmanthus, the first geo-skincare botanical extract by Croda Beauty

Discover how this innovative natural ingredient helps the skin to better face climate change, particularly the harmful effects of sun rays and heat.
site-industries-cosmetiques Un individu concentré en blouse de laboratoire examinant un petit pot contenant une substance rose, innovation cosmétique pionnière avec des ingrédients naturels en Bretagne.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline – the longest in the country.

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

fr_FRFrançais