7.6 C
Paris
Saturday, November 26, 2022
- publicity -

Guerlain becomes a member of the UEBT association

Established in 2007, the non-governmental organization UEBT is internationally recognized for its standard that defines ethical sourcing practices for ingredients derived from biodiversity. As a member of the UEBT, Maison Guerlain is committed to sourcing with respect for people and biodiversity. As part of this accession, we are setting targets and improving our supply in accordance with the UEBT standard, both from an ethical point of view and from the point of view of respect for biodiversity. That a luxury house like Guerlain follows this virtuous path today is a strong signal.

A commitment to social and environmental progress

Since 1828, Nature has been the source of inspiration for Guerlain products. Over time, "Preserving Biodiversity" has naturally established itself as one of the pillars of its sustainable commitment. By initiating an audit process to become a member of the UEBT, the House is taking a new step. Each of its 40 most emblematic sectors will be verified. Like the one in Calabria, Italy, allowing Guerlain to source bergamot, tangerine or eroli, or those in Turkish Isparta and Kazanlak in Bulgaria, which provide the House with the most beautiful roses in Damascus.
Sustainable development improvement plans will be deployed so that, with each supplier, each producer, Guerlain always goes further in an ethical and ecological sourcing of its natural materials. Thanks to this continuous improvement approach, Maison Guerlain aims to certify its sectors with the UEBT standard by 2026.

UEBT certification requires practices that respect biodiversity, reduce biodiversity loss, and protect the rights of workers and communities.

Since the creation of Guerlain, raw materials have been a source of inspiration and innovation for our House. Committing to the protection of biodiversity is therefore obvious for the quality and sustainability of our creations and our know-how while returning to Nature what it offers us. We are delighted to go further today in this engagement with the UEBT which allows us to place our actions in line with the new expectations of the Company, our clients, all backed by ambitious objectives. The UEBT standard covers social, ecological but also economic criteria. Meeting these criteria means taking an active part in preserving the diversity of our ecosystems while helping people around the world to lead dignified and healthy lives. Cecile Lochard – Director of Sustainable Development at Guerlain.

It's wonderful to see such a major luxury brand express its commitment to ethical sourcing that respects people and biodiversity. By committing to improving its sourcing of ingredients from nature in accordance with an internationally recognized standard, Guerlain is at the forefront of its sector. The House thus meets the ever-increasing expectations of today's consumers that brands should protect biodiversity as well as the communities where raw materials are grown and collected. Rik Kutsch Lojenga – Executive Director of uebt.

Publicity
External resources

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

site-industries-cosmetiques Une couverture du magazine Industries Cosmétiques
Discover all the innovations in perfumery and cosmetics.
Discover our special report: Save the People. Enjoy your direct access!
If you prefer the paper edition, please subscribe to our magazine
- publicité -

Guerlain devient membre de l’association UEBT

Créée en 2007, l’organisation non gouvernementale UEBT est reconnue internationalement pour sa norme qui définit les pratiques d’approvisionnement éthique pour les ingrédients issus de la biodiversité. En tant que membre de l’UEBT, la Maison Guerlain s’est engagée à s’approvisionner dans le respect des Hommes et de la biodiversité. Dans le cadre de cette adhésion, nous fixons des objectifs et améliorons notre approvisionnement conformément au standard UEBT, que ce soit du point de vue éthique comme de celui du respect de la biodiversité. Qu’une Maison de luxe comme Guerlain suive aujourd’hui ce chemin vertueux est un signal fort.

Un engament pour le progrès social et environnemental

Depuis 1828, la Nature est la source d’inspiration des produits Guerlain. Au fil du temps, “Préserver la biodiversité” s’est imposé naturellement comme l’un des piliers de son engagement durable. En initiant une démarche d’audit pour devenir membre de l’UEBT, la Maison franchit une nouvelle étape. Chacune de ses 40 filières les plus emblématiques va être vérifiée. À l’instar de celle en Calabre, en Italie, permettant à Guerlain de s’approvisionner en bergamote, en mandarine ou en néroli, ou encore celles dans l’Isparta turque et à Kazanlak en Bulgarie, qui fournissent à la Maison les plus belles roses de Damas.
Des plans d’amélioration développement durable vont être déployés pour, qu’avec chaque fournisseur, chaque producteur, Guerlain aille toujours plus loin dans un approvisionnement éthique et écologique de ses matières naturelles. Grâce à cette démarche d’amélioration continue, la Maison Guerlain vise la certification de ses filières avec la norme UEBT d’ici à 2026.

La certification UEBT exige des pratiques qui respectent la biodiversité, réduisent la perte de biodiversité, et qui protègent les droits des travailleurs et des communautés.

 » Les matières premières sont, depuis la création de Guerlain, une source d’inspiration et d’innovation pour notre Maison. S’engager pour la protection de la biodiversité est dès lors une évidence pour la qualité et la pérennité de nos créations et de nos savoir-faire tout en rendant à la Nature ce qu’elle nous offre. Nous nous réjouissons d’aller plus loin aujourd’hui dans cet engagement avec l’UEBT qui nous permet d’inscrire nos actions en cohérence avec les nouvelles attentes de la Société, de nos clientes et clients, le tout adossé à des objectifs ambitieux. La norme UEBT porte sur des critères sociaux, écologiques mais aussi économiques. Répondre à ces critères, c’est prendre activement part à la préservation de la diversité de nos écosystèmes tout en aidant des individus du monde entier à mener une vie digne et saine. » Cecile Lochard – Directrice Développement Durable de Guerlain.

 » C’est merveilleux de voir une marque de luxe aussi importante exprimer son engagement en faveur d’un approvisionnement éthique qui respecte les personnes et la biodiversité. En s’engageant à améliorer son sourcing d’ingrédients issus de la nature conformément à une norme internationalement reconnue, Guerlain est à la pointe de son secteur. La Maison répond ainsi aux attentes sans cesse croissantes des consommateurs d’aujourd’hui selon lesquelles les marques devraient protéger la biodiversité ainsi que les communautés où les matières premières sont cultivées et collectées. » Rik Kutsch Lojenga – Directeur Exécutif de l’UEBT.

Ressources externes

Contenu sponsorisé

site-industries-cosmetiques Une publicité vibrante pour Croda Beauty avec un gros plan de fleurs orange avec un effet de flou en arrière-plan et le texte « Croda Beauty, une science intelligente pour améliorer la vie » inclut désormais Phytess

Phytessence™ Osmanthus, the first geo-skincare botanical extract by Croda Beauty

Discover how this innovative natural ingredient helps the skin to better face climate change, particularly the harmful effects of sun rays and heat.
site-industries-cosmetiques Un individu concentré en blouse de laboratoire examinant un petit pot contenant une substance rose, innovation cosmétique pionnière avec des ingrédients naturels en Bretagne.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline – the longest in the country.

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

fr_FRFrançais