The French cosmetics sector has 14.5 billion euros in exports and confirms its role as a world leader

Cosmetics industry - perfumery

In 2018, the excellence and innovation of French cosmetics translates into exports that pass the 14.5 billion euro mark (up 6.3% compared to 2017). The sector has a positive trade balance of 11.2 billion euros, which is up almost 6.6% compared to 2017. The sector maintains its place on the podium of French export champions after aeronautics and wines and spirits.
The value of exports once again exceeds the sector's turnover in the French market.

The EU, Asia and North America remain the best performing areas

  • In the European Union, export growth remains strong with an increase of 4.5%. The largest increases were Spain (up 8.5%) Italy (up 7.2%). The outcome of the Brexit negotiations is highly anticipated by the sector as the UK is the second EU country (after Germany) to which France exports the most (over 1 billion euros with an increase of 3%). Outside the EU, Russia's growth was 17.8%.
    Although Europe is already a mature market, and French products are already very present, the attractiveness and safety of our products still allow us to increase our exports.
  • Exports to Asia continue to grow, with an increase of 16.6% in 2018 and growth of more than 20% in China (up 22.7%) Singapore (up 24%). More than 20% of French products now go to Asia, representing more than 2.6 billion euros.
  • North America posted a 6.8% increase in exports, including a 5.7% increase in the United States. It remains the second largest destination for our global exports. South and Central America remain stable.
  • For the Near and Middle East region, a slight decline of 2.1% in exports was effected (Saudi Arabia showing a decline of 6.2%), closely linked to the change in the price of oil.
  • For the Africa region, the situation is mixed: West Africa is up with 16.8%, Central and Southern Africa is down 6.8%. North Africa is also falling (-3.7%), mainly due to a blockage of imports by Algeria.

"French cosmetics continues to play a leading role around the world. Admired for its excellence, it is more innovative than ever to meet the new consumer wellness quests: on the quality and safety of formulations, product customization and environmental commitment," said Patrick O'Quin, President of the Women's Cosmetic Enterprises (FEBEA).

The champion categories continue their momentum

Care products and perfumes still account for 3/4 of France's cosmetics exports: 45% for care and 22% for perfumes, respectively.
Other champion categories include:

  • Make-up continues to grow with exports up (from 4.8% for lip makeup and 3.7% for eye makeup),
  • Hair preparations increased by 7.5% and shampoos by 5.8%.

Le secteur cosmétique français affiche 14,5 milliards d’euros d’exportations et confirme son rôle de leader mondial

En 2018, l’excellence et l’innovation de la cosmétique française se traduisent par des exportations qui passent la barre des 14,5 milliards d’euros (+6,3% par rapport à 2017). Le secteur présente une balance commerciale positive de 11,2 milliards d’euros, qui augmente de près de 6,6% par rapport à 2017. Le secteur maintient sa place sur le podiumdes champions de l’exportation française après l’aéronautique et les vins et spiritueux.
La valeur des exportations dépasse, une fois encore, le chiffre d’affaires réalisé par le secteur sur le marché français.

L’UE, l’Asie et l’Amérique du Nord restent les zones les plus performantes

  • En Union Européenne, la croissance des exportations reste soutenue avec une hausse de 4,5%. Les plus fortes hausses sont l’Espagne (+ 8,5%) et l’Italie (+7,2%). L’issue des négociations sur le Brexit est fortement attendue par le secteur puisque le Royaume Uni est le deuxième pays de l’UE (après l’Allemagne) vers lequel la France exporte le plus (plus d’1 milliard d’euros avec une augmentation de 3%).

    Hors UE, la progression de la Russie est de 17,8%.
    Bien que l’Europe soit déjà un marché mature, et que les produits français y soient déjà très présents, l’attractivité et la sécurité de nos produits nous permettent toujoursd’accroître nos exportations.

  • Les exportations vers l’Asie continuent de croitre, avec une augmentation de 16,6% en 2018 et des croissances supérieures à 20% en Chine (+22,7%) et à Singapour (+24%). Ce sont plus de 20% des produits français qui partentdésormais vers l’Asie, représentant plus de 2,6 milliards d’euros.
  • L’Amérique du Nord affiche une augmentation de 6,8% d’exportations, avec notamment une hausse de 5,7% aux Etats-Unis. Ce pays demeure la deuxième destination de nos exportations mondiales. L’Amérique du Sud et Centrale restent stables.
  • Pour la région Proche et Moyen-Orient, un léger recul de 2,1% des exportationss’est opéré (l’Arabie Saoudite accusant un repli de 6,2%), étroitement lié a la variation du cours du pétrole.
  • Pour la zone Afrique, la situation est contrastée : l’Afrique occidentale est en hausse avec +16,8%, l’Afrique centrale et australe est en recul de 6,8%. L’Afrique du Nord recule également (-3,7%), cela est principalement dû à un blocage des importations par l’Algérie.

« La cosmétique française continue de jouer un rôle phare dans le monde entier. Admirée pour son excellence, elle innove plus que jamais pour répondre aux nouvelles quêtes de bien-être des consommateurs : sur la qualité et la sécurité des formulations, la personnalisation des produits et l’engagement environnemental» déclare Patrick O’Quin, Président de laFédération des Entreprises de la Beauté (FEBEA).

Les catégories championnes poursuivent sur leur lancée

Les produits de soin et les parfums représentent toujours 3⁄4 des exportations françaises de cosmétiques : respectivement 45% pour les soins et 22% pour les parfums.
Parmi les autres catégories championnes :

  • Le maquillage poursuit sa dynamique avec des exportations en hausse (de 4,8% pour le maquillage des lèvres et 3,7% pour le maquillage des yeux),
  • Les préparations capillaires augmentent de 7,5% et les shampoings de 5,8%.

X