- advertising -
Generic selectors
Exact match only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Filter by category
News
Experts' opinions
Sponsored content
Formulation
Ingredients
Media kit
The magazine
Software
Management
Make-up
We tested for you
Packaging
Fragrances
Industrial processes
Regulations
CSR

L'Oréal and Verily launch a major study on skin and hair health

L'Oréal and Verily, an Alphabet subsidiary specializing in precision healthcare, announce the launch of "My Skin & Hair Journey", a multi-year study that will enable researchers to better understand the biological, clinical and environmental factors contributing to skin and hair health over time.

The "My Skin & Hair Journey" study will rely on the participation of thousands of American women, and will gather unprecedented information on their perceptions and experiences of skin and hair health, analyzing in particular the impact of each woman's lifestyle, environment, well-being and beauty routines. Women aged between 18 and 70, from a variety of backgrounds and with different skin and hair types, are invited to take part in the study by privately sharing their personal experiences of skin and hair health.

Among the participants, some will also be invited to take part in complementary tests to identify biomarkers (unique biological signatures) enabling early detection or prevention of skin diseases, before they take hold. L'Oréal will draw on the lessons learned from this field survey to develop precise, innovative beauty offers that meet the skin and hair health objectives and needs of all consumers.

"We're very excited about this venture with Verily, the world leader in precision health technologies. This is the first time a study of this scale has been launched by a cosmetics group for the beauty industry. Our work will go beyond the skin, as part of our research into longevity, said Barbara Lavernos, Executive Vice President, Research, Innovation and Technology, L'Oréal. This study could go so far as to unravel the mysteries of skin and hair health on an individual scale. In the future, it could serve as the basis for the development of precision beauty innovations with a level of personalization never before achieved."

"This program combines L'Oréal's scientific knowledge with Verily's expertise in technology and clinical science, said Stephen Gillett, CEO of Verily. Thanks to this multifaceted partnership, we aim to bring significant innovation by analyzing this data for better precision health for skin and hair."

L'Oréal has over a century's experience in research and development. What's more, its strong commitment to open innovation with its partners means it can more rapidly acquire knowledge that promotes the health of consumers' skin and hair. The Group has also extended its expertise in advanced research and innovation to precision beauty for everyone, drawing on synthetic biology, green science and Beauty Tech. The aim is to develop more personalized products and services, responding to the varied profiles, needs and aspirations of consumers worldwide.

"Skin health cohorts play a crucial role in elucidating the complex link between the wide range of biomarkers and their effects on skin health, said Guive Balooch, worldwide managing director in charge of augmented beauty and open innovation at L'Oréal. Regular follow-up of the women taking part in the study will enable us to observe changes, identify risk factors and develop personalized recommendations to improve skin well-being and health. This broader understanding contributes to the development of more precise and inclusive skin care approaches for everyone's needs."

In 2022, L'Oréal and Verily announced a multi-year strategic partnership and scientific collaboration to advance precision healthcare. As part of this work, this year L'Oréal also presented Hapta, an automated make-up applicator for people with reduced arm or hand mobility, powered by Verily technology.

The "My Skin & Hair Journey" field survey for skin and hair health is currently open to participants in the USA, and is due to be rolled out internationally. 

Photo: ©My Skin & Hair Journey
https://www.projectbaseline.com/studies/skin-hair-journey

External resources
Website

Sponsored content

site-industries-cosmetiques A concentrated individual in a lab coat examining a small jar containing a pink substance, a pioneering cosmetic innovation using natural ingredients in Brittany.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline - the longest in the country.

Related articles

Our last issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

en_USEnglish

- publicité -

L’Oréal et Verily lancent une très large étude sur la santé de la peau et des cheveux

L’Oréal et Verily, filiale d’Alphabet spécialisée dans la santé de précision, annoncent le lancement de « My Skin & Hair Journey », une étude pluriannuelle qui permettra aux chercheurs de mieux comprendre les facteurs biologiques, cliniques et environnementaux contribuant, au fil du temps, à la santé de la peau et des cheveux.

L’étude « My Skin & Hair Journey » reposera sur la participation de milliers de femmes américaines et recueillera des informations inédites portant sur la perception et les expériences en matière de santé de la peau et des cheveux, analysant notamment l’impact du mode de vie, de l’environnement, du bien-être et des routines de beauté de chacune. Les femmes âgées de 18 à 70 ans, issues d’origines et de milieux sociaux divers, et présentant différents types de peau et de cheveux, sont ainsi invitées à participer à l’étude en partageant, en privé et de manière déclarative, leurs expériences personnelles portant sur la santé de leur peau et de leurs cheveux.

Parmi les participantes, certaines seront également invitées à prendre part à des tests complémentaires afin d’identifier des biomarqueurs (des signatures biologiques uniques) permettant la détection précoce ou la prévention des maladies de peau, avant qu’elles ne s’installent. L’Oréal s’appuiera sur les enseignements tirés de cette enquête de terrain pour développer des offres de beauté précises et innovantes, répondant ainsi aux objectifs et aux besoins de tous les consommateurs en matière de santé de la peau et des cheveux.

« Cette aventure avec Verily, le leader mondial des technologies de santé de précision, nous passionne. C’est la première fois qu’une étude d’une telle ampleur est lancée par un groupe de cosmétiques pour l’industrie de la beauté. Notre travail ira au-delà de la peau pour s’inscrire dans notre recherche sur la longévité, a déclaré Barbara Lavernos, directrice générale adjointe en charge de la recherche, de l’innovation et de la technologie du groupe L’Oréal. Cette étude pourrait aller jusqu’à percer les mystères de la santé de la peau et des cheveux à l’échelle individuelle. À l’avenir, elle pourra servir de base au développement d’innovations en matière de beauté de précision avec un niveau de personnalisation encore jamais atteint. »

« Ce programme allie les connaissances scientifiques de L’Oréal à l’expertise de Verily en matière de technologie et de science clinique, a déclaré Stephen Gillett, CEO de Verily. Grâce à ce partenariat multifacettes, nous avons pour ambition d’apporter des innovations significatives en analysant ces données pour une meilleure santé de précision pour la peau et les cheveux. »

L’Oréal dispose d’une expérience en recherche et développement de plus d’un siècle. De plus, son fort engagement en faveur de l’open innovation avec ses partenaires permet d’acquérir plus rapidement des connaissances qui favorisent la santé de la peau et des cheveux des consommateurs. Le groupe a aussi étendu son expertise en recherche avancée et innovation à une beauté de précision pour chacun, en s’appuyant sur la biologie synthétique, les sciences vertes et la Beauty Tech. Le but étant de développer des produits et services plus personnalisés, répondant aux profils, aux besoins et aux aspirations variés des consommateurs du monde entier.

« Les cohortes de santé de la peau jouent un rôle crucial pour élucider le lien complexe entre le large éventail de biomarqueurs et leurs effets sur la santé de la peau, a déclaré Guive Balooch, directeur général monde en charge de la beauté augmentée et de l’open innovation du groupe L’Oréal. Un suivi régulier des femmes qui participent à l’étude nous permettra d’observer les changements, d’identifier les facteurs de risque et de développer des recommandations personnalisées afin d’améliorer le bien-être et la santé de la peau. Cette compréhension élargie contribue au développement d’approches de soins de la peau plus précises et plus inclusives pour les besoins de chacun. »

En 2022, L’Oréal et Verily ont annoncé un partenariat stratégique et une collaboration scientifique pluriannuels visant à faire progresser la santé de précision. Dans le cadre de ce travail, L’Oréal a aussi présenté cette année Hapta, un applicateur de maquillage automatisé destiné aux personnes à mobilité réduite du bras ou de la main et alimenté par la technologie Verily.

L’enquête de terrain de l’étude « My Skin & Hair Journey » pour la santé de la peau et des cheveux est actuellement ouverte aux participantes aux États-Unis, et devrait être déployée à l’international. 

Photo : ©My Skin & Hair Journey
Site https://www.projectbaseline.com/studies/skin-hair-journey

Ressources externes
Site internet

Contenu sponsorisé

site-industries-cosmetiques Une publicité vibrante pour Croda Beauty avec un gros plan de fleurs orange avec un effet de flou en arrière-plan et le texte « Croda Beauty, une science intelligente pour améliorer la vie » inclut désormais Phytess

Phytessence™ Osmanthus, the first geo-skincare botanical extract by Croda Beauty

Discover how this innovative natural ingredient helps the skin to better face climate change, particularly the harmful effects of sun rays and heat.
site-industries-cosmetiques Un individu concentré en blouse de laboratoire examinant un petit pot contenant une substance rose, innovation cosmétique pionnière avec des ingrédients naturels en Bretagne.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline – the longest in the country.

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

fr_FRFrançais