Marc-Antoine Jamet re-elected President of Cosmetic Valley

Meeting in the "Grand Amphi" of the University of Orléans, on June 29, in the heart of the competitiveness cluster, cosmetic valley's general meeting opened with the re-election to its presidency of Marc-Antoine Jamet, secretary general of the LVMH group, unanimously appointed by the directors for a new three-year term.

For his third term, the president of Cosmetic Valley will have the mission of promoting a national coordination of the French sector of cosmetic perfumery. Cosmetic Valley now federates 800 companies, including most of the major French groups and 80% of SMEs/ VSEs, representative of all French territories, Hexagonal regions such as those of overseas France, and of all the professions of the sector: ingredients, processes, packaging, tests, finished products, etc.

With a turnover of 45 billion euros and 246,000 jobs, Cosmetic Valley says it embodies the values of the "France brand" in terms of cosmetic perfumery: innovation, performance, product safety, respect for the environment, authenticity of ingredients. Driving a sector that brings France its second largest export balance and occupies a world leader position in an increasingly competitive market, Cosmetic Valley stresses that it has been able to create a real "industrial fabric" between large groups and SMEs, private and public actors, laboratories, universities and training institutions. The cluster has a strong European and international dimension and participates in various Community programmes. This ecosystem is the world's leading network for cosmetology research.

"I always feel the same pleasure in embodying our gathering with the public authorities, in the regions, in front of the central administrations, internationally," said Marc-Antoine Jamet. The trust that my peers continue to place in me is an inexhaustible source of pride for me. It seems to me that we have collectively made progress in strength and legitimacy, moved our issues forward together and diversified our actions. Of course, we still face many challenges. In particular, we will have to face the four major transitions, ecological, technological, economic and digital, which the health crisis has not created, but exacerbated. This year was therefore marked by our resistance and the manufacture of gel, by the resilience and the restart of our factories, our workshops. It must continue through our determined involvement in reviving growth and jobs in our country. Because we want, through concrete advances, to ensure our performance tomorrow, today we are adapting not only our tools – I am thinking of the 400 million euros of collaborative projects underway – but also our governance, with directors who reflect even more the diversity and wealth of our members. I expect them to participate actively, to commit themselves to being our ambassadors, to France and to the world. I am pleased that, in a period of decisive transitions, they wanted to renew their confidence in me for a new mandate at the head of Cosmetic Valley. »

Marc-Antoine Jamet réélu président de Cosmetic Valley

Réunie dans le « Grand Amphi » de l’Université d’Orléans, le 29 juin dernier, au cœur du pôle de compétitivité, l’assemblée générale de Cosmetic Valley s’est ouverte par la réélection à sa présidence de Marc-Antoine Jamet, secrétaire général du groupe LVMH, désigné à l’unanimité des administrateurs pour un nouveau mandat de trois ans.

Pour son troisième mandat, le président de Cosmetic Valley aura pour mission de favoriser une coordination nationale de la filière française de la parfumeriecosmétique. Cosmetic Valley fédère aujourd’hui 800 entreprises, dont la plupart des grands groupes français et 80 % de PME/TPE, représentatives de tous les territoires français, régions hexagonales comme celles de l’outre-mer, et de tous les métiers de la filière : ingrédients, procédés, packagings, tests, produits finis, etc.

Avec 45 milliards d’euros de chiffre d’affaires et 246 000 emplois, Cosmetic Valley indique incarner les valeurs de la « marque France » en matière de parfumerie cosmétique : innovation, performance, sécurité des produits, respect de l’environnement, authenticité des ingrédients. Moteur d’un secteur qui apporte à la France son deuxième solde exportateur et occupe une place de leader mondial sur un marché de plus en plus compétitif, Cosmetic Valley souligne avoir su créer un véritable « tissu industriel » entre grands groupes et PME, acteurs privés et acteurs publics, laboratoires, universités et établissements de formation. Le pôle bénéficie d’une forte dimension européenne et internationale et il participe à différents programmes communautaires. Cet écosystème est le premier réseau mondial pour la recherche en cosmétologie.

« J’éprouve toujours le même plaisir à incarner notre rassemblement auprès des pouvoirs publics, en région, face aux administrations centrales, à l’international, a déclaré Marc-Antoine Jamet. La confiance que continue de m’accorder mes pairs est pour moi une fierté inépuisable. Nous avons, me semble-t-il, collectivement progressé en force et en légitimité, fait avancer ensemble nos dossiers, diversifié nos actions. Certes nous avons encore devant nous de nombreux défis à relever. Nous devrons notamment faire face aux quatre grandes transitions, écologique, technologique, économique et numérique, que la crise sanitaire n’a pas créées, mais exacerbées. Cette année a donc été marquée par notre résistance et la fabrication de gel, par la résilience et le redémarrage de nos fabriques, de nos ateliers. Elle doit se poursuivre par notre implication déterminée dans la relance de la croissance et des emplois dans notre pays. Parce que nous souhaitons, par des avancées concrètes, assurer nos performances demain, nous adaptons aujourd’hui non seulement nos outils – je pense aux 400 millions d’euros de projets collaboratifs en cours – mais aussi notre gouvernance, avec des administrateurs qui reflètent davantage encore la diversité et la richesse de nos adhérents. J’attends d’eux une participation active, l’engagement d’être nos ambassadeurs, en France et dans le monde. Je suis heureux que, dans une période de transitions décisives, ils aient souhaité me renouveler leur confiance pour un nouveau mandat à la tête de Cosmetic Valley. »