-0.5 C
Paris
Thursday February 9th, 2023
- publicity -

Riverpack engages with women employed in China with the support of Chanel

Riverpack, a committed player on CSR issues, has designed and deployed a multi-year program to promote gender equality and support women's empowerment at its paper bag production site in China.

Paper bags are manually assembled on the Riverpack site, mostly by women. Female employees are generally exposed to their own quality of life and occupational health issues. These issues are also specific depending on the geographical and socio-cultural location of a production site.

In line with the strong awareness of the importance of CSR, particularly society, riverpack, and its commitment to gender equality, the desire to work on a program targeting the quality of life at work of women at the factory in China has become established. Designed with the support of Chanel, and piloted at Riverpack by Alexandre Fontaine, Corporate Social Responsibility Manager, it has been the subject of close cooperation with field teams in China.

Employee health at the heart of priorities: The programme was tailor-made with the support of BSR, Business for Social Responsibility, Chanel's strategic partner on gender issues in the supply chain. The objective of BSR's HERhealth approach is to train women employed in the factory on issues related to family planning, reproductive and maternal health (contraception, pregnancy, pre-/post-natal care), prevention of diseases (HIV, breast cancer, etc.), quality of life and occupational health and safety (at-risk positions and unsuitable for pregnant women).

The program began in early 2019 with a diagnosis to assess women's knowledge of their own health. The aim was then to advance their knowledge by relying on the principle of peer to peer learning, which is peer-to-peer learning. Of just over 200 women out of the plant's 500 employees, 12 voluntarily committed, as Peer Health Educators (PHE), to an 18-hour training course spread over 6 months, delivered by BSR. With the support of the management, sensitized and involved, each then set out to train 20 to 30 of its colleagues in monthly sessions, allowing them to develop the knowledge of nearly 200 employees, including male volunteers, on the issues of health safety and quality of life of women at work, and on gender equality.

The trainings were relayed on site by dynamic communication on the part of the management and the CSR manager of the factory: display of information and events, forums of expression, dashboards, supervision and accompaniment of PHE in the animation of a specially dedicated WeChat network... This pro-active dissemination of information quickly established a constructive dialogue with employees on gender equality issues, which is intended to extend beyond the end of the program in June 2021 and to establish a lasting anchor in the site's managerial culture.

Concrete and measurable results: In order to measure the positive impact of this project, indicators have been defined and monitored to take stock of the progress made and the benefits achieved in the medium to long term. Employees' level of knowledge about their health, their ability to care for themselves, their level of personal consideration are all factors that improve their well-being and therefore their motivation, accountability and commitment. The monitoring of these indicators established a correlation with a decrease in absenteeism and turnover during the duration of the program, demonstrating the importance of the valuation of human capital on the site.

Inspiring and egalitarian management practices: based on the positive findings and results of the HERhealth approach, the collaboration with BSR in April 2020 extended to the deployment of a HERmanagement pilot programme, developed with the support of Chanel. The aim of the programme is to increase the site's management's awareness of gender equality issues, ultimately helping to promote the integration and professional development of employees. Based on in-depth questionnaires and collaborative sessions between employees and management, the program resulted in an action plan to further strengthen gender equality in internal procedures and protocols.

"At Riverpack, teams believe that recognition and education are key factors in women's empowerment, gender equality and opportunity. The indicators we have been following over the past two years, such as absenteeism or turnover rates, are a concrete example of the quality of the dialogue established, the work and the progress made towards greater professional equality. This is thanks in part to a clear, regular and transparent communication between employees, employees, site management and company: the mutual benefits are immense and we are very proud of how far we have come,"said Frédéric Poinas, Managing Director of Riverpack.

"Within the AFD Group, Riverpack's parent company, the CSR approach is historic and mature. Riverpack demonstrates this through its recent EcoVadis assessment, with Platinum status. It was essential for us to go even further and fully exercise our societal responsibility. This is a strong expectation of Chanel, with regard to its preferred suppliers. The HER project is a beautiful challenge, which we hold dear to take on concrete actions: to be in the DO rather than in the DIRE. It is more delicate, longer, since it concerns the Human. We are grateful to Chanel for trusting us to lead this project, and above all happy to show our respect for our employees, contributing to a quality of life at work individual, which radiates on a collective scale,"said Pierre Fayard, President of the AFD Group.

"CSR is in our DNA," says Poinas. CSR issues are an integral part of our corporate strategy, formalized and led for three years by Alexandre Fontaine, Corporate Social Responsibility Manager, joined by Alexandra Fayard. A recent graduate in Land Economy from The University of Cambridge, her knowledge of environmental economics and law will accompany the international development of the AFD Group and Riverpack in particular, while limiting their impact. Our vision of CSR is naturally realized by a sustainable approach to packaging, from its conception: certified paper from responsibly and sustainably managed forests, paper incorporating a share of recycled fibers, ropes and ribbons in bio-sourced and renewable materials, substitution of filming with water-based protective varnish etc. At Riverpack, however, we approach CSR far beyond the material approach and consider in depth the social and societal impact of our business within the local industrial fabric. It is this vision shared with Chanel, for whom we are a privileged partner, that brought us together and pushed us to go even further with the implementation of a project centered on women employed at our production site in China. »

"The CSR manager at the plant himself distributes information brochures on available measures, rights and remedies, facilities and nearby health contacts. It is gratifying to see, through the testimonies, the usefulness and more, the cruciality of this approach, which drives us all,"notes Frédéric Poinas.

Publicity
External resources
riverpack.fr

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

Riverpack s’engage auprès des femmes employées en Chine avec le soutien de la Maison Chanel

Riverpack, acteur engagé sur les enjeux de la RSE, a conçu et déployé un programme pluriannuel de promotion de l’égalité des genres et d’appui à l’autonomisation des femmes au sein de son site de production de sacs en papier en Chine.

Les sacs en papier sont assemblés manuellement sur le site de Riverpack, essentiellement par des femmes. Les employées femmes sont généralement exposées à des enjeux de qualité de vie et de santé sécurité au travail qui leur sont propres. Ces enjeux sont aussi spécifiques en fonction de l’implantation géographique et socio-culturelle d’un site de production.

Dans la lignée de la conscience forte de l’importance de la RSE, en particulier sociétale, de Riverpack, et de son engagement en faveur de l’égalité des genres, la volonté de travailler sur un programme ciblant la qualité de vie au travail des femmes de l’usine en Chine s’est imposée. Conçu avec le soutien de la Maison Chanel, et piloté chez Riverpack par Alexandre Fontaine, Corporate Social Responsibility Manager, il a fait l’objet d’une coopération étroite avec les équipes de terrain en Chine.

La santé des employées au cœur des priorités : Le programme a été conçu sur mesure avec l’appui de l’association BSR, Business for Social Responsibility, partenaire stratégique de la Maison Chanel sur la prise en compte des questions de genre dans la supply chain. L’objectif de la démarche HERhealth de BSR est de former les femmes employées en usine à des enjeux liés au planning familial, à la santé reproductive et maternelle (contraception, grossesse, soin pré-/post-natal), à la prévention des maladies (HIV, cancer du sein, etc.), à leur qualité de vie et à leur santé-sécurité au travail (postes à risques et inadaptés aux femmes enceintes).

Le programme a débuté début 2019 par un diagnostic visant à évaluer les connaissances des femmes sur leur propre santé. L’objectif était ensuite de faire progresser leurs connaissances en s’appuyant sur le principe du peer to peer learning, soit de l’apprentissage entre pairs. Parmi un peu plus de 200 femmes sur les 500 employés de l’usine, 12 se sont engagées volontairement, en tant que Peer Health Educators (PHE), à suivre une formation de 18 heures répartie sur 6 mois, dispensée par BSR. Avec le soutien de l’encadrement, sensibilisé et impliqué, chacune s’est ensuite attachée à former 20 à 30 de ses collègues lors de sessions mensuelles, permettant de développer à leur tour les connaissances de près de 200 employés, dont des hommes volontaires, sur les enjeux de santé sécurité et de qualité de vie des femmes au travail, et sur l’égalité des genres.

Les formations étaient relayées sur site par une communication dynamique de la part de l’encadrement et du responsable RSE de l’usine : affichage des informations et des événements, tribunes d’expression, tableaux de bord, supervision et accompagnement des PHE dans l’animation d’un réseau WeChat spécialement dédié… Cette diffusion pro-active de l’information a permis d’établir rapidement un dialogue constructif avec les employé(e)s sur les enjeux liés à l’égalité des genres, qui a vocation à se prolonger au-delà de la fin du programme en juin 2021 et à s’ancrer durablement dans la culture managériale du site.

Des résultats concrets et mesurables : afin de mesurer l’impact positif de ce projet, des indicateurs ont été définis et suivis pour dresser un bilan à moyen-long terme des progrès réalisés et des bénéfices obtenus. Le niveau de connaissances des employées sur leur santé, leur capacité à prendre soin d’elles, leur niveau de considération personnelle sont autant de facteurs qui améliorent leur bien-être et donc leur motivation, leur responsabilisation et leur engagement. Le suivi de ces indicateurs a permis d’établir une corrélation avec une baisse de l’absentéisme et du turnover durant la durée du programme, démontrant l’importance de la valorisation du capital humain sur le site.

Des pratiques managériales inspirantes et égalitaires : fort des constats et des résultats positifs obtenus par la démarche HERhealth, la collaboration avec BSR s’est étendue en avril 2020 au déploiement d’un programme pilote HERmanagement, élaboré avec le soutien de la Maison Chanel. L’objectif du programme est de renforcer la sensibilisation du management du site aux enjeux liés à l’égalité des genres, permettant à terme de favoriser l’insertion et l’évolution professionnelle des employées. Basé sur des questionnaires approfondis et sur des séances collaboratives entre employé(e)s et management, le programme a débouché sur un plan d’action pour renforcer encore l’égalité des genres dans les procédures et protocoles internes.

« Chez Riverpack, les équipes sont convaincues que la reconnaissance et l’éducation sont les facteurs clés de l’émancipation des femmes, de l’égalité des genres et des chances. Les indicateurs que nous suivons depuis deux ans, comme les taux d’absentéisme ou de turnover, témoignent concrètement de la qualité du dialogue établi, du travail et des progrès réalisés en faveur d’une plus grande égalité professionnelle. Et ce grâce entre autres à une communication claire, régulière et transparente entre employées, employés, management du site et entreprise : les bénéfices mutuels sont immenses et nous sommes très fiers du chemin parcouru », indique Frédéric Poinas, directeur général de Riverpack.

« Au sein du groupe AFD, maison mère de Riverpack, la démarche RSE est historique et mature. Riverpack le démontre à travers sa récente évaluation EcoVadis, avec le statut Platine. Il était essentiel pour nous d’aller encore plus loin et d’exercer pleinement notre responsabilité sociétale. C’est une attente forte de la Maison Chanel, à l’égard de ses fournisseurs privilégiés. Le projet HER est un beau défi, qu’il nous tient à cœur de relever par des actions concrètes : être dans le FAIRE plutôt que dans le DIRE. C’est plus délicat, plus long, puisqu’elle concerne l’Humain. Nous sommes reconnaissants envers la Maison Chanel de nous avoir fait confiance pour conduire ce projet, et surtout heureux de manifester notre considération à l’égard de nos employées, en contribuant à une qualité de vie au travail individuelle, qui rayonne à l’échelle collective », souligne Pierre Fayard, président du groupe AFD.

« La RSE est dans notre ADN, souligne Frédéric Poinas. Les enjeux de la RSE font partie intégrante de notre stratégie d’entreprise, formalisée et pilotée depuis trois ans par Alexandre Fontaine, Corporate Social Responsability Manager, rejoint par Alexandra Fayard. Récemment diplômée en Land Economy de l’université de Cambridge, ses connaissances en matière d’économie et de droit environnementaux accompagneront le développement international des activités du groupe AFD et de Riverpack en particulier, tout en limitant leur impact. Notre vision de la RSE se concrétise naturellement par une approche durable de l’emballage, dès sa conception : papier certifié et issu de forêts gérées de manière responsable et durable, papier intégrant une part de fibres recyclées, cordelettes et rubans en matières biosourcées et renouvelables, substitution du pelliculage par du vernis de protection à base eau etc. Chez Riverpack, cependant, nous abordons la RSE bien au- delà de l’approche matière et considérons en profondeur l’impact social et sociétal de notre activité au sein du tissu industriel local. C’est cette vision partagée avec la Maison Chanel, pour qui nous sommes un partenaire privilégié, qui nous a réunis et nous a poussés à aller encore plus loin avec l’implémentation d’un projet centré sur les femmes employées au sein de notre site de production en Chine. »

« Le responsable RSE de l’usine distribue lui-même des brochures d’information sur les mesures disponibles, les droits et recours, les établissements et les contacts de santé accessibles à proximité. C’est gratifiant de constater, à travers les témoignages, l’utilité et plus encore, la crucialité de cette démarche, qui nous anime tous », relève Frédéric Poinas.