7.8 C
Paris
Tuesday, November 29, 2022
- publicity -

SBTi validates Verescence's carbon emission reduction targets

Verescence, the world's speciality for glass bottles for the perfumery and cosmetics industries, announces that the Science Based Targets (SBTi)1 initiative has validated its decarbonisation trajectory by 2034 and has recognised it as compatible with the scenario of limiting global warming to well below 2°C, in line with the recommendations of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and the Paris Climate Agreement.

This trajectory covers both direct CO2 emissions related to the manufacture of vials (Scope 1) and indirect emissions related to energy consumption (Scope 2), representing more than 60% of the Group's total cumulative emissions.

In concrete terms, Verescence is committed to reducing its CO2 emissions by 40% in absolute terms on scopes 1 & 2 by 2034 compared to the 2019 reference year.

To achieve this objective, the group has built a plan to reduce CO2 emissions based on several levers, whether it is to improve the energy performance of its existing processes, to deploy large-scale projects to electrify its furnaces or to increase its annual supply of electricity produced from renewable energy sources. Added to this is the acceleration of its eco-design solutions in collaboration with its customers (reusable or refillable glass, PCR2 glass, lightweight glass, etc.).

"We welcome the validation of our CO2 reduction targets by SBTi. An independent and scientific approach essential to fight against climate change. We are now one of the first glassmakers in the world to have a decarbonization trajectory in line with the Paris Agreement and aligned with the recommendations of the scientific community. The Group's objective is to achieve carbon neutrality by 2050," comments Thomas Riou, CEO of Verescence.

The glassmaker has estimated at 20 million euros the overinvestments necessary to achieve its objectives and also intends to reduce indirect emissions related to its value chain (Scope 3) by guiding its suppliers in a process of reducing their carbon footprint.

1 Launched in June 2015, the Science Based Targets (SBTi) initiative is a consortium of the world's leading global warming bodies: the Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP), the World Resources Institute (WRI), the World Wildlife Fund (WWF) and the United Nations Global Compact. It aims to encourage companies to set greenhouse gas (GHG) emission reduction targets aligned with the recommendations of the scientific community.

2 PCR: Post-Consumer Recycled, recycled glass from the local collection of household waste.

Publicity
External resources
verescence.com

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

Charles River offers new articles and a webinar on his dedicated page!I am looking that up !

20.2 C
Paris
mercredi 25 mai 2022
- publicité -

SBTi valide les objectifs de réduction des émissions de carbone de Verescence

Verescence, spécialsite mondial du flaconnage en verre pour les industries de la parfumerie et de la cosmétique, annonce que l’initiative Science Based Targets (SBTi)1 a validé sa trajectoire de décarbonation à l’horizon 2034 et l’a reconnue compatible avec le scénario de limitation du réchauffement planétaire à un niveau bien inférieur à 2°C, conformément aux recommandations du groupe d’experts intergouvernemental sur l’évolution du climat (GIEC) et à l’Accord de Paris sur le Climat.

Cette trajectoire couvre à la fois les émissions de CO2 directes relatives à la fabrication des flacons (Scope 1) et les émissions indirectes liées à la consommation d’énergie (Scope 2), représentant plus de 60 % des émissions totales du Groupe cumulées.

Concrètement, Verescence s’engage à réduire ses émissions de CO2 de 40 % en valeur absolue sur les scopes 1 & 2 d’ici à 2034 par rapport à l’année de référence 2019.

Pour atteindre cet objectif, le groupe a construit un plan de réduction des émissions de CO2 s’appuyant sur plusieurs leviers, qu’il s’agisse d’améliorer la performance énergétique de ses procédés existants, de déployer des projets d’envergure d’électrification de ses fours ou d’augmenter son approvisionnement annuel en électricité produite à partir de sources d’énergies renouvelables. À cela s’ajoute l’accélération de ses solutions d’éco-conception en collaboration avec ses clients (verre réutilisable ou rechargeable, verre PCR2, verre allégé, etc.).

« Nous nous félicitons de la validation de nos objectifs de réduction de CO2 par le SBTi. Une approche indépendante et scientifique indispensable pour lutter contre le changement climatique. Nous faisons aujourd’hui partie des premiers verriers au monde à avoir une trajectoire de décarbonation conforme à l’Accord de Paris et alignée sur les préconisations de la communauté scientifique. L’objectif du Groupe est d’atteindre la neutralité carbone en 2050 », commente Thomas Riou, CEO de Verescence.

Le verrier a chiffré à 20 millions d’euros les surinvestissements nécessaires à l’atteinte de ses objectifs et entend également réduire les émissions indirectes liées à sa chaine de valeur (Scope 3) en orientant ses fournisseurs dans une démarche de réduction de leur empreinte carbone.

1 Lancée en juin 2015, l’initiative Science Based Targets (SBTi) est un consortium réunissant les plus grandes instances internationales luttant contre le réchauffement climatique : le CDP (Carbon Disclosure Project), le WRI (World Resources Institute), le WWF (World Wildlife Fund) et le Global Compact des Nations Unies. Il vise à encourager les entreprises à définir des objectifs de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) alignés sur les préconisations de la communauté scientifique.

2 PCR : Post-Consumer Recycled, le verre recyclé issu de la collecte locale des déchets ménagers.

Ressources externes
verescence.com

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

X