13.4 C
Paris
Sunday, September 25, 2022
- publicity -

Export: access to the Brazilian market

Publicity

The Brazilian cosmetics sector was affected by the slowdown in the Brazilian economy in 2015. After more than two decades of double-digit growth, sales of the beauty industry totaled BRL 42.7 billion (i.e. around EUR 10 billion), down 6% compared to 2014.

Brazil remains the 3rd World market cosmetics and hygiene, behind China and the United States.

In addition, local cosmetics manufacturers continue to bet on the launch of new innovative products to circumvent the crisis, thus seeking to bring real benefits and innovations for consumers, motivating them to buy. The sector's growth potential remains positive thanks to the large volume of potential consumers, which represents an excellent prospect for French manufacturers of luxury packaging and innovative ingredients (sectors still underdeveloped in Brazil).

Brazil is the world's largest consumer of deodorants, perfumes and children's products; the second in men's products, oral hygiene, hair, sun and bath products; the third in makeup; fourth in skin products; and fifth in depilatory products.

The development prospects of the sector are still important, in particular because of the low relative penetration rate of certain products, the aging of the population and cultural changes.

The national industry, for its part, is highly developed. The perfumes, cosmetics and personal hygiene sector comprises 1,659 companies. Among these companies, however, 20 companies alone account for 73% of the sector's sales volume and have a turnover of over BRL 100 million. Large local and international groups share the market. Among the most important companies are the multinationals Avon, Coty, Colgate-Palmolive, Johnson & Johnson, Procter & Gamble, Unilever, L'Oréal, as well as the Brazilian companies Natura SA and O Boticário.

In a difficult economic context, and faced with significant local competition, the industry is now seeking to strengthen the launches of innovative and accessible products.

Importers and distributors of raw materials intended for the local cosmetics industry wish to respond to this demand for constant innovation, by looking on international markets for packaging and ingredients corresponding to consumer requirements. The following segments are particularly promising:

  • transforming agents contained in hair products: ingredients allowing to modify the nature of the hair or to repair it as quickly as possible;
  • sensory modifiers that can offer: new textures, a better rate of penetration of the cellular layers (for hydration of the skin), better luminosity of the skin, a pleasant fragrance;
  • unique ingredients capable of bringing together and providing the greatest possible benefit;
  • specialized ingredients for dark skin, with particular characteristics (normal to oily and very sensitive);
  • new molecules for solar products.

It is important to underline that access to the Brazilian cosmetic ingredients market is relatively simplified from a regulatory point of view; the vast majority of cosmetic ingredients are, for example, not obliged to register with the Brazilian National Agency for Sanitary Surveillance (ANVISA). Finished cosmetic products are subject to much more rigid and restrictive legislation.

For raw material manufacturers wishing to explore the market, the In-Cosmetics Brasil trade fair (organized from October 5 to 6, 2016 in São Paulo) is a must-attend event. The show brings together more than 200 exhibitors of raw materials, fragrances, laboratory equipment and testing and regulatory solutions and nearly 3,000 cosmetic manufacturers from across Latin America.

Info +

Business France is organizing, for the third consecutive year, a France pavilion at the event.

https://www.cosmetiques.industries/lien/bresil

 

Publicity
External resources

Related articles

Our latest issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

X

Export : accéder au marché brésilien

Le secteur cosmétique brésilien a été affecté par le ralentissement de l’économie brésilienne en 2015. Après plus de deux décennies de croissance à deux chiffres, les ventes de l’industrie de la beauté ont totalisé un montant de 42,7 Mds BRL (soit environ 10 Mds EUR), en baisse de 6 % par rapport à l’année 2014.

Le Brésil reste néanmoins le 3e marché mondial de produits de beauté et d’hygiène, derrière la Chine et les États unis.

Par ailleurs, les fabricants locaux de cosmétiques continuent de parier sur le lancement de nouveaux produits innovants pour contourner la crise, cherchant ainsi à apporter de réels bénéfices et nouveautés pour le consommateur, le motivant à acheter. Le potentiel de croissance du secteur reste positif grâce au volume important de potentiels consommateurs, ce qui représente une excellente perspective pour les fabricants français d’emballages de luxe et d’ingrédients innovants (secteurs encore peu développés au Brésil).

Le Brésil est le premier consommateur mondial de déodorants, de parfums et de produits pour enfants ; le deuxième en produits masculins, produits d’hygiène bucco-dentaire, capillaires, solaires et pour le bain ; le troisième en maquillage ; quatrième en produits pour la peau ; et cinquième en produits dépilatoires.

Les perspectives de développement de la filière sont encore importantes, en raison notamment du faible taux de pénétration relatif de certains produits, du vieillissement de la population et de changements culturels.

L’industrie nationale est pour sa part fortement développée. Le secteur des parfums, produits cosmétiques et d’hygiène corporelle compte 1 659 entreprises. Parmi ces sociétés, 20 entreprises représentent toutefois à elles seules 73 % du volume de ventes du secteur et réalisent un chiffre d’affaires dépassant les 100 millions de BRL. De grands groupes locaux et internationaux se répartissent le marché. Parmi les entreprises les plus importantes, on peut citer les multinationales Avon, Coty, Colgate-Palmolive, Johnson & Johnson, Procter & Gamble, Unilever, L’Oréal, ainsi que les entreprises brésiliennes Natura SA et O Boticário.

Dans un contexte économique difficile, et face à une concurrence locale importante, l’industrie cherche aujourd’hui à renforcer les lancements de produits innovants et accessibles.

Les importateurs et distributeurs de matières premières destinées à l’industrie cosmétique locale souhaitent répondre à cette demande d’innovation constante, en recherchant sur les marchés internationaux des emballages et ingrédients correspondants aux exigences des consommateurs. Les segments suivants sont particulièrement porteurs :

  • agents transformateurs contenus dans les produits capillaires: ingrédients permettant de modifier la nature du cheveu ou de le réparer le plus rapidement possible ;
  • modificateurs sensoriels pouvant offrir : de nouvelles textures, un meilleur taux de pénétration des couches cellulaires (pour l’hydratation de la peau), une meilleure luminosité de la peau, un parfum agréable ;
  • ingrédients uniques capables de regrouper et fournir le plus de bienfaits possible ;
  • ingrédients spécialisés pour les peaux noires, aux caractéristiques particulières (normales à grasses et très sensibles) ;
  • nouvelles molécules pour les produits solaires.

Il est important de souligner que l’accès au marché brésilien d’ingrédients cosmétiques est relativement simplifié d’un point de vue réglementaire ; la grande majorité des ingrédients cosmétiques ne sont, par exemple, pas obligés de s’enregistrer auprès de l’Agence Nationale de Surveillance Sanitaire brésilienne (ANVISA). Les produits cosmétiques finis sont, eux, soumis à une législation nettement plus rigide et restrictive.

Pour les fabricants de matières premières souhaitant explorer le marché, le salon In-Cosmetics Brasil (organisé du 5 au 6 octobre 2016 à São Paulo) est un évènement incontournable. Le salon réunit plus de 200 exposants de matières premières, fragrances, équipements de laboratoire et de solutions d’essai et de réglementation et près de 3 000 fabricants de cosmétiques de toute l’Amérique latine.

Infos+

Business France organise, pour la troisième année consécutive, un pavillon France sur l’évènement.

https://www.cosmetiques.industries/lien/bresil

 

X