- advertising -
Generic selectors
Exact match only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Filter by category
News
Experts' opinions
Sponsored content
Formulation
Ingredients
Media kit
The magazine
Software
Management
Make-up
We tested for you
Packaging
Fragrances
Industrial processes
Regulations
CSR

Kering takes over Creed

Kering Beauté announces that it has signed an agreement to acquire 100 % of Creed (€250 million sales 2023) from funds controlled by BlackRock Long Term Private Capital Europe and Javier Ferrán, the company's current president.

Founded in 1760 by James Henry Creed, the House of Creed is an independent player in the buoyant haute parfumerie market, with distinctive fragrance collections that are both timeless and sophisticated, including the iconic Aventus. Created as a couture house for the royal families of Europe, it later became a house of "haute parfumerie". Creed's rich family heritage is a testament to its unique creativity. Olivier Creed and his son Erwin continue this tradition today.

Through its "Fragrance for the Future" program, the company ensures that all its fragrances, developed using artisanal practices and techniques handed down from generation to generation, are sustainably produced in its laboratory in Fontainebleau, near Paris.

This acquisition represents a major step forward for Kering Beauté. Complementing its portfolio of luxury houses, it immediately gives Kering Beauté substantial scale, an attractive financial profile and a platform to support the future development of other Kering Beauté fragrances, thanks in particular to Creed's worldwide distribution network (36 boutiques and 1,400 points of sale). Creed has achieved double-digit growth in recent years, with remarkable profitability and very high Ebitda margins, while preserving the quality of its products and image.

While preserving the House's heritage and exclusive positioning, Kering Beauté will strive to unleash its full potential, both geographically and in terms of distribution and product categories, in particular by accelerating Creed's development in China and the Middle East. Travel Retailand continuing its expansion into women's fragrances, body care and home care products.  

The Fine Fragrances segment benefits from very solid market dynamics, marked by double-digit growth, high profitability and consistent performance, giving it great resilience over the long term. Beauty is a natural extension of Kering's luxury universe, and the Group is confident in the long-term value-creation potential of this strategic market segment for the Group and its Houses.

The cash transaction is expected to close in the second half of 2023, subject to approval by the relevant competition authorities. 

François-Henri Pinault, Chairman and CEO of Kering, declared: " The acquisition of Creed, which is Kering Beauté's first strategic initiative, demonstrates our ambition to build a solid position for the Group in the most exclusive segment of this category. I am delighted that our assets and values are now united around this entrepreneurial family spirit and shared taste for excellence to accelerate our development in beauty, and I am delighted to see Creed join Kering's Luxury Houses. "

Jean-François Palus, Chief Operating Officer of Kering, commented: " Synonymous with exclusivity and creativity, the House of Creed is recognized as one of the world leaders in haute parfumerie, and this acquisition will support and amplify our development in this segment. It marks a milestone in the development of Kering Beauté, while we are more convinced than ever of the great potential of our brands in this category. "

Raffaella Cornaggia, General Manager of Kering Beauté, added: " Creed's positioning in the fine fragrance market is unique, and this transaction presents clear fundamentals and mutual benefits in terms of expertise, distribution network and geographic presence. We look forward to working with CEO Sarah Rotheram and her passionate team to continue building Creed's success worldwide. "


External resources
Website

Sponsored content

site-industries-cosmetiques A concentrated individual in a lab coat examining a small jar containing a pink substance, a pioneering cosmetic innovation using natural ingredients in Brittany.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline - the longest in the country.

Related articles

Our last issue

Listen to us!

Newsletter

en_USEnglish

site-industries-cosmetiques Une couverture du magazine Industries Cosmétiques
Discover all the innovations in perfumery and cosmetics.
Discover our special report: Save the People. Enjoy your direct access!
If you prefer the paper edition, please subscribe to our magazine
- publicité -

Kering s’empare de Creed

Kering Beauté annonce avoir signé un accord pour l’acquisition de 100 % de Creed (250 M€ de CA 2023) auprès de fonds contrôlés par BlackRock Long Term Private Capital Europe et de Javier Ferrán, actuel président de l’entreprise.

Créée en 1760 par James Henry Creed, la maison Creed est un acteur indépendant sur le marché très porteur de la haute parfumerie, avec ses collections de parfums distinctifs, à la fois intemporels et sophistiqués, dont l’emblématique Aventus. Créée comme maison de couture auprès des familles royales d’Europe, elle est ensuite devenue maison de « haute parfumerie ». Creed est riche de son héritage familial témoignant d’une créativité unique. Olivier Creed et son fils Erwin perpétuent aujourd’hui cette tradition.

La société veille, grâce à son programme “Fragrance for the Future”, à ce que toutes ses fragrances, élaborées selon des pratiques et des techniques artisanales transmises de génération en génération, soient fabriquées de façon durable dans son laboratoire de Fontainebleau, près de Paris.

Cette acquisition constitue une étape majeure pour Kering Beauté. En complémentarité avec son portefeuille de maisons de luxe, elle permet d’emblée à Kering Beauté d’atteindre une taille substantielle, et la dote d’un profil financier attractif ainsi que d’une plateforme permettant de soutenir le développement futur d’autres fragrances de Kering Beauté, grâce notamment au réseau de distribution mondial de Creed (36 boutiques et 1 400 points de vente). Creed a affiché un taux de croissance à deux chiffres au cours des dernières années, avec une rentabilité remarquable et des marges d’Ebitda très élevées, tout en préservant la qualité de ses produits et de son image.

Tout en préservant l’héritage de la Maison et son positionnement exclusif, Kering Beauté s’attachera à en libérer le plein potentiel, tant sur le plan géographique qu’en matière de distribution ou de catégories de produits, notamment en accélérant le développement de Creed en Chine et dans le Travel Retail, et en poursuivant son expansion dans les fragrances féminines et les produits pour le corps et la maison.  

Le segment de la haute parfumerie bénéficie d’une dynamique de marché très solide, marquée par une croissance à deux chiffres, une rentabilité élevée et une constance de ses performances qui lui apporte une grande résilience sur le long terme. La beauté est un prolongement naturel de l’univers de Kering dans le luxe, et le groupe est confiant dans le potentiel de création de valeur sur le long terme, pour le groupe et pour ses Maisons, de ce segment de marché stratégique.

La finalisation de la transaction, réalisée en numéraire, devrait intervenir dans le courant du deuxième semestre 2023, sous réserve de son approbation par les autorités de la concurrence compétentes. 

François-Henri Pinault, président-directeur général de Kering, a déclaré : « L’acquisition de Creed, qui est la première initiative stratégique de Kering Beauté, témoigne de notre ambition de construire pour le Groupe une position solide dans le segment le plus exclusif de cette catégorie. Je suis heureux que nos patrimoines et nos valeurs soient aujourd’hui réunis autour de cet esprit de famille entrepreneurial et de ce goût partagé pour l’excellence afin d’accélérer notre développement dans la beauté, et je me réjouis de voir Creed rejoindre les Maisons de Luxe de Kering. »

Jean-François Palus, directeur général délégué de Kering, a commenté : « Synonyme d’exclusivité et de créativité, la Maison Creed est reconnue comme l’un des leaders mondiaux de la haute parfumerie, et cette acquisition va soutenir et amplifier notre développement dans ce segment. Elle marque une étape fondatrice dans le développement de Kering Beauté, tandis que nous sommes plus que jamais convaincus du grand potentiel de nos marques dans cette catégorie. »

Raffaella Cornaggia, directrice générale de Kering Beauté, a ajouté : « Le positionnement de Creed sur le marché de la haute parfumerie est unique et cette opération présente des fondamentaux et des bénéfices mutuels évidents en termes d’expertise, de réseau de distribution et de présence géographique. Nous sommes impatients de travailler avec la directrice générale Sarah Rotheram et avec son équipe passionnée afin de continuer à construire le succès de Creed dans le monde entier. »


Ressources externes
Site internet

Contenu sponsorisé

site-industries-cosmetiques Une publicité vibrante pour Croda Beauty avec un gros plan de fleurs orange avec un effet de flou en arrière-plan et le texte « Croda Beauty, une science intelligente pour améliorer la vie » inclut désormais Phytess

Phytessence™ Osmanthus, the first geo-skincare botanical extract by Croda Beauty

Discover how this innovative natural ingredient helps the skin to better face climate change, particularly the harmful effects of sun rays and heat.
site-industries-cosmetiques Un individu concentré en blouse de laboratoire examinant un petit pot contenant une substance rose, innovation cosmétique pionnière avec des ingrédients naturels en Bretagne.

Cosmetics innovation comes naturally in Bretagne

In north-west France, Bretagne has always been a seawardlooking region with its 2,730km coastline – the longest in the country.

Articles liés

Notre dernier numéro

Écoutez-nous !

Newsletter

fr_FRFrançais